Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 221, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Todd Richmond's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid Eris



    Exclamation Please Help. My Eris won't Root !



    Hi,


    I'm trying to learn more about Rooting/Flashing. I am a certified CIS / I.T. major, so I know a good little bit of/about programming.

    Anyways, so I have my first Droid (HTC Eris from Verizon) and have spent almost a week trying to "Root" this thing (yes, I do understand what it means, finally

    I have noticed that there are 2 ways (this way[one-click APK], and the Unrevoked method). I have tried the one-click method waaaaay to many times [obviously] because it is getting me nowhere. I have tried "booting into recovery holding volume up" I can't count how many times and/or different ways. It has become extremely frustrating so I have decided to do the less-frustrating thing and finally ask for help.

    I also tried the other method, with no avail. I just can't get my PC [HP pavilion Elite running WIN 7 x64, Ultimate] to read the USB when the phone is plugged-in. I have tried both ways and just can't figure it.


    Please tell me what I'm doing wrong,
    Thanks,
    Todd R.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,403, Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    154-4bdu114h's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,031
    Phone
    iPhone 4



    Did you purchase the phone new?

    Did you download and install the drivers?

    Did you try another data cable??

    What version of android is it on?

  4. #3
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Download (to your phone's SD card) both files attached to this post. Get Astro file manager from the market or 4shared.com. Allow unknown sources on the phone. Go to astro. First run z4root (turn on usb debugging as well). It will freeze for like 1 minute. Take the battery out, put it back in superuser will be there. Then run the erisone file. Click root device. Turn off the phone. Turn back on. This will give you recovery. Works on the latest update.

    And you don't really need a pc for that. Aside from downloading those files to SD.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 221, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Todd Richmond's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid Eris



    Awesome replies, I am working on it now!

    I will update with my results, ASAP



    Thanks again,

    Todd R.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 221, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Todd Richmond's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid Eris



    @ 154-4bdu114h

    Did you purchase the phone new?

    No. It was bought on e-bay (with a clean ESN)



    Did you download and install the drivers?

    What drivers? (I don't think so)



    Did you try another data cable??

    Don't have one (but that is a good idea).



    What version of android is it on?

    2.1

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,403, Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    154-4bdu114h's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,031
    Phone
    iPhone 4



    Make sure its in debugging mode

    Sent from my SCH-R915 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 221, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Todd Richmond's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid Eris



    Okay, here is an update on my 'rooting status' (I know it's been a while, but I have been very, very busy):


    So...I went to do exactly as you said [Dina] and installed both files [I already had One-click apk].

    When I went to run z4, it informed me that my phone was already rooted (this wasn't a big surprise because I already had successfully installed a custom ROM [Evil Eris 4.0]); I just thought that maybe the root was bad [partially, at least]. I went to the Re-Root option and waited for an entire 10 minutes [just to be safe] before taking the battery out and rebooting. Now this is where I got confused (because the phone didn't go into Superuser immediately like I expected, this was my first 'red flag' that things were not going as they should be).


    Here are the issues I'm experiencing 'in a nutshell':

    1. The 'Custom Recovery' WILL NOT BOOT when I hold volume up

    - I'm starting to think that the root wasn't [and isn't] bad and that maybe Evil Eris 4.0 is causing the problem [more like probably causing the problem now that I think about it]. I am going to uninstall the ROM and try all of these steps over again without it installed on the SD card's root directory (hopefully this does the job). We will see...

    2. Possible bad root [probably not the issue, however]

    - Evil Eris did install after I did the one-click-apk method [on a previous occasion when I first got the phone] which tells me that my phone IS rooted, that is why I'm confused. I did re-root it however and opened z4 [just to make sure that it would read it as still being rooted, and it did]. Now I am not sure as how-to proceed....

  9. #8
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    If you were able to get a custom ROM on it, then root was there before. Do you want root for ROM purposes or getting internet on a $45 plan? If it is for the plan, then go to shipped-roms.com and get an RUU for your phone. It will be under Android -Desire. This will bring your phone back to original stock. You can then start all over.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by dina View Post
    If you were able to get a custom ROM on it, then root was there before. Do you want root for ROM purposes or getting internet on a $45 plan? If it is for the plan, then go to shipped-roms.com and get an RUU for your phone. It will be under Android -Desire. This will bring your phone back to original stock. You can then start all over.
    He/she is trying to root the.phone.. nowhere is it mentioned they want internet.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by salas View Post
    He/she is trying to root the.phone.. nowhere is it mentioned they want internet.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk
    Any other contribution would be appreciated
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 221, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 0%
    Todd Richmond's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid Eris



    Umm, actually yes I plan on flashing it WITH internet capabilities. I still gotta install the RUU (will do this later tonight, hopefully [if time permits]).

    note: I remember reading [not too long ago] that you can Flash phones to Cricket's Smartphone Plan and actually pay less than $45; something about the wording they use to get you locked-in to the $45-a-month plan. Anyone?


    p.s. I am a He (not a He/She)

    lol
    Last edited by Todd Richmond; 01-04-2012 at 10:29 PM. Reason: not finished

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner