Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    06/2013
    Location
    Temple hills md
    Posts
    170



    How to root s3 with 4.4.2 now without tripping Knox?

    Is there a file for it in the cf-root sue if this has been ccovered?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    06/2013
    Location
    Temple hills md
    Posts
    170



    Nice but it is only for the s5 and s4 active and nexus 5 but thanks don't want to brick my phone know what I mean.

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 1,063, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Customer Since
    1999
    Location
    Tulare, Ca
    Posts
    63
    Phone
    Droid 4



    nice.....gotta try this.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    Same method as with 4.3. Root using cf- autoroot then the latest version of Phil's recovery.
    The search tool can be your friend, use it wisely.....

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    06/2013
    Location
    Temple hills md
    Posts
    170



    Can you give me a link to the update file for 4.4.2

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,580, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Customer Since
    Jan. 2000
    Location
    with your mom
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    galaxy s3



    I tried using that root method, cf-autoroot and Phil's recovery, it did not work for me. Device status did say custom but no binaries in su, I also downloaded root checker to see if I was rooted and I was not. I even soft bricked my phone by trying that method the second time. thankfully someone uploaded the upgrade as a file so I could reupgrade my phone. I am also getting a force close when using the screensaver or full screen clock. Anyone else having that problem after the upgrade. I have even cleared the cache and data and still getting that problem
    Last edited by y6h66; 06-18-2014 at 03:10 AM.

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    06/2013
    Location
    Temple hills md
    Posts
    170



    Glad you came through and let us know cause that is why I did not do it need a 4.4.2 file for it so that I can have root access need that file any links?

  10. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Quote Originally Posted by y6h66 View Post
    I tried using that root method, cf-autoroot and Phil's recovery, it did not work for me. Device status did say custom but no binaries in su, I also downloaded root checker to see if I was rooted and I was not. I even soft bricked my phone by trying that method the second time. thankfully someone uploaded the upgrade as a file so I could reupgrade my phone. I am also getting a force close when using the screensaver or full screen clock. Anyone else having that problem after the upgrade. I have even cleared the cache and data and still getting that problem
    For my S3 with 4.3 or 4.4.2, cf-autoroot and Philz recovery worked perfectly for me. On 4.4.2, SU did Force Close so all i did was reboot into philz recovery and flash a SU zip file. Worked perfectly. Knox is probably tripped. I didnt check it but i dont care. Reportedly "Kingo" rooting doesnt trip knox on 4.3 but dont know about 4.4.2.

    I'm not getting FC on screen saver or screen lock. Everything works great so far.

    Before i flashed the 4.4.2 file with ODIN, i rebooted into recovery and wiped cache, wiped davlik and factory reset, then pulled battery & reinstalled battery, then rebooted into download mode so ODIN could work. Flashed 4.4.2., let it reboot, then in download mode with ODIN i flashed cf-autoroot, let it reboot, noticed the SU forced closed, then in download mode with ODIN flashed philz, rebooted, then rebooted into philz recovery and flashed the SU zip file. Some of these steps might have been done at the same time with ODIN but i choose not to.

    S3 4.4.2 file:
    http://www.cricketusers.com/cricket-...tml#post251882

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    +1^^^

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    06/2013
    Location
    Temple hills md
    Posts
    170



    Update gehot towel root works and it does not trip Knox I have root access kudos!

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    Quote Originally Posted by dq5050 View Post
    Update gehot towel root works and it does not trip Knox I have root access kudos!
    link please

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    06/2013
    Location
    Temple hills md
    Posts
    170



    Hey just put it in the search engine! As I did and it should come up.

    ---------- Post added at 05:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:42 PM ----------

    Hey question do you know of a good TouchWiz room with s5 features for our phones?

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,065, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    GhostCon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    san antonio,TX
    Posts
    1



    hi.im replying in regards to dq5050 geohot's "towel root" for our S3 SCH-R530C: well,to make a long story short, it bricked my phone lastnite.now my phone won't turn on at all.so from my experience on this "towel root" it will BRICK your phone. i'm not new to the rooting either. i've been rooting my phones for years now and never bricked my phones. but,it's the risk i took and nobody else.just thought i'll let ya'll know.i hope i didn't bust any bubbles here. keep it rootin'.

  16. #15
    Member
    Points: 1,580, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Customer Since
    Jan. 2000
    Location
    with your mom
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    galaxy s3



    Quote Originally Posted by GhostCon View Post
    hi.im replying in regards to dq5050 geohot's "towel root" for our S3 SCH-R530C: well,to make a long story short, it bricked my phone lastnite.now my phone won't turn on at all.so from my experience on this "towel root" it will BRICK your phone. i'm not new to the rooting either. i've been rooting my phones for years now and never bricked my phones. but,it's the risk i took and nobody else.just thought i'll let ya'll know.i hope i didn't bust any bubbles here. keep it rootin'.
    geohots towel root worked for me. I installed the app and ran it and it rebooted with root, very simple. The easiest root I have ever used! Then I installed su and ran it then I installed twrp with odin. I am still having problem with my clock, "unfortunately clock has closed" it only happens when I put the clock into full screen and then the screensaver should comeon in one minute but that is when it closes. I like to know what time it is when I am sleeping at night. I know there are other apps that I can use that do the same but I shouldnt have to. Anyone have the stock clock app?

    ---------- Post added at 01:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:24 PM ----------

    The link is on the second post on this forum. For some reason the link would not pop up on mobile version of this site so I just switch to full site and I was able to click on the link

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner