Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,824, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    oscuro's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    26
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend II



    AT&T S4 flash to Cricket no prob?

    I was going to post this in the Flash forum but its locked. Must be some illegal activity there lol.

    Main question, I was looking at an AT&T version of the Galaxy S4 and noticed it uses a sim card for their service, but does one need a sim card for it to work on Cricket? Can it be flashed over with full functionality?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    It's life, live it!
    Points: 4,388, Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    short6in's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 66
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    1995
    Location
    Out there!
    Posts
    451
    Phone
    Galaxy S4



    Quote Originally Posted by oscuro View Post
    I was going to post this in the Flash forum but its locked. Must be some illegal activity there lol.

    Main question, I was looking at an AT&T version of the Galaxy S4 and noticed it uses a sim card for their service, but does one need a sim card for it to work on Cricket? Can it be flashed over with full functionality?
    Currently, the AT&T version of the GS4 cannot be flashed over. Their version ONLY has the GSM radios and thus not compatible with Cricket's CDMA network.

    However, if you hold onto it for a few months, you may be able to use it when Cricket gains access to AT&T's network through the merger.
    *Only PM me when asked. Please post to the forum first as you and the many members here will benefit from the conversation!"

    Been fixing, flashing, and activating Cricket phones since 2004.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,824, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    oscuro's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    26
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend II



    Wow, thank you for the info! I was not aware of this at all.

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 274, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    40



    My Cricket S4 can be used for all carriers.

    I don't know what u mean?

    I just switched from Cricket to TMobile by simply installing a TMobile SIM.

    I have the Cricket S4 and it is factory unlocked for ALL carrier's.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    Quote Originally Posted by tonedef View Post
    My Cricket S4 can be used for all carriers.

    I don't know what u mean?

    I just switched from Cricket to TMobile by simply installing a TMobile SIM.

    I have the Cricket S4 and it is factory unlocked for ALL carrier's.

    He has an AT&T S4, not cricket, your post was great just not pertinent to the question whatsoever

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 274, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    40



    True...

    I apologize for my ignorance.

    I am lost, the Cricket S4 uses a SIM card.

    How do they provide CDMA with this detail?

    My understanding was that GSM phones have a SIM card.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by tonedef View Post
    True...
    I apologize for my ignorance.
    I am lost, the Cricket S4 uses a SIM card.
    How do they provide CDMA with this detail?
    My understanding was that GSM phones have a SIM card.
    thanks for the great question! i get asked this a lot here at the store. cricket does not use an actual "sim" card. it is a UICC card that we refer to as sim card because it makes it easier to explain.. .


    UICC - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia




    "In a
    cdmaOne


    /
    CDMA2000


    ("CDMA") network, the UICC contains a
    CSIM


    application, in addition to 3GPP USIM and SIM applications. A card with all 3 features is called a removable user identitity card, or
    R-UIM


    . Thus, the R-UIM card can be inserted into CDMA, GSM, or UMTS handsets, and will work in all three cases."

    cricket's UICC cards may not contain all that. it may just be a R-UIM card


    Removable User Identity Module - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia















  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 274, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    40



    Thanks.

    I actually flashed my Cricket S4 but to the wrong carrier. I used an online tutorial for the ATT, TMOBILE versions. The problem was I flashed it to Verizon, lol.

    I could not get it to work on my Cricket service, then I did a factory data reset and got it to go back to Cricket. I was pretty frustrated most of the day.

    Hopefully someone will figure it out one day. I have not rooted this phone yet. I used to run JellyBam on my Nexus4. It was a mix of Paranoid, AOKP and one or two more ROM's. Maybe if someone flashes JellyBam I might go ahead and root.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner