Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 1,061, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mendota, California
    Posts
    36



    Internal Storage

    How does the Internal Storage get soo full soo fast? Where does it go? How can I get it back without starting all over in the Browser? Clearing the data in browser will get a lot of Internal Storage back but then gota re-login to all my usual sites and then recover all the different passwords for all the different sites. Is there any solution to this?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Re: Internal Storage

    Move all apps2sd well as much as possible that should free up some space .

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,061, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mendota, California
    Posts
    36



    Umm...yeah. That's already been done from the beginning of me having this phone. What is taking up all the Internal Storage? Applications list doesn't show where ALL the memory is going cause I've added up what it does show and its not telling all, so that memory is being used somewhere.

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Re: Internal Storage

    Sometimes useless stuff gets installed to internal sd by default, for example an installed app while being on external will install some data to internal. Use a file explorer or plug phone into pc and open up internal sd. Look through all the folders and delete anything related to an app that you don't have anymore or that from what you can tell are useless. If you have your apps backed up with titanium backup then you can also delete folders without worrying about breaking apps. Also you can use titanium backup to turn some apps into system apps. Some apps can only be installed on internal storage but if you convert to system it puts them in a different place.

    Sent from my CM10X2 using Tapatalk 2

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 1,061, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mendota, California
    Posts
    36



    Thaaaaats the info/help I was hoping for. Guess its bout time I finally root this thing. Still rollin stock 2.3.3 out of the box. Ill start goin down the list of way to root till I get one that'll work (from what I read). Thanks again.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Re: Internal Storage

    You ever get the phone rooted

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,061, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mendota, California
    Posts
    36



    Actually, no I haven't. I can't find a rooting tut that doesn't have comments of people having soo many isaues just gettin the thing rooted. I was hoping for a one time sure fire way that'll root without any problems.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Re: Internal Storage

    What version of android are you on

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk 2

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,061, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mendota, California
    Posts
    36



    The original 2.3.3 out of the box stock. Never updated to muve or whatever its called. Still just stock w/o updates or upgrades.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255



    Re: Internal Storage

    You still want to root your phone

    CrIcKeT Gs3 On Cm10.1

  12. #11
    Junior Member tifon420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, United States
    Posts
    2



    Like all people with the A2 I am having the same problems with my storage. I'm rooted and running a modrom, and have Titanium Backup. How do you use TB to change the apps to system apps like you mentioned?

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,834, Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    dazeone's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    255


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I use links 2sd and it gives you the option to do it. Also links 2sd will allow more apps to be stored on phone vs apps2sd

    CrIcKeT Gs3 On Cm10.1

  14. #13
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by dazeone View Post
    I use links 2sd and it gives you the option to do it. Also links 2sd will allow more apps to be stored on phone vs apps2sd

    CrIcKeT Gs3 On Cm10.1
    This. +1.
    I used link2sd on my ascend 1, and I was definitely impressed. It really does help.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

  15. #14
    Junior Member tifon420's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, United States
    Posts
    2



    Wow,thank you Dazeone! This app is effing AMAZING!!! I swear it was the finishing touch to my phone. I just removed half the stuff on modwei (cm7 i think lol) and added my twitter app, a clock widget pack, an ADW theme, and the gapps stuff (store, search) to the system. I'm impressed! that was precisely what my A2 needed.

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Points: 409, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    tazbabe07's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Customer Since
    2013
    Location
    Chandler, AZ United States
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Samsung Ascend 2



    I too have an Ascend 2 and don't have enough internal storage for the few actual apps that I want. I am constantly needing to clean out cache and what not in order to update or load an app. I am not the super techie to some of what has been said in this thread makes sense and some is over my head. I only have one or two apps that I am able to send to sd the rest of the stuff on the phone is stuck in internal memory...any plain English suggestions?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner