Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    [CWM] A2 Clockworkmod Recovery 4.0.1.4 RC1

    This has been tested and is fully working, but install at your own risk! I am not responsible if you break your phone!!!

    This clockworkmod recovery was built following koush's guide..

    This has been tested and is working fully and has been submitted to koush for an official build and added to ROM Manager.

    You will need to install this using the fastboot method:



    1. Boot your phone into fastboot - (VOL- DOWN, POWER, Hold for 10 seconds)
    2. connect phone to computer via USB
    3. navigate to the recovery dir you downloaded and unzipped
    4. Run the install script for your OS (windows, linux, or mac)



    On windows you should see a cmd prompt window flash up and disappear within a few seconds if install completed. If it just hangs there waiting on device you need to check the drivers for your phone and possibly reinstall them.

    NOTE: I highly recommend downloading the full flash to stock file before attempting this as its the only atm to fix your A2 if you brick it. Not so much now since its been verified as working correctly and backup, restore, and flashing a ROM all work. Still good to have on hand just in case though.


    Links:

    A2 Clockworkmod Recovery 4.0.0.1.4 RC1





    recovery.img


    for those who want to attempt to flash it from terminal on the phone.
    Code:
    flash_image recovery recovery.img

    CricKet A2 Full Restore to Stock








    Last edited by PlayfulGod; 08-10-2011 at 06:31 PM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Member
    Points: 2,342, Level: 29
    Overall activity: 6.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, United States
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend 2



    Maybe I am missing it somewhere but how do I get the A2 into fastboot on the phone end? I can get into the recovery but am not seeing fastboot recognize the phone. When I try volume down and power it recognizes the phone on the computer but the phone sits on the huawei screen. When I try vol up and down it does the same thing. I only have the fastboot that came with the CWM, I don't have the SDK installed but I wouldn't think that matters here.....

    I get as far as hitting the install recovery for windows, it says sending. The ADB driver said successfully installed earlier when I plugged the phone in after holding vol down and power. But no dice from the bootloader on vol up and power. I'm lost, and I hate drivers. Used a Windows 7 machine to work on my Zio, now on a Vista Machine with an Ascend 2. Any help would be awesome!!!
    Last edited by sinisin; 08-10-2011 at 05:36 PM.

  4. #3
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by sinisin View Post
    Maybe I am missing it somewhere but how do I get the A2 into fastboot on the phone end? I can get into the recovery but am not seeing fastboot recognize the phone. When I try volume down and power it recognizes the phone on the computer but the phone sits on the huawei screen. When I try vol up and down it does the same thing. I only have the fastboot that came with the CWM, I don't have the SDK installed but I wouldn't think that matters here.....

    I get as far as hitting the install recovery for windows, it says sending. The ADB driver said successfully installed earlier when I plugged the phone in after holding vol down and power. But no dice from the bootloader on vol up and power. I'm lost, and I hate drivers. Used a Windows 7 machine to work on my Zio, now on a Vista Machine with an Ascend 2. Any help would be awesome!!!
    I dont have a a2 jus yet to say for sure but I will ask around n get back to you if no else answers you question by the time I find sumtin out.

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 2,342, Level: 29
    Overall activity: 6.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, United States
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend 2



    Is there an IRC channel for the A2 or anything like that??

  6. #5
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by sinisin View Post
    Is there an IRC channel for the A2 or anything like that??
    specifically for the A2 no, but on ppa we have a irc channel that supports all prepaid phones, and it has a web based client for ease of access for those who are not familiar with irc.

    to get into fastboot on the A2 do this:

    [code]down vol-, power ,hold for 10 sec]/code]

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 2,342, Level: 29
    Overall activity: 6.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, United States
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend 2



    Stuck at sending. No response from the phone screen that fastboot is active or anything, just the Huawei Boot Screen. Fastboot from the comp is recognizing the phone in fastboot but I'm almost running blind??!!? Tried doing it with terminal, pretty sure i navigated to the right path and I get a mount busy error. Boots into the bootloader on vol up just fine. vol down plus power for 10 seconds just leaves me at boot screen..............wish I had a way to download the SDK. I have so much work into the phone already that Im not yet ready to try flashing back to stock to see if that works.

    $ export PATH:/data/local/bin:$PATH
    $ export PATH:/mnt/sdcard/extracted/:$PATH
    $ su
    #flash_image recovery recovery.img
    mount: Device or resource busy
    #

    As I am not very good with linux or terminal I am probably doing something wrong there...........
    Last edited by sinisin; 08-10-2011 at 07:12 PM.

  8. #7
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by sinisin View Post
    Stuck at sending. No response from the phone screen that fastboot is active or anything, just the Huawei Boot Screen. Fastboot from the comp is recognizing the phone in fastboot but I'm almost running blind??!!? Tried doing it with terminal, pretty sure i navigated to the right path and I get a mount busy error. Boots into the bootloader on vol up just fine. vol down plus power for 10 seconds just leaves me at boot screen..............wish I had a way to download the SDK. I have so much work into the phone already that Im not yet ready to try flashing back to stock to see if that works.
    All you will see on the phones screen is the huawei screen and have to pull the battery to get out of it. when you ran the install script the cmd prompt window should open n close within a few seconds. if it doesnt it didnt install and there is a issue with your PC not seeing the phone in fastboot. Another user found a program to install on the PC that allowed all this to be done thru it w/o as much hassle. I will find out what it was and update this post

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 447, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    29
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend 2



    When I try to put my phone on fast boot, it just stays on the Huawei screen...so idk how to put the cwm? Please help! Thanks

    Sent from my M865 using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by sm559 View Post
    When I try to put my phone on fast boot, it just stays on the Huawei screen...so idk how to put the cwm? Please help! Thanks

    Sent from my M865 using Tapatalk
    install ROM Manager and install it from it. koush built the official build and merged it today.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 447, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    29
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend 2



    Quote Originally Posted by PlayfulGod View Post
    install ROM Manager and install it from it. koush built the official build and merged it today.
    OK thanks! That was really helpful.

    Sent from my M865 using Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    You have people from China looking at this thread. Good job.

    Just looking at active logs...
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6



    Could somebody do a youtube demonstration on how to do this..? There is already one up on youtube but it isnt exactly "noob-friendly" and as a 1st time custom rom flasher, i'm sure plenty of people (myself included) would be very happy. Thanks.

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 526, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    4


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Capn Josh

    Here we goop... Have rooted 2.3.5 GB on my a2. I have Rom Manager installed. I'm trying to flash CWM. Tom Manager will not recognize my A2, instead defines it as, I believe, a m1869 or something like that! !!
    ANY IDEAS on ho to correct this situation.
    Thanks in advance!
    Josh B-)

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 1,210, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    44



    Very easy how-to!! Thanks God!!

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 339, Level: 6
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Fiercelives's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    O'Fallon, Illinois
    Posts
    29
    Phone
    Huawei ascend 2



    I have the same problem all i see is u1860 .... been trying to change roms and i cant do it!

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. a cwm recovery for the ascend 2?
    By andrew01 in forum Cricket Huawei Ascend 2 (M865)
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 05:19 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 10:30 AM
  3. LG Optimus 2X gets ClockworkMod recovery
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2011, 09:07 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 05:49 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 08:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner