Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member XCALIBIR's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    HTC Desire



    Exclamation HTC Desire Cdma to cricket (Help)

    Ok, so I recent bought an HTC desire from ebay for like $80 and i wanted to flash it over to cricket. The carrier that was on the phone was Alltel wireless.

    I've had followed this tutorial since HTC evo is similar to my phone:

    http://www.cricketusers.com/sprint-h...-internet.html

    I had no success. I tried using cyangenmod 7 and 6, and 2.2 froyo sense stock rom(for the programming part).

    What I basicaly did was change the number on the phone and the carrier appears unknown in the stock rom but US Cellular in the cmd 7 or 6 rom.

    Ive also use this to enable web and the cricket carrier:


    Cricket / MetroPCS Web/MMS Flash 8/9 - xda-developers




    When i used it it gave me the cricket banner but no service on the cmd 7 and 6. No effect on the 2.2 froyo sense stock rom though.

    For the qpst programing ive used this tut:

    http://www.cricketusers.com/flashing...s-cricket.html

    I did everything it said and it still doesn't work with my phone. Is this the only tutorial in this forum?



    Well the main point I'm trying to get here is help on the flash my HTC desire over to cricket. Anyone is welcome to guide me into the right direction.


  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Have you actually tried putting this ESN on your account yet? Where are you located and what PRL are you using?
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #3
    Member XCALIBIR's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    HTC Desire



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    Have you actually tried putting this ESN on your account yet? Where are you located and what PRL are you using?
    Do you mean on my cricket account? If you mean puttting the ESN info to the HTC desire from the tutorial then yes. I'm from Chicago and im using 01039.prl(i forgot where i downloaded it from).

    Any to be clear now, I'm a total noob when it comes to flashing and program carriers.
    ive also use this prl. :
    http://www.cricketusers.com/flashing...rl-thread.html
    (the very first download)

  5. #4
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Since you're in a tri band area, I'd use 45513 hybrid or the newer hybrid.

    Before you can get talk or text, you're going to have to have the phone put on your account. I really don't know where you are in the whole flashing process. I wish I had a Desire to make a tutorial with.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #5
    Member XCALIBIR's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    HTC Desire



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    Since you're in a tri band area, I'd use 45513 hybrid or the newer hybrid.

    Before you can get talk or text, you're going to have to have the phone put on your account. I really don't know where you are in the whole flashing process. I wish I had a Desire to make a tutorial with.
    I check the PRL thread for it. What do you mean exactly when i have to put the phone in my account? Do you mean activate under the *228 thingy? Would it help for me to upload a video of my progress?

  7. #6
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    I never use *228. That is to program your phone, but it primarily is used for actual Cricket phones that can be programmed over the air. You have to have your ESN on an account in good standing for that to work also.

    You know when you change your phone with a provider how they identify your phone from another? They use the ESN/MEID or whatever you want to call it to authenticate your device in the system. It's not an open system where you just put your phone number in the device and it magically works.

    Do you have a Cricket account already?
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  8. #7
    Member XCALIBIR's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    HTC Desire



    Yes i have the $55 android plan with my huawei ascend. So what your saying is that I'm accessing crickets servers and rerouting it to my phone?

    To add, is a good ESN like paying the bills on time or just having an active line?
    Last edited by XCALIBIR; 07-17-2011 at 03:15 PM.

  9. #8
    Member XCALIBIR's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    HTC Desire



    Well can anyone tell me how exactly to transfer all my ESN data to my HTC? I think its coming down to the point where if I do something wrong it screws up the process and makes me go a few steps back.

  10. #9
    Member XCALIBIR's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    HTC Desire



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    I never use *228. That is to program your phone, but it primarily is used for actual Cricket phones that can be programmed over the air. You have to have your ESN on an account in good standing for that to work also.

    You know when you change your phone with a provider how they identify your phone from another? They use the ESN/MEID or whatever you want to call it to authenticate your device in the system. It's not an open system where you just put your phone number in the device and it magically works.

    Do you have a Cricket account already?
    Well I did what you said with the ESN/MEID. It worked .

    It was a tough process. When I went to my local cricket store they denied my request and looked at me as if im crazy! all i wanted to do is for them to register it under my cricket account and their like "Sorry, it wont work. Trust me". So then I went to best buy and they help convinced the lady on the phone to register it under my cricket account(ugh... I'm starting to hate cricket customer service is they are going to make my life hard).

    Well everything seems functional except mms -_-. I'm looking into getting that fixed soon. Another problem I have is my 3G speed. My Huawei ascend's 3G was pretty fast and reliable when I had it. Now the 3G on my HTC Desire is a bit slower than usual. Does this have to do with my selected prl? Can I make it faster when I adjust the settings?

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,646, Level: 23
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Kkfelix's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, United States
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Sanyo Zio



    Is the G2 the same thing as the desire?

    Was it on T-mobile? Can it get cdma?
    I just picked one up from a friend & I have cricket. I just want to know so I didn't waste my money. Lol

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 548, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Uniontown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2



    This is the notes from the one I did. Hopefully it makes sense. I had talk, text, web, and pix on the 55plan. It was from Alltel:

    Connection mode ##3424#
    Phone # Programming ##SPC#
    ##778# NAM Settings
    Get Root to unlock SPC
    Enable USB debugging and get into Diagnostic Mode
    Run Unrevoked program to get root. It will restart like 3 times. (Make sure additional USB drivers are installed)
    Do not close or disconnect until the program is finished.
    Download MSL Reader from Marketplace
    Run MSL Reader to get SPC
    Edit APN:
    <?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8' standalone='yes' ?>
    <apns count="1">
    <apn name="USC" numeric="00000" mcc="000" mnc="00" apn="1" user="1234567890@mycricket.com" server="null" password="cricket" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="wap.mycricket.com" mmsport="8080" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mms.mycricket.com/servlets/mms" type="mms" />
    </apns>
    Edit MDN, MIN, SID and MIP and other settings with QPST
    Check settings with ##778# including Security

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CDMA Desire Fully Flashed.
    By darkmage1991 in forum Flashed Android (Google) OS Devices
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-29-2013, 09:40 PM
  2. Cricket to get CDMA Samsung Indulge
    By CU-News in forum Cricket Samsung Indulge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 01:56 PM
  3. HTC Desire CDMA is now available with Alltel
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 08:28 AM
  4. Cricket Wants CDMA iPhone, Windows Phone 7
    By CU-News in forum Cricket News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-31-2010, 01:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner