Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Moto G Review

  1. #1
    It's life, live it!
    Points: 4,388, Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    short6in's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 66
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    1995
    Location
    Out there!
    Posts
    451
    Phone
    Galaxy S4


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Moto G Review

    Who's got the G and what do you like and dislike about it?
    *Only PM me when asked. Please post to the forum first as you and the many members here will benefit from the conversation!"

    Been fixing, flashing, and activating Cricket phones since 2004.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I have it. Don't use it too much, but I've played around with it enough to know it's a pretty decent value.

    Now they have the LTE model out though, so the question is whether you'd get the Cricket version of the Google version. Unfortunately it does require ponying up almost double the amount. For that you get a MicroSD expansion slot as well.

    The most interesting feature for me was the nano coated components. On the S5, you have to make sure all the seals are in tact. For the Moto G, it's quite different. Dropped it in the tub on purpose a couple of times with no issues.

    Too bad Samsung doesn't coat their components AND have the seals. It may lead to more retained heat for the faster devices though. Not sure.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Bought one for a girlfriend. We downloaded the same playstore file at the same time and place and hers was twice as fast as my old cricket s3. She doesnt seem to have any complaints so far. She may have storage probs later but not so far. Wish I could root it so I could clean it up. Can the lte version be unlocked for rooting?

  5. #4
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Not sure about the rooting.

    At 50 dollars after rebate it's less than a third of the cost of the LTE version.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    My first phone with on-screen navigation buttons.

    Quote Originally Posted by short6in View Post
    Who's got the G and what do you like and dislike about it?
    I have the non-LTE version currently on sale through cricket, It's a nice phone definitely worth the deal price.

    The only negative I didn't expect or realize is that it uses on-screen software buttons for back / home / recent apps, which means it occupies a small portion of the screen estate when playing (most) games etc.

    I would've preferred the usual hardware buttons located below screen without the software intrusion, currently only a handful of apps will auto-hide this menu such as YouTube (when running full screen video) or Plants vs Zombies 2.

    But hopefully this feature is enabled in games/apps that currently don't support it yet, according to Google the ability to hide this menu was introduced in KitKat but it's up to developers to take advantage / enable this feature.


    Example of a game that won't auto hide menu:
    screenshot_2014-08-02-20-39-28.png


    Example of a game that is aware of the menu and will auto-hide it (plants vs zombies 2), swiping down from top of the screen makes it visible again in transparent form then goes away after a few seconds:
    screenshot_2014-08-03-11-09-06.png
    Last edited by Mathesar; 08-03-2014 at 01:49 PM.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 149, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    DJB628's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Customer Since
    April2014
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S5



    Is the Moto G they are offering on the Cricket website first Gen, or 2nd Gen version, I have a friend that wants to get one, but I want her to get the 2nd Gen If anyone knows, cheers
    Last edited by DJB628; 01-22-2015 at 07:21 AM.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by DJB628 View Post
    Is the Moto G they are offering on the Cricket website first Gen, or 2nd Gen version, I have a friend that wants to get one, but I want her to get the 2nd Gen If anyone knows, cheers

    first gen

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    40


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I have both 1st and 2nd gen (international versions, only 3g) and must say I am very pleased with both.

    Sent from my XT1064 using Tapatalk

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner