Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 794, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%
    sjca408's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Customer Since
    Sept 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus



    "Excess SPC Failure" when calling *228

    Hi. I am trying to activate my Sprint Samsung Galaxy Nexus but I am getting "excess SPC failure". My text and calling works but when i call *228 I only get "excesss SPC failure". Does someone know how I can fix this? Thank you for listening

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    It's life, live it!
    Points: 4,388, Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    short6in's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 66
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    1995
    Location
    Out there!
    Posts
    451
    Phone
    Galaxy S4


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Quote Originally Posted by sjca408 View Post
    Hi. I am trying to activate my Sprint Samsung Galaxy Nexus but I am getting "excess SPC failure". My text and calling works but when i call *228 I only get "excesss SPC failure". Does someone know how I can fix this? Thank you for listening
    Change the SPC to all zeros. 000000

    This error means the OTA system is trying to use 000000 and the phone has a different SPC.
    *Only PM me when asked. Please post to the forum first as you and the many members here will benefit from the conversation!"

    Been fixing, flashing, and activating Cricket phones since 2004.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 962, Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    ztahoez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Fairborn, Ohio
    Posts
    29



    or change it to 333333 that works also some of the sprint samsung feature phones wont ota withouth it being set to that

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    333333 is the SPC used by cricket.

  6. #5
    It's life, live it!
    Points: 4,388, Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    short6in's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 66
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    1995
    Location
    Out there!
    Posts
    451
    Phone
    Galaxy S4



    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.E View Post
    333333 is the SPC used by cricket.
    There are 3 SPCs for each device,

    OTKSL (One Time Keyboard Subsidy Lock) this is for manual NAM programming only. This is the 333333.

    SPC or MSL (Service Programming Code or Master Subsidy Lock) Both serve the same purpose. This allows you to change more service settings, like EVDO settings and such. Verizon post-paid and Cricket smartphones all use 000000. While Sprint and most pre-paid phones use a unique 6 digit number derived from their proprietary algorithm.

    SPC3 (Service Programming Code Level 3) For those familiar with JTag and such, this code gives you direct access to the MSM for flashing. Some companies still use a 6 digit version, like Kyocera, and others may use a 16 digit like Samsung and Motorola. This is assigned by the manufacturer and overrides all other SPC in the phone.

    Unless the MEID is in Cricket's database of Cricket phones, the OTA system will always default to 000000. I have never been able to OTA a flashed phone with the SPC anything other than 000000.

    The OTKSL is for the general public to be able to program their phone when the OTA system is down.

    ---------- Post added at 01:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:04 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by ztahoez View Post
    or change it to 333333 that works also some of the sprint samsung feature phones wont ota withouth it being set to that
    If it is a Sprint phone, you could also try to use *2 instead of *228. Sprint phones are finniky like that.
    Last edited by short6in; 10-09-2012 at 12:12 PM.
    *Only PM me when asked. Please post to the forum first as you and the many members here will benefit from the conversation!"

    Been fixing, flashing, and activating Cricket phones since 2004.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 962, Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    ztahoez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Fairborn, Ohio
    Posts
    29



    and you will have to use ets channel to connect the phone since it is a sprint galaxy nexus there is a thread over at xda developers just for that device.


    here is the link:


    [HOW-TO][CDMA] Gnex Flashing: 威盛VIA Chipset Repair and Reprogramming - xda-developers





    and for the record try doing an over the air programming on a sprint samsung instinct with the spc other than 333333 and let me know how that works for ya

    Last edited by ztahoez; 10-09-2012 at 12:21 PM.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    And I don't think you will be able to OTASP that phone in all honesty.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 794, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%
    sjca408's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Customer Since
    Sept 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus



    Thanks! I changed the SPC to 000000 and the OTA system now works.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 962, Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    ztahoez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Fairborn, Ohio
    Posts
    29


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Your welcome

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.E View Post
    And I don't think you will be able to OTASP that phone in all honesty.
    I think Me E is right most sprint phones have OTA turn off.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner