Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 420, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Englewood, CO USA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Samsung Vitality



    LOCATION NON-SPECIFIC - Audio Quality Drop Off

    Took my phone outside with a fully charged battery for the first today. While out, I figured I would listen to one of my favorite radio stations online but I noticed one WEIRD quirk.....

    The audio quality went from crystal clear to AM STEREO quality

    When I arrived at my destination, I then tried connecting to their open WiFi network. Needless to say, due to unrelated issues, that failed so I switched back to 3G & tried some other online streams. Same result

    Tried to run a speed test using the SpeedTest.net app but couldn't get it to work

    Is this abnormal or simply part of the difference between 3G & 4G ?? (I don't wanna specify the location if this is normal but would be happy to if it's not normal)

    Cheers

    Pat

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by PC Bigboy View Post
    Took my phone outside with a fully charged battery for the first today. While out, I figured I would listen to one of my favorite radio stations online but I noticed one WEIRD quirk.....

    The audio quality went from crystal clear to AM STEREO quality

    When I arrived at my destination, I then tried connecting to their open WiFi network. Needless to say, due to unrelated issues, that failed so I switched back to 3G & tried some other online streams. Same result

    Tried to run a speed test using the SpeedTest.net app but couldn't get it to work

    Is this abnormal or simply part of the difference between 3G & 4G ?? (I don't wanna specify the location if this is normal but would be happy to if it's not normal)

    Cheers

    Pat
    I was going to say to try another Android application but since you said you can't even run a speed test I'm not sure. Cricket always recommends people to do *228, so you can try that. What application are you using to test your speed? You do have 3G, not 1x, correct?

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 420, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Englewood, CO USA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Samsung Vitality



    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    I was going to say to try another Android application but since you said you can't even run a speed test I'm not sure. Cricket always recommends people to do *228, so you can try that.
    You mean dial *228 like you would a phone call?
    What application are you using to test your speed?
    SpeedTest.net app
    You do have 3G, not 1x, correct?
    I get a 3G display when I'm not home on my WiFi or at an open hotspot like a Starbucks

    Cheers

    Pat

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by PC Bigboy View Post
    You mean dial *228 like you would a phone call?SpeedTest.net appI get a 3G display when I'm not home on my WiFi or at an open hotspot like a Starbucks

    Cheers

    Pat
    Yeah, try calling *228. After that, try to do the speed test again and see if it works.

    I'm guessing you've already turned the phone off and taken out the battery for a minute and then put it back in?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 420, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Englewood, CO USA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Samsung Vitality



    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    Yeah, try calling *228. After that, try to do the speed test again and see if it works.
    Okay, will try that
    I'm guessing you've already turned the phone off and taken out the battery for a minute and then put it back in?
    Umm.....No I haven't (But I almost wound up doing this after an app I was trying froze my phone up but luckily draining the battery unfroze the phone )

    Cheers

    Pat

  7. #6
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Are you over 1GB of usage for the month?
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    Are you over 1GB of usage for the month?
    That might be it. If the application is smart enough, it will play a lower quality stream for less buffering.

    PC Bigboy, you can check usage online. You can also try over WiFi again, and if it works fine, it's probably that you're throttled from going over 1 GB like Chrisngrod mentioned.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 12:10 PM
  2. Verizon: No specific date for ThunderBolt update
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-15-2011, 02:40 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 11:11 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 09:14 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 01:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner