Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    915tuscani's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hell Paso, TX
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1



    What will happin if Verizon update is done over WIFI

    Whats up guys a i had a question . I have a Droid 1 full flashed running the Bugless Beats rom and on 2.2. From time to time i get the verizon update to be perform. Ive been wanting to do the update, but im afraid that it will revert the phone back to verizon. I just saw a video on the youtube section, Chris was doing the sprint update on the moto kprt and it was fine after update. Am i able to do the same without messing up the flash. Any advice on this or users have done this, can u share how it went.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    The update, updates the rom. Flashed phones are different. Yes you can update with no problem BUT your on a custom ROM so... that might be a problem.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Verizon updates generally break the flash.
    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    915tuscani's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hell Paso, TX
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1



    Thanks for your replys. Anybody else would like to share

  6. #5
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Had i let the verizon OTA update install on my rooted Dinc, i probably would have lost root as well as probably messing up the custon rom i am using. I googled how to disable the OTA update and turn off the nagging update notice.

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    915tuscani's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hell Paso, TX
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1



    Do you mind sharin the steps

  8. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    That was months ago and i dont remember. You will need to google it yourself unless another here can post the steps.

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    915tuscani's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hell Paso, TX
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1



    Does anybody else have anythhng to ad, on this topic

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 159, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SW Houston, TX
    Posts
    1



    I found this over on android forums, but I cannot vouch for it's reliability.

    To turn OFF future OTA updates, there is a file in the /system/etc/security folder. The file is named "otacerts.zip". Rename it "otacerts.zip.bak", or whatever you want. That will prevent future updates.

    You can change that filename using ADB, the root explorer app, or a terminal emulator app of choice right on your DROID. I use root explorer because it is easy and fast.
    It's for 2.0.1, but i would try it either way.

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 1,066, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    915tuscani's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hell Paso, TX
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid 1



    Koo thanks man i just did the steps. Hopfully it'll work, will let you kno if it worked out. Thanks again

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 2,081, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Customer Since
    notanymor
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    T-Mobile GS5



    When I wanted to stay rooted on my droid X, and stay on my current firmware, I just downloaded "AntTek app manager" and froze the "Updater", the updater is only for updating the rom. You can no longer check for updates of the stock rom, but big deal.

    This is not tied to the updater for apps.

    So... Done and Done

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner