Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 512, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7



    How Can You Test If Flash was a Success Before Switching ESN?

    Hi All,

    I will be flashing Verizon's Droid X to cricket pretty soon to run on the $45 plan.

    What are some indicators or ways to check that the flash was more or less a success before actually requesting the ESN change?

    Like will cricket as the carrier name show up on the screen, also is there a three or for digit number you can dial that will connect to cricket but otherwise wouldn't...etc etc. Any other ways?

    Basically I want to know how "I" would know after following all the steps that it was a success before requesting the ESN change and find out it wasn't and be in a period with no phone service and have to send a another request to switch the ESN back to my current phone...trying to avoid any down time...if that makes any sense.

    Best!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    Dial 611 and see if Cricket answers. If so, your PRL is correct and the only thing you have to worry about would be typos in QPST. If the PRL is set and you have MDN, MIN, & SID programmed, talk/text SHOULD work after the ESN change. Data may work as well, depending on which plan you're using.

  4. #3
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    mraabhimself nailed it. It will not change the carrier name (banner). It could still say Sprint, Verizon, or whatever. Some phones you can change the banner in QPST to whatever you want. I think other phones store it somewhere else.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 512, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7



    Great Thanks for the quick responses...exactly the answers I was looking for.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 512, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7



    Hi So I requested the ESN (from here) change, and got confirmation it has been done. Is there anything I need to do on my new phone, a reboot or any number to dial to get it to start functioning?

    When I dial 611, it does connect me to cricket, so I am assuming the flash went correctly...

    Thanks

  7. #6
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    You can reboot it, but it should really just start to function if everything is working correctly. Let us know.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 512, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7



    Thanks Chris, I am actually at work and I dont have that phone with me to test. Ill find out when I get home.

    For the most part the flashing went pretty normal...no hiccups. I do have a suspicion about the MDN and MIN numbers I put in using QSPT were incorrect. For cricket isnt your MDN number just your phone number?

    Also your MIN there was already one that I got from my phone (droid x settings on verizon), does your MIN number change..meaning should I have a separate one for my cricket account that I need to acquire and write to the phone? If so whats the best way to acquire it, just call customer service?

    Any clarification would be appreciated...

    Best!

  9. #8
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    Obtaining the MIN # can be quite a hassle at times. I have the best luck calling them and telling them my phone is stuck at a screen asking for some "MIN #" and they usually comply. The MIN is Cricket specific as well as account specific. For instance, I have 2 lines on my Cricket account, and they both use seperate MIN #'s.

  10. #9
    lyrical1278
    Guest



    I caught a blessing and the first rep I called for my MIN, I just said I would like to know my MIN and she just gave it to me. No questions asked

  11. #10
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Best way to obtain it is to ask us usually.

    ----- Sent on my Cricket Gingerbread Droid 2 on Cricket (tapatalk)
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FAQ: If I'm switching from another carrier, can I keep my number?
    By avenue in forum General Discussion / FAQ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 01:46 AM
  2. Have You Thought About Switching From Cricket?
    By avenue in forum General Discussion / FAQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2011, 06:48 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 11:23 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 10:42 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 01:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner