Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 2,463, Level: 30
    Overall activity: 24.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 30
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Customer Since
    May 2011
    Location
    Meridian, ID
    Posts
    118
    Phone
    Droid Razr


    1 out of 3 members liked this post.

    Flash Stock 2.3.3 to Cricket w/ Talk, txt, web, mms. - No root needed $55 plan

    Okay, I've seen a lot of confusion and other problems for flashing the Droid X with gingerbread for cricket. It caused me massive headaches last night and after 4 hours and a lot of headache I realized that it can be done in about 10 minutes, with no root. Although root is nice to remove all the vzw stuff.

    So, if you are at the "stock point" here is what you do.

    Load the PRL for cricket (I used CDMA Workshop for this). You will need to have USB Debugging on and the motorola drivers installed. See the other flash topic about creating the port, etc...

    Once the PRL is loaded:
    Dial *228 - After this all settings should (and have for me every time) been correct and Talk, TXT, Data all work flawlessly.

    Now the MMS Won't work and this is where it gets sticky, but here is how I got it to work:

    First, I installed APN Backup/restore and Anycut. You do need both.

    First, go into APN Backup / Restore and delete all APN's.

    The create a shorcut using anycut for APNs.

    Create a new APN Called "Cricket"
    APN = internet
    proxy = blank (not set)
    port = blank (not set)
    username = xxxxxxxxx@mycricket.com (replace xxx with your number)
    password = cricket
    server = wap.mycricket.com
    mmsc =
    http://mms.mycricket.com/servlets/mss



    mms proxy = blank (not set)
    mms port = 8080
    mcc = 310
    mnc = 004
    authentication type = pap or chap
    apn type = default,mms,dun

    Ok, from here I saved this apn and then restarted the phone.

    Go back into the apns and then set as default (it will have a green circle on the right when it is set)

    From here then you need to change phone programming settings

    dial ##program

    spc is 000000 (6 zeros)

    go to sms/mms settings
    mml server name should be = wap.mycricket.com
    address for upload should be 111111 (6 ones)
    max size should be 1024000

    Back out and again restart phone


    Thanks to all the people who have made posts here and at other forums that I scavenged last night figuring this out. And thanks to the support guys on here that I spoke with to bounce things off of.


  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    This line should actually be mmsc =
    http://mms.mycricket.com/servlets/m


    ms




    ** Don't PM if you need something. I will NOT respond**
    Start a thread and let the whole forum benefit form your questions and the answers we provide.

    Supporting members get free ESN changes, along with more PMs, better signatures/avatars, and more!

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 2,463, Level: 30
    Overall activity: 24.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 30
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Customer Since
    May 2011
    Location
    Meridian, ID
    Posts
    118
    Phone
    Droid Razr



    oops. Yeah that was a typo on my part. Either way I reset my phone to factory default this morning (sbf) so I could update to .605. Updated, then reset again.

    Total time to flash the phone from factory default state:

    7 minutes. I timed it.

    That is using this method and providing you have wifi to download the apps. If you are like me and have a lot of apps attached to your google acct the speed to download the apn apps can be slow using cricket wireless.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5



    question

    Hi there,

    Quote Originally Posted by gsdreams View Post
    Load the PRL for cricket (I used CDMA Workshop for this) ... See the other flash topic about creating the port, etc... Once the PRL is loaded:
    Just trying to understand how this all works. So, do you mean follow the main stickied guide up to this part: "15) You may now close CDMA Workshop 2.7 and open QPST" - except not open QPST, and then follow your procedure above? Or do you do everything down to: "25) MMS" and just replace the MMS instructions with your procedure?

    I'm having a little trouble understanding what each and every step does (phone newb here), but I think I have the gist. Just trying to figure out which section of the guide still gets down versus replacing it with your new procedure?

    Thank you!

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 2,463, Level: 30
    Overall activity: 24.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 30
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Customer Since
    May 2011
    Location
    Meridian, ID
    Posts
    118
    Phone
    Droid Razr



    No, it's even quicker than that. Do this:

    ") You should have found and installed CDMA Workshop 2.7
    6) In HW Virtual Serial Port:

    1. Boot the phone up regularly without the cable attached. There is no special button to press while booting.
    2. Connect the phone to the PC with a USB data cable.
    3. Slide down the notification bar and click on USB Connection row.
    4. Make sure the phone is set to PC Mode
    5. If you have the Android SDK kit on the PC the drivers should install automatically, or be pulled from the phone. If not there are some attached to this post.
    6. Now Download and Install HW Virtual Serial Port CLICK HERE
    7. Once you have it downloaded and installed open it up.
    8. Click the Login button. The password should automatically be filled in and click OK.
    9. Go to the Settings tab and make sure that NVT Enabled is unchecked and go back to the Virtual Serial Port tab.
    10. To be safe, pick a COM port above 8.
    11. Make sure the IP Address field reads 192.168.16.2 and the Port field reads 11008
    12. Click the Create COM button and after a few moments you should now have successfully created a COM port for your Droid X."

    Then this:


    "7) Open up CDMA Workshop 2.7
    8) Under COM Settings (AT Mode) select the COM port you setup from the tutorial and then click the connect button. If it successfully connected it will say Connected to COM15 port successfully. on the bottom (may not say COM15, thats just the port I used.)
    9) Go to the Security tab and under SPC there will be an empty box. Enter 000000 then click the SPC button and Send. It will then popup saying SPC is correct. Phone unlocked.
    10) Now go to the Other tab. Under PRL click Write and browse to where you put that PRL from earlier."

    If you have already done an ESN swap with Cricket a *228 at this point will load all appropriate settings for the $55 plan (if you are on that plan).

    Then just doe the MMS as listed above.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 246, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2



    gsdreams, I always have to do a couple additional steps besides loading PRL and doing a *228 to get data working. I tried it your way but data never works until I do all the CDMA Workshop steps of the standard Cricket flash. In CDMA Workshop, in addition to loading the PRL, I still have to enter my MIN and MDN as well as loading NV Items. Once I do that I'm good to go, then I just setup the APN for MMS.

    You're right though, doing a *228 lets you skip all the QPST steps which saves a LOT of time. I've been playing around with different ROMs for the past couple weeks, which means lots of SBFs. It's nice to be able to do the Cricket flash fairly quickly now. Thanks!

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,452, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    119
    Phone
    Droid Razr



    Thanks for this!!! works great!!!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 886, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    droid 2



    this worked flawlessly did not even need to add anycut, apn backup and restore, clockwork, bootstrap,z4 , none of that ,
    talk text and pics work just fine and also mms
    Last edited by Zozomale; 11-20-2011 at 01:50 AM. Reason: additional info

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 292, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2



    confused

    im confused about this part: "dial ##program" where do I do this? on the phone?

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 235, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    El Paso, texas
    Posts
    11



    A bit confused

    I think I did the settings with the typo.. It would be nice to have all the steps from started to finish from one person

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,330, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    avillal87's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laredo, Texas
    Posts
    642
    Phone
    3VO



    Quote Originally Posted by NCMNCS View Post
    I think I did the settings with the typo.. It would be nice to have all the steps from started to finish from one person
    Which step r u stuck on

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 728, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    2



    Ok I had the MMS working until recently. I can still recieve pictures but now wall the sudden it wont send. I just did your walkthrough here and still nothing is there something Im missing.

    Im using a droid X 2.3.3 No root.

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 118, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 13.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    kettering ohio
    Posts
    1



    ok, i went thru both tutorials and phone txt etc working great..question is i seen nowhere to name the file for one. i did try to make one i put everything you said to type in
    APN = internet
    proxy = blank (not set)
    port = blank (not set)
    username = xxxxxxxxx@mycricket.com (replace xxx with your number)
    password = cricket
    server =
    wap.mycricket.com



    mmsc =
    http://mms.mycricket.com/servlets/mss



    mms proxy = blank (not set)
    mms port = 8080
    mcc = 310
    mnc = 004
    authentication type = pap or chap
    apn type = default,mms,dun

    in the data section..theres 3 windows..restarted the phone and touched the shortcut and says not installed, so i go to anycut and hit edit and all i get is a grey screen..where do i "go to my apns" after i reboot?
    also can you just run the info i typed in together, seperated by spaces? if i type it in lines the way you showed the files so long i cant get down to the ok button to save it.


    ---------- Post added at 06:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:34 PM ----------

    im no expert, but ive read that if you reduce your pic quality it makes the mms work..maybe try that?




  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,403, Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    154-4bdu114h's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,031
    Phone
    iPhone 4



    This method does not seem to EVER work for me anymore.. It always use to. Yes, the phones are on 2.3...

    No matter what I try with these phones I never get 3G anymore..

    Anyone have any ideas wtf is going on?

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner