Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,165, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4



    I sold a SCH-R970C on eBay

    I sold my old Cricket galaxy s4 CDMA phone on ebay. I was told by a Cricket wireless employee to sell it without the sim card, so I did not include it. The person that bought the phone said she went to a cricket store and tried several different sim cards (CDMA &GSM) and all of them gave her the message "sim card could not be read". This phone was in perfect working order the day I mailed it out. I know there is nothing wrong with the phone. What could be wrong? Does she need my old sim card? Or the other possibility is that I had a hard time selling this phone locally because everyone wanted to meet at a cricket store. When I would arrive, the Cricket employee would say "you know, this phone wont work after March", and the sale would fall through. So, I wonder if the cricket store told her that and now she wants her money back because she didn't know that beforehand. I don't know, it's only speculation, she says that the phone will not activate, and I don't believe her.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 353, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Private, USA
    Posts
    15



    It might be as simple as doing a factory data reset before inserting the new sim.

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,480, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    FEB 2013
    Location
    Chaparral (Nuevo México), United States
    Posts
    145
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4



    If you still have a cricket account with the phone's imei active she won't be able to activate the phone in her account.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,165, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4



    The phone was reset back to factory before being mailed. I removed that device from my account and bought a new phone to work with the new cricket. She told me today that another cricket store told her that the original sim card is needed because the phone is linked to that sim card. I don't need that old sim card for anything so I am going to mail it to her and we will see how it goes.

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 1,994, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Warboy's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    73



    Quote Originally Posted by ajw6381 View Post
    The phone was reset back to factory before being mailed. I removed that device from my account and bought a new phone to work with the new cricket. She told me today that another cricket store told her that the original sim card is needed because the phone is linked to that sim card. I don't need that old sim card for anything so I am going to mail it to her and we will see how it goes.
    I don't think that is the case off hand, but might be since each S4 is bundled with a SIM card. And not without it?

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 114, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 9.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Customer Since
    March 201
    Location
    Houston tx
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    SCH-R970C



    Im pretty sure it has do with the fact that Cricket SCH-R970c phones have the ability to literally bind the handset to the sim card even if the sim card is removed and another carrier sim card is inserted. She will need or ,the carrier she is trying to use, the MSL for the phone you sold to her as well as the original sim card. This is reason they are so hesitant to give up the MSL's (I still haven't convinced them to give me mine) but where they profit from this, I still don't see it. but I think your phone was locked on the level of the handset being binded to the sim card before you sold it to her. hope this helps

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,480, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Customer Since
    FEB 2013
    Location
    Chaparral (Nuevo México), United States
    Posts
    145
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4



    I'm not sure but when i bought my S4, I gave my old S3 to my mom. We activated the S4 first on my account then my S3 to my mom's account without any issues. If the phone is currently not active on any account then their should be no problems. But again we are talking about moving from the old Cricket to the new. Maybe the phone is still showing active in the old system and that may be the reason.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    has anybody found a way to unbind the sim and phone?

  10. #9
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Not being a dealer, my guess is that they're not really binded to the device. It's the fact that you need the old CDMA SIM card, and if you're already on a GSM account, you're not going to get that anymore.

    When you activate the device, you're giving your UICC AND IMEI correct? They should be able to associate any UICC with it. Just back to the fact that they are probably not distributing any CDMA SIM cards...
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  11. #10
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    I agree with chris.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner