Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 226, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    TruXter's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Customer Since
    2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9



    Bionic on Cricket is flashed, sick of hitting "install later"

    I paid to get the bionic flashed. and it works fine.
    Except ... I keep getting the notice to update the o/s... and I know better

    how can I make that notice go away? sick of hitting "install later".


    Android version 4.0.4

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Block them. Are you rooted?

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 226, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    TruXter's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Customer Since
    2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9



    I don't think I am. where would check to see if I can block them ?

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 6,229, Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    140



    Depending on where you got it flashed they may warranty there work. Some of the places will even do the upgrade for you and re-flash the device at no charge. You could call them and ask them.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Download a "root checker" app

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 226, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    TruXter's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Customer Since
    2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9



    before I install something, can you tell me where to look? like settings or something?

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    of no apparent help
    Last edited by Mr.E; 05-01-2013 at 09:06 AM.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 226, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    TruXter's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Customer Since
    2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9



    That is terrible advice,because it will reset to verizon.


    but thanks for trying.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    Terrible advice

    useless information
    Last edited by Mr.E; 05-01-2013 at 09:06 AM.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    I personally would always take Mr.E's advice. Hes a smart man.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    I am not smart, just have been down this road and I answer questions like this on a day to day basis. More of a memory thing

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 226, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    TruXter's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Customer Since
    2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9



    Simple question I have is where to check and see if I can disable it.
    This of course is to do a simple test to find 2 things. one.. am I rooted? two can I make the notice go away.

    Under the theory of Rita May Brown, "insanity is doing the same thing while expecting a different result", I could save myself from making a mistake of rooting the phone improperly if the phone is already rooted and yes I have had a successful root and flash on my own, and I have bricked. that is why I decided to let Cricket handle the issue.

    I understand that you have experience.
    My roommate and I took our phones (I didnt want to get into a life story but now it is appropriate.) to the cricket store a week apart.
    she had hers flashed. all went fine. she did the update (which is the phone trying to fix it's self back to Verizon). next day we were in the cricket store getting them to reflash the phone to cricket. they told us that next time it would cost, and advised us not to do the update again.

    I don't claim to be the brightest guy, but I do learn well.. especially from experience.

    I see that this thread has taken off wrong and most likely will not solve my issue.
    so I have to run to another forum to get the update notice disabled. Just a simple "hey, chick in the *.*" would be help. but okay.

    Take care all.
    Last edited by TruXter; 04-30-2013 at 10:03 PM.

  14. #13
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    Your request for a hand walked guide to operating your device sounds like so much wasted effort, update and it goes away plain and simple. You like to quote stuff that's nice. I got one for you since you take the guy at the store's word for gospel.......... Boy, I bet you'd stick your head in fire if I told ya you could see Hell. - Otis

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 226, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    TruXter's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Customer Since
    2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9



    Again. Not out to make you look foolish or argue with you.
    I told you I have witnessed someone do the update, and this update reset their phone. Hell even before I changed mine to Cricket I checked for an update. No update available. I did this to make sure I know what the update is because I saw her (my roommate) phone get unflashed from the update. As soon as mine was flashed.... Update notices.

    I do apologize if my attempt at taking the safest route has upset you and put such a burden on you. but you will just have to get over this.

    and again, thank you for your attempt at helping, even though I did find it very unhelpful and a bit uninformed.

    I have since posted this on another forum and found the solution. It turns out the phone is in super user mode and the disable was just a couple clicks away.

    I will not post the solution here, because it seems you guys do not want it made available for users who get their phones flashed by "cricket techs". So... I will keep it that way for you.

    May you enjoy your stay in this forum.
    Last edited by TruXter; 05-01-2013 at 07:49 AM.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner