Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 6,397, Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 22
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Sept 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    148
    Phone
    Galaxy Note II


    3 out of 3 members liked this post.

    Samsung Galaxy Discover Software update Monday 8/12

    A software update is being released today for the Galaxy Discover that provides the following changes:

    8 Google-Android security patches
    Addition of Hangouts app
    Removal of Talk app as per latest GCIM mandate
    Updates lock screen default wallpaper
    Change quick contact badge image
    Change progress bar image at gallery editor
    Change editor background image at gallery editor
    Disable touch action on home screen guide screen
    Change call/message icon widget
    Change default selection color
    This MR is limited to wifi download only. Below is a table that estimates the download duration based on different wifi speeds. Once the MR is released for Over the Air (OTA) download, customers who have registered their Discover for software updates will receive a notification that an update is available. This notification can be accessed via the Notification bar at the top of the display or updates can be initiated manually via the set up menu; About phone/software update option.

    Note: Please be sure that all customers of Samsung smartphones register their device for updates. During the initial activation, the device will prompt the user to confirm this update registration. The customer should accept this. They must sign into their Gmail account to register. If they did not register at activation, they can register by going to Settings/About phone/Software Updates. If they have not registered their phone, they will not receive the OTA notification message.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 120, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    7



    Cool

    Does this update enable the app option "Move to SD" or will that be in a future update? Cause I really don't want to root it just for that. :/
    Also it keeps saying "Access to the software update service is provided to users in the order in which they request it. Try later"
    I rested my phone and everything. Is it localized everywhere? or only in certain parts of the U.S?
    Last edited by big red902; 08-13-2013 at 01:11 PM.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 459, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    DMedina559's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    Sept 2013
    Location
    Fresno,CA
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy Discover



    Quote Originally Posted by big red902 View Post
    Does this update enable the app option "Move to SD" or will that be in a future update? Cause I really don't want to root it just for that. :/
    Also it keeps saying "Access to the software update service is provided to users in the order in which they request it. Try later"
    I rested my phone and everything. Is it localized everywhere? or only in certain parts of the U.S?
    I think you have to register the device on Samsung's site.(I did; but I don't have any 3g(phone not in service yet)/wif(until tomorrow) connection)

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    updates are rolled out slowly and usually random. please be patient or try to see if the update is available on kies

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 120, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    7



    Quote Originally Posted by indica View Post
    updates are rolled out slowly and usually random. please be patient or try to see if the update is available on kies
    Kies does not work with the phone tried it on 3 different computers. I suppose I could just wait.

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,228, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wichita kansas
    Posts
    37



    Did anyone get the update yet ? Not sure mine updated.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 120, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    7



    Quote Originally Posted by Baby_girlvamp View Post
    Did anyone get the update yet ? Not sure mine updated.
    Nope :/ , wish they would post the update online so I could manually do it.
    Last edited by big red902; 08-17-2013 at 03:42 PM.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    running update on the device now shows "no update available"

    current build:
    R740CVVAMF1

    "After the update the handset will have SW version: R740CVVMG1"

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,228, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wichita kansas
    Posts
    37



    It shows the same on mine when i did an update check no update :-(guess we will never knw

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 1,228, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wichita kansas
    Posts
    37



    Does any one knw for sure if we are going to get the software update ??

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 459, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    DMedina559's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    Sept 2013
    Location
    Fresno,CA
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy Discover


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I just got the update. I had to uses triangle away to make my 'Device Status' official(mine was custom. I assume that's because I'm rooted). (Check in settings>about phone>status. At the very bottom)

    Sent from my SCH-R740C using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 1,228, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wichita kansas
    Posts
    37



    Do u see any differnce in the update ? Just asking because i dont see anything differnt at all so ?

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 459, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    DMedina559's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    Sept 2013
    Location
    Fresno,CA
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy Discover



    No, I don't. The update was like 14MB and when installed it wiped the dalvik-cache. Although I do have a WIFI problem(I think I had it before the update to). My Optimus Elite can connect but sometimes the Galaxy Discover can't find the WIFI signal(I use my school WIFI)

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 1,228, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wichita kansas
    Posts
    37



    I dont really have an wifi issue lol but i do see the discover is now a lil bit faster then it was and i have a question. Does ur discover have s voice and the samsung hub and all ? This is y im asking is because the samsung site says it does but i dont see it anywhere in the phone

  16. #15
    Member
    Points: 1,625, Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    May 2013
    Location
    Porterville, CA
    Posts
    66
    Phone
    Galaxy Ex i437z



    Quote Originally Posted by Baby_girlvamp View Post
    I dont really have an wifi issue lol but i do see the discover is now a lil bit faster then it was and i have a question. Does ur discover have s voice and the samsung hub and all ? This is y im asking is because the samsung site says it does but i dont see it anywhere in the phone

    Samsung site says Pure Android 4.0


    Samsung Galaxy Discover





 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner