Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 215, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    4



    Up coming update and a rooted gs3.

    After reading numerous pages scattered throughout the interwebs, i have found out that rooted users without the factory recovery will not be able to receive the ota update on the 7th. That being said, can anyone post a completely stock rom. I read that you can recover using keis on the pc; however, i have yet to try this method. Or will there be a stock rooted update moments after the release.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Stephen Proffitt already posted that he would put 4.1 up when he gets it. He already posted current stock too.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Also if you haven't flashed a kernel or tripped the flash counter you will be able to use voodoo ota rootkeeper to temp unroot take the ota then reroot in the same go

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 215, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    4



    Unfortunately the counter is tripped. I will try and recover using kies.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    If you're on tw just use triangle away to reset the counter. I'll look for a link to the XDA thread.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 215, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    4



    I read about triangle away. Im hesitant to use it. I read that its possible brick your phone to the point of hardware replacement. Have you successfully restored using kies also will it replace cwm with the stock recovery?

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Yes and yes. We're officially supported in triangle away and I've used it personally for testing purposes. I intentionally tripped my flash counter and used it to reset. Once that counter is tripped I believe you can't take the ota. You will need it anyways if I'm not mistaken. It is possible to brick it but highly unlikely

    After doing some research you will in fact need triangle away. Otherwise you'll have to wait for my package

    XDA thread here:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1494114




    Sent from my CM10.1 Cricket S3

    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 04-05-2013 at 11:16 AM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,378, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 4.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Customer Since
    2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    91
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4



    I am rooted, and using CM10.1. My flash counter is 0. Would I be able to get the OTA update if I restore a backup of my ICS that I made? But one thing it looks like i might need to do that I do not know how to do, I have Clockworkmod recovery installed, and to not know how to put the stock recovery back.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    OK guys looks like I'm getting off my butt and finishing what I started. I will work on getting the stock unrooted Odin file done today. I don't have a place to store all of these to be honest and short of setting up a web server on my home network I'm clueless where to get one. I'm in the process of flashing my stock firmware now, but I may have found a way short of using mobile Odin to flash the firmware without tripping the counter. Trying it now and will report back.

    Edit:
    No dice on tripping the flash counter... looks like for now you'll need Triangle Away

    Sent from my CM10.1 Cricket S3
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 04-06-2013 at 05:47 AM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 2,761, Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    gregm412's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Customer Since
    2009
    Location
    New Stanton, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    109
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    What is the flash counter where do I find it? In my settings under device status I have normal. I used triangle away and I plan on using voodoo will I be ok?

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    If you are on CM10.1 or any other custom rom you will need to go back to stock firmware to take this OTA. As far as stock recovery I will create a stock recovery zip that can be flashed in cwm

    If you only rooted stock software, you will not have a flash counter, but since you said you used Triangle Away, you've already reset it anyways.

    Anyone with questions on how to take the OTA after rooting can refer to this guide:

    http://www.cricketusers.com/root-rec...ng-jb-ota.html

    Note:
    This is a preliminary write up based on information I've gathered from other threads on the net about people taking the S3 OTA updates for the other US variants. It may change after I have had a chance to test this tomorrow with the real OTA.
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 04-06-2013 at 12:37 PM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 2,761, Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    gregm412's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Customer Since
    2009
    Location
    New Stanton, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    109
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Thanks for clearing that up.

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 1,378, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 4.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Customer Since
    2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    91
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4



    I restored a backup of my ICS, in preparation for the update. However, when I try to register the software updater, I get 'processing failed'. Possibly related, I am also not able to log on to Samsung apps, I get 'The country information for your Samsung account does not match the country information for the Samsung Apps store. Samsung Apps country : PPC Samsung account country : United States. I tried clearing Samsung Apps data and cache, but now I get 'Your device or country is only available for limited service.' Must be something I did back before I made this backup. Any hints, anyone?

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Try using the factory reset option in settings. Note that it will wipe internal memory so back up everything to your pc

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 548, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    bigdaddyfro1's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    north Carolina
    Posts
    27



    My phone was rooted and I did the update through kies without a hitch no triangle away ot anything

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner