Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 113, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2



    Overclocking Details

    Hi,

    It looks like some people have overclocked this device, but I wanted to gather the details.

    Up to what speed did people overclock without breaking the Score and how much of impact does it make? I hate to overclock too much and burn it down.

    Also, is there preference in overclocking app? (Is there a clear favorite that outperforms others?)

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 166, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    22



    How do you overclock? I have scored flashed and setcpu still shows Max 600 MHz...

    Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 271, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    5



    No doubt. I'm in the same boat with DOGSofDOOM. I only found a max of 600MHz when I used autodetect on setcpu

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 166, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    22



    I think ops sources are off...

    Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    there are ways to increase the max clock values through custom roms (don't ask me how, i do not know). setcpu has been my favorite.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 166, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    22



    Quote Originally Posted by indica View Post
    there are ways to increase the max clock values through custom roms (don't ask me how, i do not know). setcpu has been my favorite.
    Ya on most roms with a custom kernal. The one and only rom for this phone doesn't support it so i don't see how the guy read people overclock the score unless someone is holding out on a custom kernal...

    Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    +1 Yeah I was going to say you'll probably need a custom kernel.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 271, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    5



    Okay, but wouldn't the base kernel allow the speed to be set to 800? That's one of the reasons I got this phone. When I hit autodetect in setcpu it set the max to 600. Not the end of the world but not what I paid for either.

    Sent from my YP-G1 using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 166, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    22



    What are you talking about dude. No a stock "base " kernal never supports overclock. Only exception I've seen is the transformer prime which was overclocked by default just not enabled and they were able to enable it some how...

    What did you expect from this phone? Its clocked at 600 MHz why would you expect the ability to set Max of 800 ...

    Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Is he joking? He paid for a Score that is 600mhz from the factory and overclockable to 800mhz with Setcpu? I didn't read this in the literature...
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 166, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    22



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    Is he joking? He paid for a Score that is 600mhz from the factory and overclockable to 800mhz with Setcpu? I didn't read this in the literature...
    Either he's joking or an idiot?

    Sent from my Iconia A500 using Tapatalk

  13. #12
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Well I'm going to let that one slide. Not technically name calling cause he could come back here and say he was joking :-).

    No name calling though for reals. There are other approaches. Plus they are right.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	296 
Size:	58.1 KB 
ID:	1988
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 166, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    minneapolis, mn
    Posts
    22



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    Well I'm going to let that one slide. Not technically name calling cause he could come back here and say he was joking :-).

    No name calling though for reals. There are other approaches. Plus they are right.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	296 
Size:	58.1 KB 
ID:	1988
    Your right I'm sorry your not an idiot. Just less than intelligent if serious

    Nice pic gave me a good laugh. That's the website where i found specs before i bought as well. Hahahahaha

    Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 271, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Don't know where I got the idea that the phone was supposed to be 800 mhz as the BASE (not overclocked). I guess I got the last three when they were on sale at $25 from Best Buy thinking they'd make a upgrade to the Optimus V as far as performance. But even at 600 mhz they still make decent media players for my kid and using as a nav system.

    So, yeah, this idiot came here looking for help and saw a thread that might fit. I would've expected name calling had I made outrageous claims like the phone splitting the atom or some such nonsense. But whatever floats your boat. At least I have three cheap spares for testing and development.

  16. #15
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    no harm was meant!
    it's an understandable mistake. glad your still here and posted a response

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner