Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    flashable radio?

    I have a s3 I bought off ebay. the esn is clean, but the radio is somehow turned off. Every spot on the status screen is either blank or "unknown". imei, min, phone number.... If you try to *228, it tells you to take it off airplane mode. airplane mode IS off. from what I can see, it's a radio issue. I have tried to flash stock 4.3 package with odin, no dice. tried to factory reset. nope. even tried to root, enable hidden menu and ##786#. nope. any help?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    That could also be NV items loaded from a wrong device.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    It is a real cricket phone. I hope there are no nv items writen. But I can try to look

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by jaredl45600 View Post
    It is a real cricket phone. I hope there are no nv items writen. But I can try to look

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
    Are you able to put it in Diag with ##DMMODE# and then see if it creates an LPT port. If that works, ask somebody with an s4 to get you a copy of the original NV items. Then load. If NVs are bad, when you read info in cdma workshop it shows errors everywhere.

    ---------- Post added at 11:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:39 AM ----------

    Also, ODIN contains the radio----so if that did not help, then it is for sure NVs since odin does not remove nvs on those samsung phones.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    Not able to get into diag. I will have to do some looking to see how to get 4.3 into diag

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by jaredl45600 View Post
    Not able to get into diag. I will have to do some looking to see how to get 4.3 into diag

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
    ##DMMODE# normally works across the board...hmm
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    I had to root it just to unlock the hidden menu. None of the dialer codes worked. But it looks like I just got a bid on it on ebay as is. Oh well. This is the second one I have seen like this. So I almost bet I will see more

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    dina, the ebay buyer did not pay... yes ##dmmode# works. i am reading all the stuff i would normally look at for flashing, but nv items are all greek to me.

  10. #9
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Ask somebody with the same model number to read nv items using memory read command in cdma workshop. Save it for you. Then you connect yours and write that file.

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    read range or rf? or both?

    ---------- Post added at 06:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 PM ----------

    i went ahead and coppied and wrote both. my wife has my old s3. i did encounter 2 write errors.
    set nv_item_0 cps_error bad_security_mode
    amd item 1943

    any ideas?

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    I did copy both and no changes

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner