Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 174, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Customer Since
    2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7



    Nexus 5 (unlocked version) - will it work on Cricket out of the box?

    will the unlocked version of the new Nexus 5 work on Cricket out of the box? any special mods needed? does it need to be flashed? I know that Google says it is unlocked for all CDMA bands.... shouldn't that mean it will work? My brother just got one and wants to place on Cricket and I am now intrigued as well.

    My bro

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Member
    Points: 1,214, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 74.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    120



    Yes it will work with cricket , but you need to flash it with cricket settings. Like prl and other stuff

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 174, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Customer Since
    2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7



    Quote Originally Posted by Hitesh View Post
    Yes it will work with cricket , but you need to flash it with cricket settings. Like prl and other stuff
    so by flash do you mean a ROM or simply inputting PRL settings? will this be simple or difficult to do?

    what would a general outline of the flash you are talking about look like.... ie

    - does the phone neet to be rooted or have bootloader unlocked ( I imagine not, since the phone is fully unlocked on CDMA bands), does it need a ROM, etc....

    Thanks guys... I am new to the forum and you are already being so helpful.

    Best,

    JB

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 1,214, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 74.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    120



    First thing u need is prl
    Rom is not require.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,802, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    phunky's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Customer Since
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Hi @Jboone1978. By "flash" Hitesh is referring to what the Cricket store clerks would call "programming" your phone. First step would be to bring your new phone to a Cricket store and have them activate in on the network. They'll then instruct you to dial *228 (if I remember correctly) which will program your phone so that it will function on Cricket's network.

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,214, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 74.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    120



    But to catch cricket network , your phone should have cricket prl on it.
    Last edited by Hitesh; 11-15-2013 at 04:30 AM.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 174, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Customer Since
    2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitesh View Post
    But to catch cricket network , your phone should have cricket prl on it.
    anyone know the PRL for the Denver, Co area? I get my Nexus 5 today and am going to try it.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 174, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Customer Since
    2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7



    Quote Originally Posted by Hitesh View Post
    But to catch cricket network , your phone should have cricket prl on it.
    Went to Cricket store and their system would not accept the IMEI to place onto my account ... Said it needed more or less digits .. My IMEI is 15 digits ... Any suggestions ? Should I have them try leaving off a digit or doing an IMEI conversion

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by Jboone1978 View Post
    Went to Cricket store and their system would not accept the IMEI to place onto my account ... Said it needed more or less digits .. My IMEI is 15 digits ... Any suggestions ? Should I have them try leaving off a digit or doing an IMEI conversion

    convert your IMEI to a decimal ESN and it should be fine

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 9,445, Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    djisia402's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 41
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    242
    Phone
    Moto X and Sammy 4
    Items for Sale



    Make sure its a CDMA Model which in this case will be Sprint. Ensure that your local flasher CAN flash the phone (where if you want to do yourself you need tools and files). Unlocked version works with GSM based carriers such as ATT, Tmobile, H2O.....

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 174, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Customer Since
    2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7



    Quote Originally Posted by djisia402 View Post
    Make sure its a CDMA Model which in this case will be Sprint. Ensure that your local flasher CAN flash the phone (where if you want to do yourself you need tools and files). Unlocked version works with GSM based carriers such as ATT, Tmobile, H2O.....
    It is the unlocked Nexus 5, which on this model is also unlocked to all CDMA bands

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 1,635, Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    103


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I couldn't get a cricket lte card to register on the device. My next step was to enable diag and the to flash the device. But no conventional diaper codes or commands are working. Once the serial diag port is enabled we should be able to
    Flash it.

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 9,445, Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    djisia402's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 41
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    242
    Phone
    Moto X and Sammy 4
    Items for Sale



    Quote Originally Posted by Jboone1978 View Post
    It is the unlocked Nexus 5, which on this model is also unlocked to all CDMA bands
    GSM Unlocked means it supports any GSM carrier but what do you mean by "unlocked to all CDMA bands"??? Verizon phone cant be used Sprint or vice versa

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 1,635, Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    103



    Google play nexus 5 is gsm and CDMA device. So it's gsm unlocked and supports CDMA with sprint.

  16. #15
    Member
    Points: 1,214, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 74.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    120



    As this device is ready to activate on sprint then my guess is spc won't be zero.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner