Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 319
  1. #46
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 1,438, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Shabbypenguin's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    52



    oh yea thats what im talking about. that can be fixed by flashing a stock rom at which point according to samsung you will have never rooted etc

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #47
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Where would the info for that be stored in android?

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #48
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 1,438, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Shabbypenguin's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    52



    its one of teh low level bootloaders scans system and if it fails a sig check then it marks it as custom. chainfire had it working for a while but doesnt seem to be working idk if it needs an update or its because of my meddling. either way id rather have a mostly working app than nothing at all.

  5. #49
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    What exactly does it scan for? Is it looking for the su binary specifically? The reason I ask is because I'd like to figure out how to fix this or a work around

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 02-05-2013 at 10:24 AM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #50
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 1,438, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Shabbypenguin's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    52



    what i and others believe is it scans for any changes i know root as well as busybox and a few other things set it off.

  7. #51
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Does it trigger the variable and change it each time or does it scan once and never again?

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  8. #52
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 1,438, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Shabbypenguin's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    52



    every boot. in fact with the jellybean update it scans for a custom kernel/system and adds to your flash counter per bootup

  9. #53
    Junior Member
    Points: 216, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Does space on the phone matter for flashing this .tar with Odin or does it just write over everything? Thanks

  10. #54
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by Halfbrasilian View Post
    Does space on the phone matter for flashing this .tar with Odin or does it just write over everything? Thanks
    It overwrites everything in the partitions it has files for. So if there's a system img, a recovery image, and a boot img (kernel and ramdisk) it will over write those sections, but nothing else. It's just how Odin works

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 04-08-2013 at 02:34 AM. Reason: Edited for accuracy after the fact

  11. #55
    Junior Member
    Points: 216, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    THANK YOU SO MUCH! IT WORKED *PERFECTLY!* One more quick question though, after Odin finished, my phone rebooted but didn't go into the boot loop or hang, it went right to the connect to Google page and turned on great. However, it shows my phone as still having only 400 Mb left in storage. I didn't need to do the data wipe or take the battery out or anything to get it to turn on, but I want to make it completely empty, and start from scratch without the old data. If I do the data wipe/cache clear, will it wipe out my old stuff? Or if I click factory reset, will it make it like new?
    Last edited by Halfbrasilian; 02-05-2013 at 08:08 PM.

  12. #56
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Factory reset will help but if you put cwm back on your phone, you can go to

    Mounts and Storage > Format /data /data/media (/sdcard)

    and it will completely wipe it. Do a cache wipe and you're golden. I strongly recommend factory reset and dalvik wipe regardless

    Sent from my CM10.1 Cricket S3
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  13. #57
    Junior Member
    Points: 216, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    I want to get my warranty back, I read about an app called Triangle Away that clears the flash counter and gets rid of the triangle, do you know if it works on all models of Galaxy S3? Have you used it before? I did the factory reset and formats already and it worked like a charm.

  14. #58
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    (Removed reference to removed link.) -SP


    Edit:
    I have successfully restored my Cricket S3 to stock with a completely unmodified software. My phone reports 0 flashes, official binary, and system status as normal. I will edit op when I get home from work and charge my phone with a full write up.

    Edit 2:
    After using my method to restore to fully stock and reset the counter/system status, I'm having trouble regaining root. Using the debugfs method after fully unrooting with supersu does push su back to the phone, but when attempting to test root, it fails. I have manually installed superuser and can force it somewhat, but I think I'm missing a symlink to the su binary. I did however get Rom Manager to finally request root access and get cwm reinstalled by installing Terminal Emulator, typing out the full path to su, then exported the path while leaving terminal emu running to ensure the export worked.

    Sent from my CM10.1 Cricket S3
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 02-27-2013 at 12:21 AM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  15. #59
    Member
    Points: 876, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Brownsville Texas
    Posts
    110


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I'm happy to see that the recovery is working!!!

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2

  16. #60
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 1,438, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Shabbypenguin's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    52



    ill be removing the link as now the d2cri is supported in mobile odin and triangle away officially. you guys are welcome

 

 
Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner