Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  1. #16
    Junior Member
    Points: 137, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Customer Since
    Soon
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1



    Ok so for me to get LTE, does my phone have to support all bands or just 1 or 2?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #17
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Phones scan for the best signal every few mins on all bands the phone is capable of. It locks on the best one then scans again. Lte gets preference over 3g. So, just one is needed but the more the better chance you can lock on lte signal where ever you go.

  4. #18
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,181, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SLC
    Posts
    10


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I have an AT&T Amazon Fire Phone (prototype) it does in fact work with a cricKet SIM (both data & phone calls) It is a locked phone and it works just fine.

  5. #19
    Member
    Points: 2,761, Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    gregm412's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Customer Since
    2009
    Location
    New Stanton, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    109
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    activate

    Can I get a galaxy s4 from verizon or att with a bad esn activated on the new cricket?

  6. #20
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    I doubt it. Since cricket is a ATT system now it probably use the bad esn database many big carriers use.

  7. #21
    Member
    Points: 1,806, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 6.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Samsung Note 3



    Hi, all.

    My wife and I are currently on the old CDMA Cricket and are looking to purchase devices from another vendor (e.g., ebay, swappa) when we switch to GSM. She's thinking of an S3, while I'm looking at a Note 3. Just have a few questions before we make the purchases.

    1. Does the phone need to be an AT&T phone. If so, locked or unlocked?
    2. If it doesn't have to be an AT&T phone (e.g., Verizon), what do we need to look for/be aware of?

    We want 4G/LTE speeds, so any advice we can get would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Jason

  8. #22
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    I think non att phones might only get 3g unless you check the gsm bands and see if some 4g bands match att bands.
    2. Unlocking? Others here can chime in.

  9. #23
    Member
    Points: 1,806, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 6.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Samsung Note 3



    So perhaps it's best that I go with an AT&T phone? If so, does locked or unlocked matter?

  10. #24
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Both my phones are non at&t (One+1 and Nexus 6) and get LTE just fine.

    sent from my One+1

  11. #25
    Member
    Points: 1,806, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 6.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Samsung Note 3



    Quote Originally Posted by RoWilJr View Post
    Both my phones are non at&t (One+1 and Nexus 6) and get LTE just fine.

    sent from my One+1
    Are your phones unlocked? If they aren't AT&T, what are they?

  12. #26
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Yes, GSM unlocked. I was an early adopter for the Oneplus One and bought my Nexus from swappa.

    sent from my One+1

  13. #27
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by RoWilJr View Post
    Yes, GSM unlocked. I was an early adopter for the Oneplus One and bought my Nexus from swappa.

    sent from my One+1
    yea i think only AT&T phones and originally unlocked global phones with the AT&T LTE bands will work. so like verizon's galaxy phones may not get LTE, but the iphone 5 from verizon will

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner