Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 499, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Customer Since
    9999
    Location
    Crestline, CA
    Posts
    5



    Using MetroPCS Samsung Galaxy S5 on Cricket

    Greetings!

    I am a new forum user. I will be moving my service from MetroPCS (T-Mobile/gsm) over to the New Cricket Wireless (gsm). I will be porting my number along with using my MetroPCS S5.

    First, the phone I will use is a Samsung S5 still SIM/subsidy locked to MetroPCS. Second, the IMEI got blocked/negative filed with Asurion (insurance) due to being a victim of a craigslist lost or stolen phone insurance claim scam.

    I need to know what I need to do to use the S5 on Cricket. Can/do I need to get a clean IMEI? Does it need to be subsidy unlocked?

    Thanks.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 499, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Customer Since
    9999
    Location
    Crestline, CA
    Posts
    5



    I want to report that I was able to network/sim/subsidy unlock the metro s5 and use it without doing anything else. there was no need to tamper with IMEI, or pay to unblacklist the phone. I was able to insert the cricket sim into the blacklisted metropcs (tmobile) s5 phone and use it without any difference from a cricket/att s5.

    I received 2 configuration sms messages from cricket moments after turning on the phone. I clicked the links that opened installation packages to update to the cricket (aio) new apn and mms configuration settings.

    I am getting full LTE data reception and speeds and all calls and sms/mms works. I installed the cricket apps, so only difference now is the startup splash screen is still metropcs. everything else works as if it is a cricket/att branded phone.

    one bonus is that I can hotspot the phone successfully. however, the wifi callling does not work

  4. #3
    Gold Member
    Points: 16,958, Level: 83
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Please post your speeds with ookla speedtest. Thanks.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 499, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Customer Since
    9999
    Location
    Crestline, CA
    Posts
    5



    I dont want to waste the data on my basic plan.

  6. #5
    Gold Member
    Points: 16,958, Level: 83
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Thats ok. Then no real 4g, probably 3g speed.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 499, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Customer Since
    9999
    Location
    Crestline, CA
    Posts
    5



    no, I am using the LTE discovery app. I am connecting to LTE on bands 4 and 17 depending on location.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 107, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 65.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Customer Since
    Nov 2016
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1



    Did you go in-store to activate the phone? Or did you activate it online?

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner