Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Are Cricket Wireless GSM Phones Network Locked?

    Well if you watch the video on the Motorola Moto G it appears so. This test involved an active AT&T SIM card.

    Has anyone found a Cricket Wireless branded device that is not network locked?

    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    from what i was told all of our devices are locked down, but customer care will unlock them after 4 months of service. consecutive or not

  4. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Even moto g?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    I am a metro dealer now and its same way. 3 months and they will give you the code.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    Even moto g?
    yea, we tried an att sim in one of ours it and was asking for unlock code

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 388, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 24.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Customer Since
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Tulare, California 93274
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Galaxy Express



    So you're saying that in March of '15 that I'll have to unlock my Galaxy S3 ( which is supposed to be both GSM & CDMA) to continue service with Cricket?

  8. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    No. Cricket Cdma S3 will never work on GSM. ...never ever.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 388, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 24.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Customer Since
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Tulare, California 93274
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Galaxy Express



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    No. Cricket Cdma S3 will never work on GSM. ...never ever.
    Are you sure? You don't sound so convinced

    ---------- Post added at 06:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 PM ----------

    Here are the specs from Samsung:

    Network
    SAR Value: Head 0.60 W/kg
    Frequencies and Data Type: LTE Dual-band: Band 2 (1900MHz), Band 4 (AWS); CDMA 1x/EVDO Rev A, Tri-band: 800/AWS/1900MHz
    SAR Value: Body 1.47 W/kg

    No mention of GSM.. .. .. .. BUMMER!!!!!!!

  10. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    So it was said and so it was written... Rest in peace CDMA S3. As I posted elsewhere, it will be interesting to watch cars get wired with CDMA LTE and how it plays out with hackers, old cdma phones and privacy rights.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    So it was said and so it was written... Rest in peace CDMA S3. As I posted elsewhere, it will be interesting to watch cars get wired with CDMA LTE and how it plays out with hackers, old cdma phones and privacy rights.
    what are privacy rights? LOL "no reasonable expectation of privacy"

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 102, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Customer Since
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Carson California
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Moto G



    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by indica View Post
    what are privacy rights? LOL "no reasonable expectation of privacy"
    Hey guys, just to throw in my two cents here. 1. All Cricket branded devices are locked to the network, but can be unlocked after 3 months of service. (or a quick $30 or so to Cellunlocker.net <<<how i unlocked my Moto G on day one) 2. CDMA S3 will NEVER work on GSM. It quite simply does not have a GSM antenna. The only CDMA devices i have managed to get to work on Cricket GSM network were S4, S5, Iphone 5 and up. The NOTE 2 has a GSM antenna but for some bizarre reason the frequencies are wrong for U.S. (not sure on the note 3, haven't tried it yet)

    I not only work for Cricket, but i am the resident geek for the LA market. lol

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    I am using a Verizon note 2. H+ speeds

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 1,886, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Lincoln, NE.
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Galaxy SIII



    Verizon note 3 flashed to cricket (back in cdma days)... Popped in my sim card from an active s4 on my account, had to adjust mobile settings but, works! Only bummer is when i get a txt with a picture, ir send it to me twice.... Once from sender, and once frim sender AND myself.... wtf... Lol

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    And yes cricket will provide the unlock code if you push the right person.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner