Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    Help ascend 2 storage issues

    I just received my muve music version of the ascend 2 model runnin 3.3.6 and I can't for the life of me figure out what is taking up over 100mb on this phone. I've tried everything from deleting apps, updates, caches, history, and after doing this process which takes so long it only clears my internal storge to 20mb left. I have plenty of room on the sd card and I've stored every possible app I have on it. Is there any way I can clear up all the cricket garbage on this phone and still have it be usable? I don't mind rooting my phone if there are clear instructions that is guaranteed to work with my model. Also after I root it, how can I free up space.
    I would surely appreciate any help you all may give me.
    It is just frustrating not being able to install apps after download because of the insufficient storage issue...

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Its the rom the muve rom taking up all that space never did like that muve :-p once rooted you can remove some apps in system not needed and try apps2rom being that the phone is partitioned to set aside that space whether its in use or not

    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    Not sure if this matters, but I don't have a muve music account but it is a muve music phone with the app installed. I will try out those programs you mentioned after I root. Now my only question is how do I root this phone?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Do u want to keep the rom muve on phone I didn't I downgraded to 2.3.3 then rooted to upgrade using cyanogenmod 7 and now 9 but if u want to stay on muve I'll look around and post link on how to

    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    No I don't care about muve at all
    Is there a current link available for these mods with instructions?

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Do you have computer to use to root

    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    yes i do. i am on osx but have xp on here too.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    http://www.cricketusers.com/f46/restore-your-ascend-ii-back-stock-upgrade-2-3-5-a-11484-post75370/ here is link by playful god its dl.zip for downgrading to 2.3.3 you'll need 7zip to unzip correctly it comes with instruction how to downgrade
    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    thank you ill let you know how it goes

    ---------- Post added at 07:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:32 PM ----------

    what do i do after downgrading?

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Once downgraded I'll post link to a file you will need to use to root your phone

    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    ok i may wait until my new sd card comes in the mail. Will this screw up the activation with cricket will I have to reactivate my phone and pay a fee?

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    No it will just downgrade then you will have to set up or sign back into Google if you look on YouTube there might be a video posted on what your about to do

    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4

  14. #13
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255




    http://uploading.com/mobile/get/e46f4524



    Here's the link to the update.zip file you will need to root NOTICE downgrading will free up some space ROOTING voids warranty on phone but usually undetectable I had my modded phone in cricket and they didn't know it was modded til I upgraded to 4.0.4
    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4


  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    26



    Its cricket so I dont care about warranties. So after rooting, I place that update.zip on sd card?

    ---------- Post added at 09:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:23 PM ----------

    Also what if I don't want to upgrade to 4.0+? Wouldn't that os require more resources from the internal storage?

  16. #15
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Quote Originally Posted by nasachusetts View Post
    Its cricket so I dont care about warranties. So after rooting, I place that update.zip on sd card?

    ---------- Post added at 09:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:23 PM ----------

    Also what if I don't want to upgrade to 4.0+? Wouldn't that os require more resources from the internal storage?
    4.0 I don't recommend if its ur phone u use for pics camera not working n mms is a hit n miss for me there is a 2.3.7 finally all working build once downgraded the update.zip file is use to root phone
    N if u use different rom use links2sd vs apps2sd I have at least 40 non system apps n around 78mb of internal memory free using 4.0
    sent from A2 running cm9 beta 3.4
    Last edited by dazeone; 07-24-2012 at 09:50 PM.

 

 
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner