Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    Tethering Warning!

    Hey, guys. So, I paid to have a 'full flash' done at my local cricket dealer just recently. I'm happy with the phone, but would be elated if I could iron out this issue. It's worth mentioning, before I get into it, that even after the flash, I had to follow some of the steps in this forum to get my Evo LTE working with 3g streaming and mms. So, the issue is that when browsing on the net over 3g, I frequently get redirected to the tether warning page of cricket, telling me that it looks like I'm trying to share my net connection with another device. I can't seem to find a pattern to when this happens...it ranges from infrequent to absolutely all the time, even after rebooting the phone. When this happens, I can't even use the apps on the phone that access the net. I can't be the only one to encounter this issue...does anyone know how to fix it?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 800, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 79.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Samsung note 2



    That happened to me when I was using a browser in Desktop mode. Basically they think you are tethering if your browser is looking at the non-mobile web. Perhaps there is a setting in your browser for browsing mobile web. I hope that helps!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    Thanks for your quick response...and I gotta tell you, I had high hopes for that suggestion. I do set my browsers to show me the desktop version websites. I set them for android, rebooted the phone, but it's still happening unfortunately. Anyone have any other suggestions?

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 800, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 79.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Samsung note 2



    What ROM, if not stock, and browser are you using?

    ---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:30 PM ----------

    Have you tried a different browser?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    I'm actually very new to this phone (upgraded from original Evo, flashed w/custom rom & kernel) and am still working on stock. I haven't yet had the time to do the research on rooting, turning S-off and browsing for custom ROMs.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 800, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 79.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Samsung note 2



    maybe just try a different browser and see what happens? Let us know

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    I've tried the stock browser, skyfire, firefox, and dolphin. Then i uninstalled them all and tried only the stock...same result.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,039, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 58.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10



    This also happened to me i had to switch to the 2.5g or 5g plan because tethering is allowed on those 2 plans but not the cheapest (1g) plan.

    Sent from my EVO 4G LTE using Tapatalk 2

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    That's an unacceptable solution for me. The people who I pay money to shouldn't be limiting my access because they can't determine if I'm tethering their service or not. Like everyone else here, I chose them as my service provider because of the cost-effectiveness of the service, and I shouldn't have to pay more for their shortcoming. It's worth noting that my old evo didn't have this problem ever, and it was flashed by the same people. I don't know whetehr the problem lies on Cricket's end or on the end of my phone or it's method of being flashed.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,039, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 58.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10



    I don't think it has any thing to do with doing something wrong. I believe since it it is a off network device it hasn't been setup to differentiate between data coming from your device or not. So it reads all data as being from a foreign source so all data is considered tethered data

    And your argument is a little flawed they can only ensure devices that they sell/support work correctly. Not every android phone ever made let alone devices that were never intended to operate on their network, this is why if you call them they will tell you plainly they DO NOT support flashed phones.

    Sent from my EVO 4G LTE using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by Demetrius Beasley; 02-11-2013 at 01:53 PM.

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 800, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 79.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Samsung note 2



    I have had nothing but flashed phones since 2010 and it was only an issue once for me. Something is going on with the way your browsing is set up. Did you flash the phone to cricket yourself?

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    I understand the unsupported device argument, but since not everyone on this site has that problem with this device, it leads me to believe that there's some way around it besides upgrading my plan. On my first evo, I actually would tether other phones without the warning. And now I'm just trying to use it regularly and here we are. Lol...karma, perhaps?

    ---------- Post added at 03:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:33 PM ----------

    No, I had whatever company my local cricket store hires do it.

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    Nothing else from anyone??

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 800, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 79.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Samsung note 2



    http://www.cricketusers.com/sprint-h...-internet.html

    You may want to check your settings with DFS and see if someone in that forum can send you screenshots of their settings. I have a feel that something there is not set up properly.

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 153, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    sept 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, ny
    Posts
    9



    Yeah, I used that as a guide to get my MMS and 3g streaming media working with complete success. Where exactly should I check for this problem? Also, do you think taking the phone back to the Cricket dealer and explaining the problem would yield a positive result?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner