Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Ugh I'm so mad at Ubuntu

    I just spent the last hour and a half sorting out a config to get a TW OC kernel done for the S3 and Ubuntu froze... AGAIN

    I tried using the keyboard shortcut to save the file (which the keyboard was working, but the UI wasn't) and it didn't.... Starting over sucks. Save Save SAVE!

    I have a feeling it's the Unity desktop so I'm switching to Gnome3 and updating my nvidia drivers. HOPEFULLY it'll be the last interruption since it's partially the reason for so many of my development delays.

    I just realized that my S3 was also running a newer kernel version than my Ubuntu install... God I'm such a pleb
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 04-13-2013 at 10:12 PM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,592, Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    wthigon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 38
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Laredo, TX
    Posts
    786
    Phone
    Admire 2 64GB



    1st World Problems

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    My PC is my first world. Without it, I can't even look for a job.

    #1
    Me: Hello. I'd like to fill out an application please.
    Them: Got to xyz.com
    #2
    Me: Hi. I'd like to fill out an application.
    Them: Go to zyx.com

    fml... Since I've been doing so much dev work, I just leave Ubuntu up and running all the time. Gnome3 ended up working to fix my issue anyways.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    It's a shame I know nothing about linux... I have a pretty good desktop computer I could use for building or rom porting, I just have no idea where to begin.

    My technological expertise is far more hardware than software.

    Sent from another Galaxy...

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    32 or 64 bit?

    Android 4.0+ has to be built on 64 bit for some reason. You can use VMWare Player (free virtual machine software for Windows) to run Linux inside it without even modifying your machine. If you can't give it 4GB of ram tho.... You'll be a while

    I just dual boot Win7 64 bit and Ubuntu 12.10 64 bit personally.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Ahh yeah, it's 32 bit... But I was already thinking about upgrading my pc anyways. I have 2 gigs of ram.

    Funny thing is my laptop can run 64 bit but the cpu is so slow on that thing... Might have to get back into my overclocking days.

    Sent from another Galaxy...
    Last edited by d34thbl00m; 04-15-2013 at 10:57 PM.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    You probably don't even wanna know my specs but here they are anyways :P

    AMD Phenom II x6 1090t Black Edition 3.2GHz (OC'd to 3.8GHz stable)
    16GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600MHz (Minor OC to 1640)
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (AMD Chipset)
    Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB SSD Sata3 6GB/s and Western Digital 1.5TB Sata3 6GB/s HD
    Asus Nvidia EN-GT240 1GB video card (stock speeds)
    750w Corsair Power Supply
    Cooler Master Storm Scout ATX Mid tower
    5x 120mm cooling fans for maximum air flow
    Win 7 Pro 64 bit and Ubuntu 12.10 64 bit running 3.8.1 Kernel

    If you haven't noticed between my truck, my phone, and my computer, I like speed. This is my DD PC. In Linux I can do full clean builds from source in just under an hour.

    I'll probably be buying a new processor, mobo, and video card soon. I'm staying with AMD processors as they handle OC better but I may switch from Nvidia to ATI/AMD video cards. I was always a fan of the old 3dfx cards and when Nvidia bought them I followed, but the newer cards have gotten sloppy as Nvidia has spent more on development of the Tegra chips than they have desktop graphics cards.
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 04-15-2013 at 11:06 PM.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    I've always been an AMD/Nvidia man as well.

    Sent from another Galaxy...

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner