Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2



    Cricket to droid x

    I just bought a droid x off a guy on craigslist...it is already flashed to cricket. When i went to activate it the guy said i need to re-flash the phone plus activation. Costing upwards of $50. Is this true? Can i do any of itmyself? For free? Please any advice appreciated...i have the phone and a charger, totally ignorant regarding android phones as this will be my first. Thanks in advance...if anyone knows how to activate myself (for free) and or if i have to re-flash or not. Just to repeat myself...

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 2,250, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    valentinoh's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Antonio,TX
    Posts
    378
    Phone
    DroidX Apex rom2.0



    Quote Originally Posted by Imdana View Post
    I just bought a droid x off a guy on craigslist...it is already flashed to cricket. When i went to activate it the guy said i need to re-flash the phone plus activation. Costing upwards of $50. Is this true? Can i do any of itmyself? For free? Please any advice appreciated...i have the phone and a charger, totally ignorant regarding android phones as this will be my first. Thanks in advance...if anyone knows how to activate myself (for free) and or if i have to re-flash or not. Just to repeat myself...
    you can flash it yourself...if you have the will power and not scares to go through all the steps lol

    http://www.cricketusers.com/verizon-...-internet.html

  4. #3
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    Try hooking it up on the $55 plan, a "reflash" shouldn't be necessary. Open Dialer > ##PROGRAM > user activation > enter MDN, MIN, & SID, reboot, everything SHOULD work, besides MMS.

    The only reason it would be necessary to reflash is if the NV items are stored with VZW's info. If it was previously flashed, they should be w/ CRKT's info.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 2,250, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    valentinoh's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 26
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Antonio,TX
    Posts
    378
    Phone
    DroidX Apex rom2.0



    Quote Originally Posted by mraabhimself View Post
    Try hooking it up on the $55 plan, a "reflash" shouldn't be necessary. Open Dialer > ##PROGRAM > user activation > enter MDN, MIN, & SID, reboot, everything SHOULD work, besides MMS.

    The only reason it would be necessary to reflash is if the NV items are stored with VZW's info. If it was previously flashed, they should be w/ CRKT's info.
    so true and easy, you are the man mraab... should you also mention the spc code in the post? incase Imdana doesnt know it?

  6. #5
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    Very true, upon punching ##PROGRAM (##7764726 *send*), it will ask for a SPC code. Anyway, punch in 000000, and it will let you right in.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    DROID X



    this is the first time i've ever used a flashed phone.

    I bought a used droid x had it flashed. the phone was running 2.2.
    after the flash I played around with the phone features, went to "about this phone>system updates" and next thing i know i'm unintentionally updating to gingerbread. phone seems to be working fine... didn't really use the phone under 2.2 other than to test phone/web/text capabilities.

    is that something I shouldn't have done??... sorry for the n00b question.
    Last edited by sr1981; 06-21-2011 at 09:29 PM.

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 2,948, Level: 33
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    bigshotrob22's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    131
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by sr1981 View Post
    this is the first time i've ever used a flashed phone.

    I bought a used droid x had it flashed. the phone was running 2.2.
    after the flash I played around with the phone features, went to "about this phone>system updates" and next thing i know i'm unintentionally updating to gingerbread. phone seems to be working fine... didn't really use the phone under 2.2 other than to test phone/web/text capabilities.

    is that something I shouldn't have done??... sorry for the n00b question.
    If you took the OTA update then you lost root.


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    DROID X



    really???...... even though I can still use all functions.

    any suggestions

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 2,948, Level: 33
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    bigshotrob22's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    131
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by sr1981 View Post
    really???...... even though I can still use all functions.

    any suggestions

    Do you have superuser access?
    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    DROID X



    not sure..... how do I know if I do.

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 2,948, Level: 33
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    bigshotrob22's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    131
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by sr1981 View Post
    not sure..... how do I know if I do.
    See if you have superuser app n the app drawer


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    DROID X



    an app... don't have it, but I can d/l from market.

    would this be the one


    Superuser | AppBrain Android Market




    now just for the record... not too sure that my phone is rooted, all I had done to it was a full flash.


  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 2,948, Level: 33
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    bigshotrob22's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    131
    Phone
    Droid X



    Quote Originally Posted by sr1981 View Post
    an app... don't have it, but I can d/l from market.

    would this be the one


    Superuser | AppBrain Android Market




    now just for the record... not too sure that my phone is rooted, all I had done to it was a full flash.
    That's the app. If you took the OTA gingerbread then you definately dont have root and I don't think its rootable.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk


  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    DROID X



    well not to interested in rooting at the moment... basically my question was if the ota update could affect performance... again, phone seems to work just fine but looses signal or goes into 1x when seconds before it had full bars and 3g.

    thanks for your help bigshotrob22

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 125, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2



    I also bought a flashed droid x 2.2 on cragslist and i connected it to cricket's $45 plan for talk/text/web but i figured that my internet was not working. should I upgrade to the $55 plan in order for the internet to work? I am not sure if it was fully flashed so i tried to reflash it again but I suck lol. please help

    ---------- Post added at 08:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 PM ----------

    oh and my phone does have superuser and it is rooted!

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Droid 2 GINGERBREAD APN Settings for MMS (Cricket)
    By admin in forum Verizon Motorola Droid 2 (a955)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-07-2013, 12:37 PM
  2. Droid X GINGERBREAD APN Settings for MMS (Cricket)
    By admin in forum Verizon Motorola Droid X
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-19-2012, 12:11 AM
  3. Droid 2 cricket web issues
    By indk67k in forum Verizon Motorola Droid 2 (a955)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 08:34 PM
  4. Droid 2 cricket web issues
    By indk67k in forum Cricket Network Issues and Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2011, 06:10 AM
  5. Droid 2 Fully Flashed to Cricket
    By Chris Rodriguez in forum For Sale (Cricket related)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2011, 08:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner