Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G



    Question HTC One SV with Bad ESN (Boost Mobile) Can I flash it to work with Cricket?

    We have an HTC One SV with Bad ESN (Boost mobile), Could I flash it to work with Cricket service? I've never dealt with bad esn before so not sure what's involved.

    I currently use a Huawei Mercury with Cricket and the SV would be a decent upgrade.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by Mathesar; 06-27-2013 at 07:16 PM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Yes you can. I am in Madera never flash that model but I give it a try for you at no charge. I would like to know if it can be done myself. Not sure how I will get the msl to open the port.

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 9,445, Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    djisia402's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 41
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    242
    Phone
    Moto X and Sammy 4
    Items for Sale



    i have done HTC Design from boost... should be similar drill....

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G



    Thanks for the replies I will call around town tomorrow, I didn't realize how many cricket dealers there are in this city.

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G



    I called 10 stores in town yesterday and half of them said they couldn't flash an htc one sv, I took it into a few stores that claimed they could flash it but were unsuccessful.. The basically said the phone is to new and I'd have to wait for the proper program for it.

    The phone is CDMA and doesn't use a SIM card so I didn't expect it to be this difficult?

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 3,090, Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    SnakeFist2005's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Customer Since
    2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    HTC One SV



    The cricket version does use a sim card even tho cricket is CDMA the sim card is for the 4g lte. Is the boost version of the htc one sv 4g lte also?

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G



    Quote Originally Posted by SnakeFist2005 View Post
    The cricket version does use a sim card even tho cricket is CDMA the sim card is for the 4g lte. Is the boost version of the htc one sv 4g lte also?
    According to the specs its also 4G LTE, I took the back cover off but didnt see a sim card? or a spot for one. just the battery and microsd slot, also pulled battery and didnt see any slots.

    edit: added pic of phone, also noticed when rebooting it shows the 4G LTE logo during boot.


    HTC One SV Android Phone Specs | Boost Mobile




    htc_back.jpg

    Edit: The more I think about it.. Would the lack of a sim card make installing Cricket specific roms incompatible? I'm wondering if I should just sell the phone on Ebay, I really like the phone but not sure what my options are (If any). I wouldnt mind if 4G is disabled being we don't even have 4G service in my area.

    Last edited by Mathesar; 07-11-2013 at 10:04 AM.

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 682, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Springfield, Oregon
    Posts
    38



    You might want to check under the battery, I've seen a few phones that are CDMA but have sim card ports under the battery, but they are kind of unrecognizable. It also depends on what size of sim card it takes as well

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner