Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    [UPDATED]Flashing a new PRL onto a Paygo phone.

    Can this be done? If so to what benefit?

    I want to be able to turn "Roming On" on my Score.
    According to the Network Signal Info app from the Market it says Roaming Off.

    It would be nice to be able to use other towers even if I have to enter a credit card to do this.

    thanks for any information you provide.
    Last edited by nobreak1970; 01-18-2012 at 06:41 PM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Since roaming isn't available on PAYGo, I'm guessing you want access to the "American Roaming Network". I used to receive that message when a phone wasn't activated. They would then ask for a credit card to let the call go through. I don't know if that service is still available, and I don't know how to set it up on an activated phone..

    Maybe somebody else can reply with some thoughts.

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    I would like to know if it's possible for my paygo phone to be "programmed/flashed" to use non-sprint towers to roam on.
    I know it would be an experiment. I'm willing if you all are.

    ---------- Post added at 12:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:59 AM ----------

    Just to clarify I'm talking about Talk/Text roaming.
    Basically I want to get a signal and roam outside of Sprint's netork, MetroPCS or something.
    Is this possible?

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    UPDATE: I have tried various PRL's and they work ok...

    41012 and 45513 give good cell signal but only 1x data.

    I am now trying at Sprint PRL 60680 and it kicks ass signal wise with a constant 4 bars where I had only 1 or 2 before and 3g data.
    I also tried 45722 and got 3g and acceptable signal. The default PRL for the new Best Buy nationwide paygo phones is 4634.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Please keep us up to date on your experiment.

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    Quick update: so far so good. At my house where I used to get 0-2 bars I now get 2-4 bars.

    ---------- Post added at 11:10 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:07 AM ----------

    I also roamed for like 1 minute (talk roam) but not sure who I roamed with. Got a roaming "triangle" up on my notif. bar.

    ---------- Post added at 11:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:10 AM ----------

    I'm in southern Alabama if anyone has another PRL they think might work.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by nobreak1970 View Post
    Quick update: so far so good. At my house where I used to get 0-2 bars I now get 2-4 bars.

    ---------- Post added at 11:10 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:07 AM ----------

    I also roamed for like 1 minute (talk roam) but not sure who I roamed with. Got a roaming "triangle" up on my notif. bar.

    ---------- Post added at 11:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:10 AM ----------

    I'm in southern Alabama if anyone has another PRL they think might work.
    I have no idea what network you're on.. You were initially on Cricket's (or Sprint's if you're in the Nationwide PAYGo area). But now you're getting a better signal, which should mean you're on another network. And, on top of that, you started roaming, which my guess means you were on Verizon's network.. I'm not sure, just guessing here.

    Maybe somebody else can reply with more information.

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    Yeah, not sure...but according the Network Signal Info app I'm on Cricket but roaming went to the on state a couple of times here and there. I must have been boarderline roaming or something. There is absolutely no roaming plan with the nationwide Paygo phones. I may have circumvented this perhaps.

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    UPDATE:

    I took my phone to an area where I know Cricket/sprint has no signal...and my phone switched into roaming mode and was on the Verizon network. Now remember the phone is flashed the Sprint 60680 PRL here otherwise the paygo PRL wouldn't even allow me to contact another roaming network.
    Anyway, I could not make a call nor send a text as expected. Is there any way of getting roaming to work that I can actually use? I know I can't trick the networks.
    I've heard of the American Roaming Network but that seems to be for deactivated phones only.
    Isn't there an 800 number you can call to use a credit card to purchase general roaming?

    Not sure if I'm making sense at this point.
    Last edited by nobreak1970; 01-23-2012 at 09:33 AM.

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    UPDATE:

    I just flashed Cricket's own 42700 PRL and for signal it works great.

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    UPDATE: The Cricket Nationwide (non-Paygo) 42700 PRL is awesome for signal str. pretty much a constant 4 bars averaging around -70db all over town.
    My wife's phone using the default Paygo Nationwide prl of 4634 has a weird pattern of connectivity.
    Her signal looks like the teeth of a carved pumpkin....up for a few, then down for a few, and so on very steadily. (a flux between -90db to -75db)

    Now this is comparing the Samsung Vitality's radio vs my Score's radio but it seems like a good test.
    I want to flash her phone with this same prl but CDMA Workshop seems to not work with the Vitality.

    Learning new stuff every day.
    Last edited by nobreak1970; 01-23-2012 at 01:15 PM.

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by nobreak1970 View Post
    UPDATE: The Cricket Nationwide (non-Paygo) 42700 PRL is awesome for signal str. pretty much a constant 4 bars averaging around -70db all over town.
    My wife's phone using the default Paygo Nationwide prl of 4634 has a weird pattern of connectivity.
    Her signal looks like the teeth of a carved pumpkin....up for a few, then down for a few, and so on very steadily. (a flux between -90db to -75db)

    Now this is comparing the Samsung Vitality's radio vs my Score's radio but it seems like a good test.
    I want to flash her phone with this same prl but CDMA Workshop seems to not work with the Vitality.

    Learning new stuff every day.
    Well, maybe I should consider changing my PRL then.

    I always thought for regular Cricket devices the latest PRL available via. *228 would be the best. I guess not..

    Then again you're on the PAYGo plan, so you're getting a different PRL than what I would get.

    Thanks for all of the updates!

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    Remember I am by no means anything but a NOOB here doing this, just reporting my results.

    DISCLAIMER: do at your own risk...I am not responsible for damage to your device/phone.

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 675, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    60
    Phone
    ZTE Score



    UPDATE: The Hybrid 47513 give me 4 bars everywhere....this is amazing!!!

  16. #15
    Member
    Points: 827, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Fresno County , California
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC XT875



    Quote Originally Posted by nobreak1970 View Post
    UPDATE: The Hybrid 47513 give me 4 bars everywhere....this is amazing!!!
    Can you give me a link to the Hybrid 47513 PRL please.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner