Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Cricket Wireless - What to look for in a GSM phone when bringing your own device...

    With GSM networks, we actually have a much larger pool of phones to choose from than when we had to flash CDMA devices. Plus LTE is a GSM technology, so many of those CDMA devices will actually still be supported.

    I haven't read up in a while about the Library of Congress and current laws / regulations surrounding unlocking devices. Last time I checked, we did win a small victory. If your carrier allows it, you can unlock the their device. It doesn't matter if I look up the laws right now and publish them verbatim. Laws change. Go check right now if it concerns you.

    VERIZON

    Verizon LTE devices are now unlocked. In an effort to get more spectrum, Verizon agreed with the FCC to keep their devices unlocked. Most Verizon devices do not support any AT&T LTE bands. They will most likely get HSPA / HSPA+ data speeds.

    SPRINT

    Sprint LTE devices will be similar to Verizon for the most part. Unfortunately, they should all be locked at the current time. Don't expect LTE, but you can probably get HSPA and HSPA+ data speeds as well.


    AT&T / Cricket Frequencies

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	att_frequencies_cu.jpg 
Views:	3949 
Size:	68.6 KB 
ID:	4823

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	att_frequencies_lte_cu.jpg 
Views:	3885 
Size:	83.2 KB 
ID:	4824




    Work in progress... time for work.
    Last edited by Chris Rodriguez; 05-20-2014 at 10:26 AM.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    we are being told the old dual band iphones may not be compatible nation-wide.

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    I was reading that my verizon note 2 is unlocked for gsm, but it is not programed to get the at&t 4glte frequencies. Any thoughts or ideas?

    I went by my local CricKet Store today and the trade-in Value of my note 2 was$100.00 im sure many people would give me more than that . I hope I Can use this device and not have to buy a new One.

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 3,951, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Twilight_Sparkle's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Visalia, CA 93292
    Posts
    234
    Phone
    AT&T Moto Atrix HD



    Quote Originally Posted by jaredl45600 View Post
    I was reading that my verizon note 2 is unlocked for gsm, but it is not programed to get the at&t 4glte frequencies. Any thoughts or ideas?

    I went by my local CricKet Store today and the trade-in Value of my note 2 was$100.00 im sure many people would give me more than that . I hope I Can use this device and not have to buy a new One.

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
    from my experience with putting Verizon SIM Devics on H2O Wireless GSM, you only get 2G Internet.
    but if you are using AT&T with 4G LTE APNS, you MIGHT, MIGHT GET 4G LTE... MIGHT unsure since i has no try 4G LTE.

    but i have seen T-Mobile Samsung S3/s4 with AT&T Sim Card in it getting 4G LTE not 2G, so it tells us something.... PLAY AROUND & EXPERIMENT!


    Here is a link to check the value of a device with Cricket
    rq.cricketradeup.com/devices?mf=1

  6. #5
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Quote Originally Posted by jaredl45600 View Post
    I was reading that my verizon note 2 is unlocked for gsm, but it is not programed to get the at&t 4glte frequencies. Any thoughts or ideas?

    I went by my local CricKet Store today and the trade-in Value of my note 2 was$100.00 im sure many people would give me more than that . I hope I Can use this device and not have to buy a new One.

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
    Funny you ask... No LTE, but here's a video I did with AIO Wireless...

    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    Thats what I was reading. I am also reading that at&t uses a different frequency than anyone so if the device is not at&t native or new cricket, it will not get the 4g lte.

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2



    could you explain what you did to get that far? i am runing a modified stock rom. my local cricket store was no help today, i kinda expected that, but im not upset.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 288, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Customer Since
    June 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    17



    I am considering purchasing a new "no contract" Galaxy S5 from another retailer... but they list the frequencies as follows:
    Network/Bearer

    • Multi-SIMSingle-SIM
    • SIM sizeMicro-SIM (3FF)
    • 2G GSM 850MHz, 900MHz, 1800MHz, 1900MHz
    • 3G UMTS 2100MHz, 1900MHz, 850MHz, 900MHz


    Does this mean that 4g and lte will not work on this phone? I would have thought Samsung would make the unlocked phones able to work on all the latest technology systems... no?
    Thanks

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by PapaJon55 View Post
    I am considering purchasing a new "no contract" Galaxy S5 from another retailer... but they list the frequencies as follows:
    Network/Bearer


    • Multi-SIMSingle-SIM
    • SIM sizeMicro-SIM (3FF)
    • 2G GSM 850MHz, 900MHz, 1800MHz, 1900MHz
    • 3G UMTS 2100MHz, 1900MHz, 850MHz, 900MHz


    Does this mean that 4g and lte will not work on this phone? I would have thought Samsung would make the unlocked phones able to work on all the latest technology systems... no?
    Thanks
    if it is a unlocked global variant the LTE bands should be available. what is the actual s5 model number of that one?

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 288, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Customer Since
    June 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    17



    Thanks for your reply. Model Galaxy S5 SM-G900H

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 388, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 24.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Customer Since
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Tulare, California 93274
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Galaxy Express



    Will an AT&T Galaxy Note 3 and upcoming Note 4 work on the new GSM Cricket?

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    yes. any att phone with removable SIM card spot is what we are told. the only exception may be amazon fire devices. but i do not know yet.

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 2,158, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    jaredl45600's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    oct 2011
    Location
    hamilton ohio
    Posts
    201
    Phone
    flashed note 2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    And I must say speeds are great. I have a. Att s3. So I get lte.

    My wife still has a cricket s3 CDMA. Here are her speeds.


    I feel like we all got shafted for so long.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 104, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1



    so will i get 3g or 4g with this GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz + WCDMA 850/2100

  16. #15
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    looks like 3g. i do not see it saying LTE bands supported at all

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner