Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 1,249, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    piercedgeek's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    174
    Phone
    HTC EVO



    Sprint overdrive 3G/4G hotspot (Sierra Wireless), can't QPST or CDMA workshop to it?

    I got a Sprint overdrive super cheap on ebay figuring I'd mess with it to see if it could be flashed to Cricket, but am having trouble getting connected with either QPST or CDMA WS.

    After installing the drivers, in device manager I have:
    Sierra Wireless Application Interface NMEA (COM6)
    Sierra Wireless NMEA Port (COM7)

    QPST Configuration showed COM7, not COM6
    Adding COM7 in QMST Configuration shows it as "Enabled" but "no phone"
    Trying to manually add COM6 results in an error that the port may not be working, or is busy.

    CDMA WS connects to both ports, but when I click Read I get:
    "Searching phone in DM mode..." for a little bit, then the error:
    "Failed.. Phone does not answer"

    I'm guessing I need either different drivers, or the device needs to be put into diagnostic mode (similar to dialing ##diag# on the EVO before doing QPST stuff)

    Any ideas?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Install Sprint's actual login program. VZacess is what Verizon uses.

    You need to put it in USB modem mode. On some other devices I used, this requires that the USB be plugged into the phone while the device is off. Then turn on the device.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,249, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    piercedgeek's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    174
    Phone
    HTC EVO



    I installed the app/drivers that showed up when the device was plugged in (mounted drive with it on there). I can now browse to the web interface on the device over USB (not connected by wifi to it, 100% sure). Tried turning it off (pulled battery to be sure) then connecting to USB, powered on, still can't talk to it with QPST
    in the web interface, I can see the MDN, MIN, NAI, SID, PRL, but can't change them (well, aside from PRL, looks like I can upload a file)
    If I click "Manual Activation" it wants the SPC code.

    On a sidenote, with the little 1x1 screen, I think this would be an awesomely fun piece of hardware to have open source stuff developed for, but for now, a wifi hotspot would be great

  5. #4
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    For the Verizon ones it always had a diag port.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 1,249, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    piercedgeek's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    174
    Phone
    HTC EVO



    Ah well, I'm leaving town for a few days tomorrow, I'll see if I can post the request for info a few other places before/while I'm gone. Can't do any testing while I'm away, but will get back to it when I return. I'll post here with additional info if I'm successful.
    Worst case though, it was only $6, sold as "bad ESN" but I just checked with the online ESN checker and it's clean, so I'm sure I can regain my cost at least

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,249, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    piercedgeek's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    174
    Phone
    HTC EVO



    OK, I've made some progress, turns out people root these things so they can flash the Clear firmware on them, and use Clear vs Sprint for 4G...

    http://ispotunrestricted.com/overdrive.html




    I obviously stop short of flashing the Clear firmware though, just obtain root.
    With root I can modify the html pages to get around the SPC code request on the manual registration page, and update my mobile IP settings... but there's a few problems...
    1) "HA SPI" should be 12C for Cricket, but if I try that I get the error "Invalid number "C" at position 3. Must be a number.".
    -So I tried it as just "12" and AAA as "2", but does not connect to 3G.
    -Tried HA and AAA as hex values (313243 and 32), still not connecting...
    buuut, that could be a result of:
    2) can't change MDN and MSID, I can see them on one page, but not modify them anywhere =/

    Any thoughts on either?


  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,249, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    piercedgeek's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    174
    Phone
    HTC EVO



    ahh, reviewing the QPST tutorial, I see on the M.IP pages 12C and 2 ARE hex, will try to enter them as decimal (300 and 2) and try again in a little bit


    edit: Didn't help, still sits at "connecting", so I'm trying to find a way to change the MDN and MSID now
    Last edited by piercedgeek; 07-25-2011 at 06:59 PM. Reason: update

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,249, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    piercedgeek's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    174
    Phone
    HTC EVO



    Update: Contacted Sierra support, but they weren't too supportive:


    ------
    No, only Sprint has the authority to do that, please contact Sprint if you have any follow up questions.


    This ticket will auto close.


    Regards,
    SWI Support
    ------

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,075, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    1



    any luck with getting WS to read the sierra wireless modem? I have WS 3.8 which Cdma-Ware claim it will connect and repair esn

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,114, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    SM-G730V


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Connect to device with WiFi. Use "HW Virtual Serial Port" with "NVT enable" unchecked. Modem Port is 5503.

    Sierra Wireless 16 digits password is
    563085992436B40A to get SPC Code.

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 11,094, Level: 69
    Overall activity: 0%
    hetaldp's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Nashik, India
    Posts
    5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Install HW-VSP3 But only Drivers Software is not Needed
    Installl VSPM - Chinease VSPM - Select English Language and take all Default Options

    Connect OverDrive to PC via MicroUSB Cable or WIFI
    In DOS type this Command IPCONFIG to check for IP if its Connected with USB if you have IP like 192.168.0.16 then OverDrives IP = 192.168.0.1

    Create VSPM - Virtual Serial Port like Following Images

    vspm.jpg

    Now Connect the CDMA Workshop to said port and Send the Password = 563085992436B40A

    SPC will be automatically Seen - Change the SPC if you need and Change what ever you like as per Cricket Settings

    BIG THANKS to
    PM
    bangeko for Password and TCP Port Numbers
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 11,094, Level: 69
    Overall activity: 0%
    hetaldp's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Nashik, India
    Posts
    5



    EVen though Programming it via CDMA Workshop it dont catch the Network may be its trying for MIP only Profile and my Network use Simple IP profile ??

    any clue ?

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,114, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    SM-G730V



    I think we need linux expert here.

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 698, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NASIK
    Posts
    1



    Quote Originally Posted by piercedgeek View Post
    I got a Sprint overdrive super cheap on ebay figuring I'd mess with it to see if it could be flashed to Cricket, but am having trouble getting connected with either QPST or CDMA WS.

    After installing the drivers, in device manager I have:
    Sierra Wireless Application Interface NMEA (COM6)
    Sierra Wireless NMEA Port (COM7)

    QPST Configuration showed COM7, not COM6
    Adding COM7 in QMST Configuration shows it as "Enabled" but "no phone"
    Trying to manually add COM6 results in an error that the port may not be working, or is busy.

    CDMA WS connects to both ports, but when I click Read I get:
    "Searching phone in DM mode..." for a little bit, then the error:
    "Failed.. Phone does not answer"

    I'm guessing I need either different drivers, or the device needs to be put into diagnostic mode (similar to dialing ##diag# on the EVO before doing QPST stuff)

    Any ideas?
    I just want to ask you, did you try going to 192.168.1.1 longing as admin and advanced options setting WAN settings to default 3G only? Because in my opinion its not showing up on com 6 is because its not in 3G mode. It could be in 4Gmode if it is in 4G coverage area. It has a Qualcomm chip set : Qualcomm MDM6085 (EvDO) . All Qualcomm chipsets support diag mode. This chipset is used in many devices including Novatel Expedite E120 card for netbooks etc.


  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 654, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25



    Quote Originally Posted by piercedgeek View Post
    I got a Sprint overdrive super cheap on ebay figuring I'd mess with it to see if it could be flashed to Cricket, but am having trouble getting connected with either QPST or CDMA WS.

    After installing the drivers, in device manager I have:
    Sierra Wireless Application Interface NMEA (COM6)
    Sierra Wireless NMEA Port (COM7)

    QPST Configuration showed COM7, not COM6
    Adding COM7 in QMST Configuration shows it as "Enabled" but "no phone"
    Trying to manually add COM6 results in an error that the port may not be working, or is busy.

    CDMA WS connects to both ports, but when I click Read I get:
    "Searching phone in DM mode..." for a little bit, then the error:
    "Failed.. Phone does not answer"

    I'm guessing I need either different drivers, or the device needs to be put into diagnostic mode (similar to dialing ##diag# on the EVO before doing QPST stuff)

    Any ideas?
    Quote Originally Posted by hetaldp View Post
    Install HW-VSP3 But only Drivers Software is not Needed
    Installl VSPM - Chinease VSPM - Select English Language and take all Default Options

    Connect OverDrive to PC via MicroUSB Cable or WIFI
    In DOS type this Command IPCONFIG to check for IP if its Connected with USB if you have IP like 192.168.0.16 then OverDrives IP = 192.168.0.1

    Create VSPM - Virtual Serial Port like Following Images

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VSPM.jpg 
Views:	1589 
Size:	33.2 KB 
ID:	1588

    Now Connect the CDMA Workshop to said port and Send the Password = 563085992436B40A

    SPC will be automatically Seen - Change the SPC if you need and Change what ever you like as per Cricket Settings

    BIG THANKS to
    PM
    bangeko for Password and TCP Port Numbers

    Thank you all for all your input. I got my hands on an overdrive and following your instructions i was able to unlock the sprint overdrive. what i did was I Installed HW-VSP3 from hetaldp's link (thank you). I connected to the overdrive through wifi rather than USB; for some reason usb wouldnt work.

    1. Connect overdrive through wifi
    2. open up hw-vsp3; go to settings make sure "NVT Enabled" is check OFF.
    3. (still in HW-vsp3) go back to serial virtual port, set the ip address as 192.168.0.1 (this is the default value) then the Port to 5503, and of course choose a COM port of your preference.
    4. Hit create COM. let it do its thing, the status should say "created" and to the right "connected"
    5. Open CDMA WS, pick the COM port, Connect.
    6. Go to security, in the 16 digit password's click the drop down menu and scroll down til you see sierra wireless cards pick that option and send. This will unlock your spc.
    7. Send the SPC code, unlock device. Optional: Write the spc as all 0's
    8. Now read and write all of the settings that you need.



    Now my question is, what settings would i need to flash to verizon prepaid. Imagine nam and evdo settings but im not sure. Could anyone help me out?


    Thank you! and hope this helps.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Download] CDMA Workshop 2.7 Download
    By CU-News in forum Flashing Tools / Files / General Discussion (programming)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-19-2015, 07:09 PM
  2. Diagnostic Mode (QPST, CDMA Workshop)
    By Chris Rodriguez in forum Cricket Samsung Indulge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 11:43 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 10:40 AM
  4. where to get CDMA Workshop 2.7 that works?
    By jcer93705 in forum Flashing Tools / Files / General Discussion (programming)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2011, 07:31 AM
  5. CDMA workshop over bluetooth
    By Paine in forum Flashing Tools / Files / General Discussion (programming)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 11:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner