Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Tri-Band area?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SAN ANGELO
    Posts
    7



    Tri-Band area?

    So I guess I live in a tri-band area because Cricket will not activate my EVO over the phone or online so...What would you imagine the harm would be in registering it with an Austin, TX address (about 200 miles away)? Also can you complete the flash of an EVO without a cricket number? This seems strange to me that people flash thier phones without the number because working with QPST seems to require putting in the number at various times.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    If you live in Austin, TX and happen to travel to San Angelo quite often that might be accepted by Cricket.

    If you actually live in San Angelo, use a hybrid PRL to get service in that area, and you use a lot of roaming minutes/data. You might get your account suspended or migrated to some strange plan (I've seen this on occasion.). Pretty much it'd be similar to what people in Chicago, DC, etc are doing.

    Sometimes I've heard stories of people purchasing an Android phone from Cricket and then changing their phone to another at a later time...
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SAN ANGELO
    Posts
    7



    Well **** then...As for flashing, I would have to have an active account from Cricket before I can finish the flashing correct?

  5. #4
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Yes... at this point you could only prep the phone a little bit.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SAN ANGELO
    Posts
    7



    Ok so I've read some of the lit out there about triband especially in Chi...i think I can plausibly use it here but Cricket will still not activate my phone. Any suggestions on this by chance? I ended up screaming at a lady to transfer me to tech support and she summarily hung up on me. I can get everything done I believe if I could just activate the phone.

  7. #6
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    In theory one could purchase a cheap Android phone from Cricket on the 55 dollar Android plan and then change to a different phone when it arrived.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SAN ANGELO
    Posts
    7



    First of let me say that I appreciate the help and time provided by you. Secondly, would you imagine that there is any other way to accomplish an activation sans wasting money on a cheap droid? Perhaps I made a hasty decision to go with Cricket in my area although it seemed a better option than Boost. If all else fails it seems that I would be stuck either activating with an Austin address or crapping out and completely moving away from Cricket.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    If you want to use a flashed phone in an AWS market I'd just recommend going with Boost Mobile. I've heard it's easy to get a phone activated on there. You can also wait for the Huawei Glory to come out.

    It can be done like Chrisngrod mentioned, but it's done at your own risk with the chance of your account being terminated or put on different plan from excessive roaming.

  10. #9
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Boost isn't a bad choice if you don't mind the legality issues with activating an Evo on there.

    I hope the Glory does make it to production.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SAN ANGELO
    Posts
    7



    It is really looking like Boost is the way to go for me although I believe I am going to have the same issues with activation.

  12. #11
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Plan and simple you will have to have a "donor" phone and use the ESN on that and illegally place it on your Evo in order to get it to work with Boost. That's why I don't run a Boost forum.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    Plan and simple you will have to have a "donor" phone and use the ESN on that and illegally place it on your Evo in order to get it to work with Boost. That's why I don't run a Boost forum.
    This still doesn't make sense to me though. The "donor" phones are reused over and over again. If that ESN was copied to another device, the phone wouldn't be able to be reused. Also, I've seen other forums all discussion about Boost Mobile and they wouldn't allow that if it was illegal. I've tried researching this before, but I don't think I've ever finished it. I do think it's legitimate or it would be so popular on some of those other forums that don't allow illegal activity.

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SAN ANGELO
    Posts
    7



    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    This still doesn't make sense to me though. The "donor" phones are reused over and over again. If that ESN was copied to another device, the phone wouldn't be able to be reused. Also, I've seen other forums all discussion about Boost Mobile and they wouldn't allow that if it was illegal. I've tried researching this before, but I don't think I've ever finished it. I do think it's legitimate or it would be so popular on some of those other forums that don't allow illegal activity.
    2 hours later I am trying to find a way to obtain a donor phone with out shelling out a c-note. It does appear to be a really big nono to discuss such matters on most of the big forums but it seems that Boost would have a problem with registering a donor phone meid. The fact that you say that the donor phones esn could be reused makes me feel a little more comfortable about trying to nail a used incognito but wary enough to spend another couple hours forum crawling to figure it out.

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by bigsqwill View Post
    2 hours later I am trying to find a way to obtain a donor phone with out shelling out a c-note. It does appear to be a really big nono to discuss such matters on most of the big forums but it seems that Boost would have a problem with registering a donor phone meid. The fact that you say that the donor phones esn could be reused makes me feel a little more comfortable about trying to nail a used incognito but wary enough to spend another couple hours forum crawling to figure it out.
    If you go over to Howard Forums they have a thread to use a donor phone for free. Make sure you read the threads about using a Sprint phone on Boost so you know what you're doing.

  16. #15
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Thread have been closed in XDA and PPCGeeks...

    This is a quote from the latter..

    Discussion of ESN cloning is not permitted on this site because it it considered illegal. I understand that the OP is simply trying to find a cheaper (or free) way to get the EVO to work with Boost, but let's all tread carefully. I would hate to have to close this thread down.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. what can i do if my evo is a nun tri band phone
    By sergiocazares1 in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-13-2011, 10:42 AM
  2. Flashing and Tri-Band areas....
    By wthigon in forum General Phone Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 09:45 AM
  3. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 01:08 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 10:46 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 03:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner