Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: bad esn

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 231, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    fairborn, ohio
    Posts
    5



    bad esn

    i have a ascend and cant get service to it i have been told it has a bad esn what can i do to fix this or how do i go about changing the esn i have a bb strom i can take the esn from just dont know how to go about changing it can anyone help

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Member
    Points: 2,081, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Customer Since
    notanymor
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    T-Mobile GS5



    well, normally I would say it doesn't matter if the esn is bad, but that is a cricket phone. I would have the forum admins check out the esn to see if it is actually bad, or check it here
    CheckESNFree.com - The worlds only free instant online ESN checker!




    Just some additional information=
    Electronic serial number - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia




    In other words ESN numbers are electronic serial numbers, they are illegal to change. Just like it is illegal to change the VIN on a car.




  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 231, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    fairborn, ohio
    Posts
    5



    well i tried changing service to the phone over the phone and they said i would have to take it to a store and thats when they said it was a bad esn and told me about changing the esn but the thing is i put the phone together from a few different phone and i forgot which back when to the phone so im not sure of the meid and also not sure of the esn isnt there away to get this information off the phone but putting in a code or something

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 2,081, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Customer Since
    notanymor
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    T-Mobile GS5



    Did some searching and found this:

    Manual Programming Instructions:
    1. Turn on your phone using the power button. While in the
    programming mode the [DONE] key is used to save, the
    [BACK] key to exit without saving.
    2. Enter ##626* (##NAM*) for NAM Programming
    3. You will be prompted to ENTER SUBSIDY CODE
    4. Enter 333333 (3 six times) and press [OK].

    Your ESN should be listed there, let me know if it's not (you should then be able to use the ESN checker or have one of the forum admins take a look)
    Last edited by Pestelence; 03-03-2012 at 09:39 PM.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 231, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    fairborn, ohio
    Posts
    5



    that works on my score but not on the ascend the ascend im trying to change service to is running CyanogenMod 7the stock phone under device info it has the esn listed the one with the rom doesnt show it just the meid and i think its the hex one cause it has letters in it im thinking i might have to go back to stock change service then put the rom on it

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 2,081, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Customer Since
    notanymor
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    T-Mobile GS5



    nope, you don't - you can convert them - check out this thread - http://www.cricketusers.com/flashing...er-online.html

    Convert it and compare with the one on the back, if it's different you might just be gtg. Either way I would use the ESN checker on it, just to be sure. If it reports bad, I would still check with the Forum Admins to see if it's really bad or not
    Last edited by Pestelence; 03-03-2012 at 10:23 PM.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 231, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    fairborn, ohio
    Posts
    5



    did all that and says number is invalid

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 2,081, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Customer Since
    notanymor
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    T-Mobile GS5



    I would check with the forum admins or cricket to make sure it's invalid

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner