Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Show Off Your Desktop Computer Themes

    =====================================
    Show Off Your Windows, Mac & Linux Desktop Themes Here.
    =====================================

    If you got a killer desktop theme and want to show it off to the rest of the world, post it here. I love to see the neat things people do to their desktop computers. I use Ubuntu Linux and love to theme it. So, weather it's just a simple wallpaper or a full blown theme, icons and all, post it here.

    If you need a way to upload your pictures, use ImageShack.


    ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting




    Have fun!



    Here are screen shots of my Ubuntu Linux 11.04 -- Enjoy!





    _



    _



    _



    _



    _

















    Last edited by Hexley; 07-14-2011 at 01:04 AM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    Wow, nice work man

    Umm how is windows running in linux?

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

  4. #3
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    Wow, nice work man

    Umm how is windows running in linux?

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk
    I'm using a Linux program called, "VirtualBox" check out the link below:


    VirtualBox




    If you are a full blown Linux user like me and only use Windows one percent of the time, then VirtualBox is the way to go when dual booting is not an option.


  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    Quote Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
    I'm using a Linux program called, "VirtualBox" check out the link below:


    VirtualBox




    If you are a full blown Linux user like me and only use Windows one percent of the time, then VirtualBox is the way to go when dual booting is not an option.
    very interesting I just wish I can get ubuntu to work on my laptop

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk


  6. #5
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    very interesting I just wish I can get ubuntu to work on my laptop

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk
    Have you tried Ubuntu Remix. It's for Laptop computers. One person I talked to has a ASUS eee notbook, he had to download a Ubuntu distro made just for those machines.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    No I hasn't. I needs look fire one my toshiba satlite L305

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    No I hasn't. I needs look fire one my toshiba satlite L305

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

    Good chance your boot sector is locked in the bios. If Ubuntu Remix does not work, but you know it is installed, use a USB memory stick and format and make it boot-able. Then upload GRUB2 and have it point to the partition and location your Ubuntu Linux kernel is installed. I had to help a buddy of mine last night who is going through this same thing. He's got a ASUS eee notebook with a locked boot sector. No matter what he does he cant unlock it. So I told him how to create a GRUB2 loader using a simple USB memory stick. It worked fine after.

    I have a GIGABYTE A5700 mother board. No longer made. clearly states on the box Windows only. Every Linux Distro I have installed from Distrowatch dot com wouldn't boot. I later found out it has a lot to do with the boot sector. Windows uses the first 512 sectors on track zero. The Bios looks in that area. Linux seems to like to use the 1024 sector of the boot loader and if your Bios locked to the first 512 sector, your not booting into Linux. The problem is my Bios is locked on the first 512 sectors. So to get around this, I use a simple USB stick that has GRUB2 installed, and in Ubuntu Linux, I installed the boot loader on the partition only. Now Ubuntu boots up on my older computer just fine.
    Last edited by Hexley; 07-14-2011 at 12:43 PM.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    I did low level format to my
    Hdd and installed vista business. The preinstallation of vista home basic had to go and the "factory recovery partition" (bs 10gb my hdd I couldn't touch) untill I got rid of that it would not let me install windows.

    I hasn't looked for ubuntu for my laptop yet

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    I did low level format to my
    Hdd and installed vista business. The preinstallation of vista home basic had to go and the "factory recovery partition" (bs 10gb my hdd I couldn't touch) untill I got rid of that it would not let me install windows.

    I hasn't looked for ubuntu for my laptop yet

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk
    I installed Windows 7 once and couldn't figure out where all the missing data went too. I had a 500GB SATA2 drive and it was formatting to only 400GB. I found out Windows was saving an area of my drive known as protected or reserve space for backups. What load of crap is this. I got robbed 100GB's. I un-installed and went back to Windows XP and still, the same thing. missing 100GB's. I had no choice but to boot into a Windows 98 boot disk and do a, "format /mbr" that didn't work. Had to use Ubuntu Linux install disk that had GParted on it. Great partitioning utility by the way. I killed all the partitions, created a new partition table. Now I get the full 500GB's when I install.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    Quote Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
    I installed Windows 7 once and couldn't figure out where all the missing data went too. I had a 500GB SATA2 drive and it was formatting to only 400GB. I found out Windows was saving an area of my drive known as protected or reserve space for backups. What load of crap is this. I got robbed 100GB's. I un-installed and went back to Windows XP and still, the same thing. missing 100GB's. I had no choice but to boot into a Windows 98 boot disk and do a, "format /mbr" that didn't work. Had to use Ubuntu Linux install disk that had GParted on it. Great partitioning utility by the way. I killed all the partitions, created a new partition table. Now I get the full 500GB's when I install.
    Went through the same bs. Basically. I'll have top look what I use its a stand alone format tool that you can get a iso of and make bootable cd. This I've almost always gotten to work. Otherwise there is some great llf programs and what I'll do is attach the hdd to another comp and have at it because when its a slave no worries. (just one prob I made w llf one time... Didn't nitice I had my mp3 plugged in and I selected that instead the hdd I was working on ... Now tge mp3 player will not even turn on. It took out the firmware

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    Went through the same bs. Basically. I'll have top look what I use its a stand alone format tool that you can get a iso of and make bootable cd. This I've almost always gotten to work. Otherwise there is some great llf programs and what I'll do is attach the hdd to another comp and have at it because when its a slave no worries. (just one prob I made w llf one time... Didn't nitice I had my mp3 plugged in and I selected that instead the hdd I was working on ... Now tge mp3 player will not even turn on. It took out the firmware

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

    That sucks. I use a Linux utility called, "Parted Magic" It's filled with all sorts of things for restoring a Linux box, or Windows. It even has built in menus for booting all sorts of OS's without a boot loader. Also, if your a command line user, FSarchiver (FS Archiver) is a great command line tool for making image backups of operating systems. Backups Linux, Windows, BeOS, Mac. hehe does it all.

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    Quote Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
    That sucks. I use a Linux utility called, "Parted Magic" It's filled with all sorts of things for restoring a Linux box, or Windows. It even has built in menus for booting all sorts of OS's without a boot loader. Also, if your a command line user, FSarchiver (FS Archiver) is a great command line tool for making image backups of operating systems. Backups Linux, Windows, BeOS, Mac. hehe does it all.
    Check out mini tool partition wizard

    Think that's what the one I use from time to time is

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

  14. #13
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    Check out mini tool partition wizard

    Think that's what the one I use from time to time is

    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk
    I will check it out. I just got into Ubuntu's boot splash screen and mod it. now instead of the Ubuntu logo and then password box, it's my own splash screen and then password box.

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 1,825, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    whitefiretiger's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    472
    Phone
    EVO 4G Cricket



    Quote Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
    I will check it out. I just got into Ubuntu's boot splash screen and mod it. now instead of the Ubuntu logo and then password box, it's my own splash screen and then password box.
    Lol if I find
    A copy to work on my comp I make it look like windows to miss with ppl
    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

  16. #15
    Senior Member Hexley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    263
    Phone
    LG Optimus C



    Quote Originally Posted by whitefiretiger View Post
    Lol if I find
    A copy to work on my comp I make it look like windows to miss with ppl
    Swyped from my Cricket Droid os 2.3.4 using Tapatalk

    OMG, funny you would say that. I did that to some buddies of mine and blew their minds. In Linux, I have the latest Compiz and AWN installed so I can do the cube and all those fancy effects. I then installed Windows XP in VirtualBox and set it for seamless mode. What this does is places the Windows XP task-bar in Linux at the bottom and moves the icons to the Linux desktop. So now you have Windows running on top of Linux shell.

    I had a few friends over and they all talk crap about how Windows sucks and cant even do a cube or wiggle wobbly window effects and guess what, I show them Windows XP, doing the cube, screen effects, and even making it rain in the desktop while spelling out my name in flaming fire letters. WOW they couldn't believe it. hehe They wouldn't stop asking me over and over, TEACH ME -- TEACH ME. How do you do that. I logged out of windows and there is Ubuntu Linux desktop. My buds were so confused. There like, WTF! . hehehe they still didn't figure it out.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Android Themes
    By Hexley in forum General Phone Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 06:30 PM
  2. Motorola Droid 2 multimedia desktop charger
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 04:52 PM
  3. Samsung Multimedia Desktop Charger for Epic 4G
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2011, 04:37 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 10:29 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 09:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner