Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Flashing MIUI

  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 1,888, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    kennyfool's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    134
    Phone
    Droid X



    Flashing MIUI

    I have a Droid X Froyo with Liberty 2.0.1 if I want to flash MIUI, can I just flash it on top of Liberty or do I have to sbf?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Hey kenny, I just flashed MIUI to my X yesterday. All I can say is WOW!.

    Is Liberty a froyo based rom? I'm not sure. If it is then no sbf required. Wipe everything tho first. Dalvik cache etc.

    If L2.01 is a GB rom thhen yes you will need to SBF to .340 first.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,888, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    kennyfool's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    134
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Hey kenny, I just flashed MIUI to my X yesterday. All I can say is WOW!.

    Is Liberty a froyo based rom? I'm not sure. If it is then no sbf required. Wipe everything tho first. Dalvik cache etc.

    If L2.01 is a GB rom thhen yes you will need to SBF to .340 first.
    I'm actually not sure... But since I'm flashed to cricket, would wiping everything erase my flash? I REALLY want to try MIUI and if I sbf my flash will be erased too right?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Quote Originally Posted by kennyfool View Post
    I'm actually not sure... But since I'm flashed to cricket, would wiping everything erase my flash? I REALLY want to try MIUI and if I sbf my flash will be erased too right?
    Correct. You will lose your flash if you sbf. Let me see if I can check on Liberty 2.01
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 1,888, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    kennyfool's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    134
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Correct. You will lose your flash if you sbf. Let me see if I can check on Liberty 2.01
    Ok thanks man!

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Asked my buddy Google and he said Liberty is Froyo based so you should not have to SBF to do MIUI. You may want to confirm my findings on your own before you take the plunge though.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,888, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    kennyfool's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    134
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Asked my buddy Google and he said Liberty is Froyo based so you should not have to SBF to do MIUI. You may want to confirm my findings on your own before you take the plunge though.
    Your buddy sounds like a good guy well... I had read it isn't GB based somewhere but I wasn't sure... So if I just flash the miui zip I should be good? Will my flash still work? like make phone calls and data?

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    I was on Liquid (also froyo based). I rebooted into CWM recovery and did a wipe/reset and also wiped the cache. Then did update from SD card and chose the MIUI zip file. Whiz Bang, very little smoke and I got the weirdest looking rom I have seen yet.
    My flash was intact and working fine. Still trying to sort out all this thing will do though.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,888, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    kennyfool's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    134
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    I was on Liquid (also froyo based). I rebooted into CWM recovery and did a wipe/reset and also wiped the cache. Then did update from SD card and chose the MIUI zip file. Whiz Bang, very little smoke and I got the weirdest looking rom I have seen yet.
    My flash was intact and working fine. Still trying to sort out all this thing will do though.
    sweet man! so to get into CWM recovery you used rom manager? i read that using bootstrap can cause problems. Im so nervous to try it lol

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    I used the droid 2 bootstrap with no issues at all. The droid x one doesnt work so well.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Just make sure once you get into CWM that you do a backup before you flash MIUI, so you can easily go back if you dont like it.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 1,888, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    kennyfool's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    134
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Just make sure once you get into CWM that you do a backup before you flash MIUI, so you can easily go back if you dont like it.
    Thanks man I think I'll give it a go right now I'm just trying to verify if liberty 2.0.1 is GB or not, i dont want to flash it and mess up my phone. Where did you see that it wasn't gb based?

    EDIT: nevermind, I found it. You can just go from Liberty to MIUI
    Thanks
    Last edited by kennyfool; 08-10-2011 at 03:10 PM.

  14. #13
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Yea just dont use droid bootstrap once you are flashed to MIUI or any other 2ndinit based ROM (CM7 etc). You should have a reboot to recovery in the power menu once you are flashed if doing it from rom manager doesnt work.

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Quote Originally Posted by playfulGod View Post
    Yea just dont use droid bootstrap once you are flashed to MIUI or any other 2ndinit based ROM (CM7 etc). You should have a reboot to recovery in the power menu once you are flashed if doing it from rom manager doesnt work.
    Second that. I did read that. PG do you know what will happen if one does use the DX Bootstrap? I assume an SBF could be in your immediate future.
    Thanks for your input.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  16. #15
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Second that. I did read that. PG do you know what will happen if one does use the DX Bootstrap? I assume an SBF could be in your immediate future.
    Thanks for your input.
    you guessed it lol or so we all been told on the DX forum on phan, I never tried to see personally lol.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. MIUI Evolution: smaller, faster, more refined
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 09:40 AM
  2. MIUI port now available for the Nook Color
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2011, 03:30 PM
  3. I'm ready to pull my hair out! MIUI, Cricket, and MMS.
    By VigVoodoo in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2011, 02:24 PM
  4. MIUI, HTC take Android lock screen to next level
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 09:20 AM
  5. MIUI Weather Beta now available for download
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 03:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner