Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 118
  1. #16
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    poot, superuser, it did ask for permession. yea tried that harway too with the vol down+cam buttom+ power. still locks at that one screen.
    and yes i only clicked on boot to recovery then it rebooted. o well ill swap out cards tommorrow and let it run for an hour if i have to. Would let it tonight but its my alarm for work. Thanks ill post back if anything new.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #17
    Member
    Points: 3,755, Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    OvrDriVE's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    june 2010
    Location
    fresno, ca
    Posts
    236
    Phone
    zte score x500



    sd card shouldn't matter. maybe stedman will have an answer for you. i'm stumped.

  4. #18
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,239, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    stedman420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 71
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mt. Angel, Oregon
    Posts
    331
    Phone
    ZTE Engage V8000



    If that's not workin try usin this
    Recovery Flasher Utility




    Just rename the recovery image on your sdcard to recovery.img and follow the instructions in the app. This is definitely easier than the manual way and flash_image is not required it will install it for ya

    Sent from my Silky X500 runnin
    Stripped Mod







  5. #19
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    flash_image binary was not detected. Would you like to install it? If No you might be able to flash the recovery

  6. #20
    Member
    Points: 3,755, Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    OvrDriVE's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    june 2010
    Location
    fresno, ca
    Posts
    236
    Phone
    zte score x500



    do you have the flash_image file?

  7. #21
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,239, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    stedman420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 71
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mt. Angel, Oregon
    Posts
    331
    Phone
    ZTE Engage V8000



    Yes install it then follow the directions to flash your recovery

    Sent from my Silky X500 runnin
    Stripped Mod





  8. #22
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    So i installed w/e that was from that app and splash notification came up and same it was flashed.. gonna reboot into recovery now

    ---------- Post added at 10:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 PM ----------

    10mins in and its still on the ZTE splash screen

  9. #23
    Member
    Points: 3,755, Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    OvrDriVE's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    june 2010
    Location
    fresno, ca
    Posts
    236
    Phone
    zte score x500



    strange. your recovery should be flashed and you should have access to it so no clue why you don't but it shouldn't take 10 minutes to boot into recovery.

  10. #24
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    dunno. is there an app just to verify that it is 100% flashed. and im to the point where im like screw this step and move on. lol

  11. #25
    Member
    Points: 3,755, Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    OvrDriVE's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    june 2010
    Location
    fresno, ca
    Posts
    236
    Phone
    zte score x500



    not that i know of, but you can't do a custom rom without recovery so. your kind of stuck at this point.

  12. #26
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,239, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    stedman420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 71
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mt. Angel, Oregon
    Posts
    331
    Phone
    ZTE Engage V8000



    Now that you did that use a root file browser to look in your /system/bin folder for flash_image. Is it there? Are the perms for it set to rwxr-xr-x?

    If yes to both of those open terminal emulator on your phone and type this (type only what is in the quotes and not the quotes themselves)

    1.) Type "su" Then hit enter

    2.) Type "flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img" Then hit enter

    If it says anything after entering that last command then repeat step 2 again.

    If it successfully flashes it should just return you to the command prompt. Wich if it does Type "reboot recovery" then hit enter.

    If it still gives an error on step 2 let me know what it says and we'll go from there

    Oh and if flash_image is missing or doesn't have the right perms let me know and I can help ya with that too

    No worries and no hurries we'll get ya there eventually Lol

    EDIT: if none of the methods I've mentioned work you might try re-downloading the recovery.img from the Clockworkmod website then try again. There's always the possibility the recovery.img you have was corrupted during download or became corrupted since.

    Hope this helps


    Sent from my Silky X500 runnin
    Stripped Mod




    Last edited by stedman420; 03-17-2013 at 02:37 AM.

  13. #27
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    there is a flash_image in that folder with the size of 25.56kb
    permissions at the bottom middle read rwxr-xr-x with 0755 underneath that

    Said executing then flash_image:not found *with Android Terminal

    ---------- Post added at 05:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:48 PM ----------

    ok downloaded a fresh image from Clockworkmod website. Now it gives me mtd: not writing bad block at 0x00280000
    error closing recovery: Mo space left on device


    This phone has such a small frikken int space its sad and until i can get a new stripped mod on here to deleted the bloatware its hindering me lol

  14. #28
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,239, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    stedman420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 71
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mt. Angel, Oregon
    Posts
    331
    Phone
    ZTE Engage V8000



    Are you sure the recovery.img is on your sdcard not in any other folder and named recovery.img cause it sounds like what it wasn't finding is the recovery.img

    Sent from my Silky X500 runnin
    Stripped Mod





  15. #29
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    well when i do this
    2.) Type "flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img" Then hit enter

    It's only gonna read from that dir anyway. But yea its the only recovery.img on the card


  16. #30
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,239, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    stedman420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 71
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mt. Angel, Oregon
    Posts
    331
    Phone
    ZTE Engage V8000



    Yes /sdcard/recovery.img is the file path so it nots really about being the only recovery image on your sdcard it has to be on the root of your sd(so on sd not in any folder)

    And it must be named recovery.img or you will need to adjust your filepath. Like if the image is named X500_recovery.img and is in your download folder then the command would be

    flash_image recovery /sdcard/download/X500_recovery.img

    You need to make sure though your typin it like above including spaces(with your own file path and name of course) and remember this is case sensitive

    If flash image is installed like I'm sure it is the only reason this wouldn't work is if the command was put in wrong so make sure to go slow and watch what you're typin

    And if you still have a hard time with that let me know and I got another command we can try

    Sent from my Silky X500 runnin
    Stripped Mod





 

 
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner