Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 104, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    stk
    Posts
    1



    Question Accidentally flashed the wrong ROM, need help.

    Hello, I recently flashed a non-cricket rom to a cricket s3, and needless to say, it is now hardbricked. After doing some digging around on the internet, it appears that it is possible to write an image to an sd card, and the phone will try to boot from that, and the phone is able to go in to download mode. The problem is, I can't find the image for a cricket s3. My question is, can someone who has a rooted cricket s3 please run this command in a terminal and upload the backup.bin file?


    busybox dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 of=/sdcard/backup.bin bs=1M count=70

    Thanks in advance.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Can you boot into download mode by pressing volume down + power?

    Also the command you posted would basically only print the partition info only not the actual files in the partitions

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 03-08-2014 at 01:06 AM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #3
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by mysamdog View Post
    Hello, I recently flashed a non-cricket rom to a cricket s3, and needless to say, it is now hardbricked. After doing some digging around on the internet, it appears that it is possible to write an image to an sd card, and the phone will try to boot from that, and the phone is able to go in to download mode. The problem is, I can't find the image for a cricket s3. My question is, can someone who has a rooted cricket s3 please run this command in a terminal and upload the backup.bin file?


    busybox dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 of=/sdcard/backup.bin bs=1M count=70

    Thanks in advance.
    This should give you the odin (since you can technically boot into download mode and make sure to use odin 3.07 not 3.04. You will also need to clear cache and factory reset when it boots and gets stuck on the samsung logo):
    Firmware archive | Samsung Updates




    If all else fails, claim your free warranty through samsung.
    Had a similar situation with a stupid NTELOS s3...Samsung took care of it all! I just had to talk to their customer support.

    Last edited by Dina; 03-08-2014 at 08:42 AM.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    Quote Originally Posted by Dina View Post
    This should give you the odin (since you can technically boot into download mode and make sure to use odin 3.07 not 3.04. You will also need to clear cache and factory reset when it boots and gets stuck on the samsung logo):
    Firmware archive | Samsung Updates



    +1^^^
    If all else fails, claim your free warranty through samsung.
    Had a similar situation with a stupid NTELOS s3...Samsung took care of it all! I just had to talk to their customer support.
    +1^^^

    Sent from my d2lte using Tapatalk


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 102, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Customer Since
    July 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1



    Thanks! You're a life saver!

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner