Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

Welcome to Cricket Users!

Overall activity: 6.0%

How to tell Cricket Galaxy S4 CDMA from GSM

Hello everyone, I am new to Cricket and this forum so please forgive me if I asked a dumb question. I've been using Boost Mobile all my life and only recently had I decided to switch to Cricket. I won an auction on eBay for a "Samsung Galaxy S4 - 16GB - White Frost (Cricket)". The seller said it comes with a SIM card but because I knew Cricket had recently switched their network from CDMA to GSM and is currently not accepting any new CDMA customers, so I asked the seller to provide me with pictures of the phone. (see attached) Seller couldn't provide IMEI since he doesn't want to turn on the phone (condition as 'new'), and the IMEI isn't on the label at the back, so I can't tell whether he's selling me an obsolete CDMA S4 or a new GSM S4.

If you happened to have seen both versions (CDMA & GSM), please help me out. I have yet to pay him. Thanks a bunch!

capture1.pngcapture2.png

2. Remove this advertisement.
    Overall activity: 52.0%
    Customer Since
    June 2014
    Phone
    HTC Sensation/

SIM cards came with the obsolete ones. They were for access to the network-- they're actually called UICC cards in this case. Basically a SIM for CDMA. If you have another GSM phone laying around you'll probably see that the UICC card doesn't work with it. If it does, then it maybe the GSM version.

Overall activity: 6.0%

Quote Originally Posted by eduardog131 View Post