Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Flash - Working

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    22



    Wink Flash - Working

    For anyone who is looking for this:





    Keep in mind that the Ascend 2 is not exactly flowing over with RAM. If it runs too low, the browser will crash.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by Romp View Post
    For anyone who is looking for this:





    Keep in mind that the Ascend 2 is not exactly flowing over with RAM. If it runs too low, the browser will crash.
    the low RAM issue might be fixed by partitioning the sdcard to have a swap partition (virtual memory).

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    22



    Mine is partitioned, but I haven't done much experimenting yet. When I get a chance, I'll see how much difference the swap file makes.

  5. #4
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    40
    Phone
    Huawei Ascend 2



    thank you very much can't wait to try it out. Is there anyway I could get more information on creating this "swap partition" on the sd card? I may have to do a little searching sorry if I am being lazy. Thanks again for the info,
    Lee

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    22



    Check out "Swapper 2" (
    https://market.android.com/details?id=lv.n3o.swapper2


    ).

    It will make a swap file without needing to partition the SDcard.

    The current ROMS out there don't seem to support a swap partition.


  7. #6
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by Romp View Post
    Check out "Swapper 2" (
    https://market.android.com/details?id=lv.n3o.swapper2


    ).

    It will make a swap file without needing to partition the SDcard.

    The current ROMS out there don't seem to support a swap partition.
    mine will soon as I get my kernel booting


  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    22



    You just love making me crazy, don't you PlayfulGod.

    GIMMIE!!!

    Since you are working on that and since this thread seems to have wandered a bit in its focus, I have a question to ask you, Playfulgod.

    On stock-rooted, I was able to get Link2SD working, which is a DAMN good program that does a better job than A2SD. Basically, it moves anything and everything to the SD (a second partition on the card) and makes the links back to the original locations so the program works regardless of the location. It worked on pretty much ALL apps I tried.

    Since then, I have tried every rom available and on each of them, I get an error trying to access the second partition, both with Link2Sd or Swapper2. I have tried reformatting it, even in other devices. I can only think of three possible reasons. One is that the SD card is just bad now(unlikely, but possible) or that there is something odd in the non-stock roms, or that CWM hates me and my SD card when I format it.

    Any ideas?

  9. #8
    Verified Developer
    Points: 3,291, Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    PlayfulGod's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    355



    Quote Originally Posted by Romp View Post
    You just love making me crazy, don't you PlayfulGod.

    GIMMIE!!!

    Since you are working on that and since this thread seems to have wandered a bit in its focus, I have a question to ask you, Playfulgod.

    On stock-rooted, I was able to get Link2SD working, which is a DAMN good program that does a better job than A2SD. Basically, it moves anything and everything to the SD (a second partition on the card) and makes the links back to the original locations so the program works regardless of the location. It worked on pretty much ALL apps I tried.

    Since then, I have tried every rom available and on each of them, I get an error trying to access the second partition, both with Link2Sd or Swapper2. I have tried reformatting it, even in other devices. I can only think of three possible reasons. One is that the SD card is just bad now(unlikely, but possible) or that there is something odd in the non-stock roms, or that CWM hates me and my SD card when I format it.

    Any ideas?
    Well the modded ROMs out have dta2sd added to em, my last and vadims has his oc'd kernel in it. And as he doesnt post alot of info at all, I have no clue whats done to it. One reason why my initial A2tudes is the only version I have avail in RM.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. mms not working
    By gordies.swc in forum Verizon HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 07-23-2013, 02:06 PM
  2. MMS not working for anybody else or just me?
    By Screamer4 in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-22-2012, 08:32 AM
  3. My Screen is not working
    By leilacuevas in forum Cricket Huawei Ascend (M860)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 03:38 AM
  4. Bluetooth not working???
    By bjay in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2011, 08:30 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 05:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner