Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Bad esn

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    9



    Bad esn

    If the phone originally has a bad ESN when purchased can you root and flash it to a different carrier and it will actually work?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    If a Verizon or Sprint phone has a bad ESN it will work on Cricket because they don't share ESN databases.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,592, Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    wthigon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 38
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Laredo, TX
    Posts
    786
    Phone
    Admire 2 64GB



    Since now Cricket offers nationwide service, will those databases be shared now?

  5. #4
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Quote Originally Posted by harryd2012 View Post
    If the phone originally has a bad ESN when purchased can you root and flash it to a different carrier and it will actually work?
    You actually don't have to even root it many times. We have tutorials and they pretty much show what needs to be done. We also flash some phones ourselves now.

    Short answer is yes though for most devices.

    Quote Originally Posted by wthigon View Post
    Since now Cricket offers nationwide service, will those databases be shared now?
    They will still fall under Cricket's service so they are authenticated based on Cricket's database only.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  6. #5
    Banned
    Points: 1,293, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Dayton,Oh
    Posts
    172
    Phone
    Droid Bionic



    Its still always nice to have the phone rooted just to have complete control over the phone. Plus the benifits of rooting are good also so I don't see why you wouldn't want it done.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    9



    Do you know if the flashing for bad ESN works from Verizon to boost or sprint to boost?

  8. #7
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    I always like root when it's possible. Anyways....

    Flashing to Boost requires donor phones which is web lingo for I'm about to do something illegal and change the phone's ESN. I'm going to put the ESN that was originally on a Boost phone on another phone which is...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandbutt_brknlaw1.jpg 
Views:	1468 
Size:	72.5 KB 
ID:	718

    and from Office Space...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pound-me-in-the-ass-prison1.jpg 
Views:	4388 
Size:	40.1 KB 
ID:	719 22721254_125x125.png

    Maybe not that bad... but you get the point. Just not worth it in my opinion. That's why I have the noisy bug company.


    This is all based on what I've heard. Take it with a grain of salt if you wish.
    Last edited by Chris Rodriguez; 09-05-2011 at 11:49 AM.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  9. #8
    Banned
    Points: 1,293, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Dayton,Oh
    Posts
    172
    Phone
    Droid Bionic



    You get caught cloning a phone to boost its a federal offence so I would think twice about that. Even owning it is illegal so I heard

  10. #9
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    I have done some research on this topic a while back and it is not necessarily illegal if the other phone is not in use (basically destroyed); however, it is not a good idea to alter serial numbers even if there are gray areas in the law.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    9



    Alright thank you. Also when flashing do you need cdma ws or can you just use qpst?

  12. #11
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    It all depends on the phone. Just check our tutorials out.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 295, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    3



    Im in the same situation... OK here Is the situation. My friend has an evo 4g with a bad esn number..now what he wants to do is flash the evo over to cricket. I read somewhere u can flash the evo over to cricket is that right? And what about the bad esn? Hopefully someone can give me some suggestions and point me in the right dirrection

  14. #13
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    You've been posting in the tutorial thread. You've PMed me.

    Same post in different locations. There's a search. We are essentially a library. Go find the books.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  15. #14
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by Shadyraver View Post
    Im in the same situation... OK here Is the situation. My friend has an evo 4g with a bad esn number..now what he wants to do is flash the evo over to cricket. I read somewhere u can flash the evo over to cricket is that right? And what about the bad esn? Hopefully someone can give me some suggestions and point me in the right dirrection
    and if you are in Philly, which is a triband market, be ready experiment with prls for data to work.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner