Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 745, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16



    Do I need to end contract first?

    I'm with sprint and I'm 9 months into my contract and for the money I'm paying its just not worth it. I'm just gonna not pay the bill. But in a week or so I plan to flash to cricket, do I have to pay an early termination fee with sprint first? Or can I still flash while under contract?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    once you port it over it will cancel your contract with sprint and they will bill you the etf. Do not cancel first or you will lose your number.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 745, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16



    Quote Originally Posted by captainkirks View Post
    once you port it over it will cancel your contract with sprint and they will bill you the etf. Do not cancel first or you will lose your number.
    Thanks man

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 130, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 5.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    Aug 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    10



    They will still charge you for your sprint bill until you end it. Flashing the phone just keeps it from working on Sprint.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    They can not keep charging cause the number is ported. There is no number to bill. Just the last month and etf

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 130, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 5.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    Aug 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    10



    I used to be on Sprint when you sign the contract it does not matter whether you port it or throw the phone away. They want their years worth of payment paid or a bonus that you agreed to pay if you terminated teh contract. Even if the phone gets crushed by a car you owe the money you signed a contract.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    Thats what the ETF is, I use to have 16 sprint stores before cricket. In your contract you agree to a ETF fee if you break the contract. When you port your number you break your contract and are billed the ETF.

    ETF= early termination fee

    Here it is at sprint website

    Early Termination Fee





  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,592, Level: 53
    Overall activity: 0%
    wthigon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 38
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Laredo, TX
    Posts
    786
    Phone
    Admire 2 64GB



    You used to have 16 sprint stores.....

    Sent from my Xperia Play using Tapatalk 3

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    Quote Originally Posted by wthigon View Post
    You used to have 16 sprint stores.....

    Sent from my Xperia Play using Tapatalk 3
    Yes with a partner, started to go downhill with the merger with nextel. Good thing is cricket came right when we got out of sprint.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 423, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    18



    Filed a BBB complaint with Sprint and got a call from corporate, problems with reception in my area. They ended up letting me out of my contract and I was about the same as you, 9 months into it. The contract you sign is for them to give you a "service". If they fail in that regard, then they are not holding up their end of the contract period. You could also file a complaint with the FCC too. I suggest staying with Sprint, file a complaint with BBB at their website and file a complaint with the FCC. When you get a call from corporate, ask to be let out of your contract and that they are not holding up their end of the contract. Detail every little dropped call, dropped signal, very weak signal, any texting/mms issues, everything you can think of that you had to put up with. In the end, they will let you out of your contract.

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    Not sure if filing fake complaints is the best thing since the FCC is from the government. OP did not complain about the services just the price was high and cricket has a better deal.

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 423, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    18



    Ohh I think he did, for the money he is paying, it just isn't worth it. I was of the same thought when I was with Sprint: Paying a premium for premium service but not getting that.

    And who said about filing fake FCC complaints? really?

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 130, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 5.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    Aug 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    10



    I told Sprint off years ago when they blocked a 911 call. I needed a hospital cause I was bleeding all over the place and could only drive one handed. They said I was over my roaming minutes. I drove 120 miles to get to the nearest hospital I knew of and all the time arguing. Well I was a telecom supervisor and quoted to the last agent, the FCC rules for 911, and she let the call go through. The next day I filed with the FCC and a month later actually was in court with the local Sprint corporate office and they agreed to break the contract and pay me for my pain and suffering. I switched to Verizon until the job was done and then signed up with Cricket.

    You can break the contracts without paying but it better be good.

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 7,897, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    captainkirks's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 72
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Madera, Calif
    Posts
    763



    Quote Originally Posted by sandman View Post
    Ohh I think he did, for the money he is paying, it just isn't worth it. I was of the same thought when I was with Sprint: Paying a premium for premium service but not getting that.

    And who said about filing fake FCC complaints? really?
    I think that would be a judgement call on. How would you define premium services? I can see no services but not premium services. Not sure how you would determined premium service. Plus if the services is the trouble lets hope the OP is not going to have to roam since cricket roams on sprint.

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 130, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 5.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    Aug 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    10



    Cricket roams on more than Sprint. They look at the billing number for roaming charges not the name. So he would be free to roam on Sprint.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner