Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 46
  1. #16
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Mine says "permission denied" in terminal.

    ---------- Post added at 04:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:49 PM ----------

    "cannot open for read: permission denied"

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #17
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    If you are rooted and using terminal emulator you have to request root in the terminal by typing:

    su

    then the dd command

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #18
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    it did something. 70+ records in, 70+ records out, 35840 bytes transfered in .007 secs. It says its only 35.00k big?

    ---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:56 PM ----------

    let me try again, ...70m vs 70M.

    ---------- Post added at 05:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

    Same 35.00K

  5. #19
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    it did something. 70+ records in, 70+ records out, 35840 bytes transfered in .007 secs. It says its only 35.00k big?

    ---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:56 PM ----------

    let me try again, ...70m vs 70M.

    ---------- Post added at 05:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

    Same 35.00K
    Hmm.... Should be bigger than that. Sec

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #20
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    now i have terminal emulator and i put the command in and nothing happens. im not to savy with this but im willing to try.

  7. #21
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by sonasam300 View Post
    now i have terminal emulator and i put the command in and nothing happens. im not to savy with this but im willing to try.
    Is it taking the command and then doing nothing for a moment or is it giving an error

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  8. #22
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Me neither sonasam300. I briefly messed with UNIX for a few days (before most here were born) then gave up, lol.

    We are half way there!!

  9. #23
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Waiting on a reply from the Dev on XDA bear with me guys

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  10. #24
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Proffitt View Post
    Is it taking the command and then doing nothing for a moment or is it giving an error

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    its not doing anything. i opened te and typed in commands and it just sits there

    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    Me neither sonasam300. I briefly messed with UNIX for a few days (before most here were born) then gave up, lol.

    We are half way there!!
    yea i briefly and i mean briefly daddled with cpu programs. i shouldve stuck with it. didnt know phones would someday have the same capability.

  11. #25
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    sonasam300, let it sit there 15mins. i think he said it take 10 mins to make the dump.

  12. #26
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 of=/sdcard/debrick.img bs=2048 count=125829120

    Since the previous command only dumped 35k this is more direct being that it counts the number of bytes I need

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk

    ---------- Post added at 06:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:46 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    sonasam300, let it sit there 15mins. i think he said it take 10 mins to make the dump.
    Yeah it can take a few minutes

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  13. #27
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    ok, its churning like its doing nothing. time to wait. tic-toc.

  14. #28
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    ok, its churning like its doing nothing. time to wait. tic-toc.
    Cool. The finished file should be around 120MB.

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  15. #29
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    storage space running out message. still churning.

    ---------- Post added at 06:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:03 PM ----------

    and 10 or so mins later ....1297554+0 records in, 1297553+0 records out, 2657388544 bytes transfered in 974.257secs.

    Its 2.47 GB

    ---------- Post added at 06:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:13 PM ----------

    sonasam300 what are you getting?

  16. #30
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,573, Level: 37
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    sonasam300's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    mar 2006
    Location
    madera ca
    Posts
    488
    Phone
    sg3



    i dont think im doing it right. i get to the mmcblk0 part and its says file not found.

 

 
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner