Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 47
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Restore Your Ascend II Back To Stock/Upgrade to 2.3.5

    UPDATE: This is mainly for those who have been experimenting with their phone or have tried to put a custom ROM on and didn't do it successfully. For information on how to Hard Reset your Huawei Ascend 2, click here.

    Thanks for BlastGT1 for posting this:

    Here is the procedure for restoring the Huawei Ascend II back to stock. Proven working by a member who tried installing CWM for the original Ascend on his Ascend 2 and b0rked his phone, yet through the magic of the stock ROM, recovered fully, none the worse for wear! Credit to vadim for finding and posting the files.

    These instructions are taken directly from the PDF file bearing the instructions, which should also be in the file containing the stock ROM.

    WARNING! This will wipe all data previously on your phone!

    • Download the zip file with the stock ROM, and unzip it.
      LINK


    • Copy the "dload" folder to the root of your SD card. This folder should have "update.app" inside it.
    • Power off, then press Vol Down + Vol Up + Power. The installation should take place automatically. When "Upgrade Complete" appears on the screen, Pull the battery and the SD card from your phone.
    • Replace your battery and boot the phone. This step may take a few minutes.
    • Once fully booted, reinsert your SD card and delete the "dload" folder. You're done!

    Source:
    PrepaidAndroids.net - CONTRACTS SUCK!





    Upgrade from 2.3.3 to 2.3.5

    This is not my post. All credit goes to "Duck" from prepaidandroids.net.

    --Start--

    UPGRADE TO STOCK 2.3.5



    I Am In No Way Responsible If you mess up ur stock rom

    Thing u need before you upgrade:

    must be rooted Already
    Must Have the zip ive provided

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HEDYNXI2



    Must Have stock Recovery. CWM could be put after if u want it
    Must Have all stock cricKet apps and everything to default.

    when u have everything you need put the zip ive provided in your sd card

    if you need to reflash the stock rom do and then reroot. because you need all the default apps or it wont let you update

    go into the blue default recovery same as the way you root ur phone with the other stock
    go to apply update from sd card find the update zip and flash it
    should take 30 mins tops
    let it do its thing and bam there u go instead of 2.3.3 ur running rooted 2.3.5

    List of apps needed to be removed via root explorer :

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5536B9MS


    Root Explorer

    open root explorer.

    go to data then dataapp and the following are there:

    uno
    storefront
    photobucket
    bubble bash
    poynt

    apps not removed yet...

    facebook default
    Flicker
    twitter

    I Cant find where those apps are i think there hidden .

    Or you could wait for the ota update when it hits your area.






    screenshot_3.png


    (30.63K)

    --END--













    Last edited by Chris Rodriguez; 10-08-2011 at 01:25 PM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 379, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    I have really messed up my phone and I'm trying to do this and I am having no luck I have download the file put it on an SD card but when I try to get the phone to boot the way it says I get an screen that says update failed and all of the buttons on the bottom of the phone just blink. I am hoping the file is corrupted. Does anyone have a known working file that I could get my hands on?

    Pleas help my phone is really messed up.

  4. #3
    Junior Member domdabears's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    6


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Yeah, none of this works and it's really starting to piss me off.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    22



    You have to open the zip. Inside is a folder (DLOAD). COPY THE FOLDER (including the file in it) to the root of the SD card. If you just copy the file, it will fail

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 440, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    14


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Yea, this is an epic ZIP fail lol. Here's a SS of what happens.


    zip-fail.jpg


    I will try with WinRar next. Will post back if it worked.


    EDIT: WinRar opened it just fine. Might want to include that in the OP. I believe a different program kind of like WinRar was used to make this ZIP so stock Windows won't work.


    Follow instructions and this will work just fine.


    Works great to revert from 2.3.5 as well. Thanks for the post OP.
    Last edited by jwill503; 10-24-2011 at 05:08 PM.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    mesa,az
    Posts
    10



    You can also downloa ds unrar from market and it will unpack this file. I tried winzip and windows on home pc and failed. Got bored at work and retryed on phone and what do you know, it works!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    houston texas
    Posts
    1



    I downloaded the zip but it says insert multi volume set

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,704, Level: 24
    Overall activity: 0%
    Phoenix602's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    61
    Phone
    ZTE Source rooted



    fail what now

    i tried the update.. does NOT WORK.. i followed directions... and it didnt do a damn thing..i unzipped the file,put it in the root and whala!! NOTHING after i pressed the up and power button and waited for the blue screen.. found the file and pressed yes.. nothing... so i deleted it off my root and started over and this time i left i UNzipped and did the same thing.. nothing.. and i even tried winrar, 7zip,winzip .. all this for nothing..
    Last edited by Phoenix602; 11-11-2011 at 07:15 PM.

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,061, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mendota, California
    Posts
    36



    [Q] Warranty

    If I root for a few days, then unroot, and "restore back to stock 2.3.3-2.3.5", and then had to take the phone in to the cricket place for anything, would the warranty still be good OR is it like, once u root its void no matter what?

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,095, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 7.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    15



    This worked great! If you're on 2.3.3, root your phone. Once rooted you can now upgrade to 2.3.5

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by itrustno1 View Post
    If I root for a few days, then unroot, and "restore back to stock 2.3.3-2.3.5", and then had to take the phone in to the cricket place for anything, would the warranty still be good OR is it like, once u root its void no matter what?
    You would need to check the exact terms of the warranty. I don't know if it says if the phone was ever rooted it will be voided, or if the phone is rooted at the time of the warranty exchanged if it would be voided. My guess is Cricket would take it back if it's not rooted. If they knew it was rooted in the past I'm not sure what they would do.

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 188, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    gmnowels's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Ascend II M865


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Thank you for all your information.

    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    UPDATE: This is mainly for those who have been experimenting with their phone or have tried to put a custom ROM on and didn't do it successfully. For information on how to Hard Reset your Huawei Ascend 2, click here.

    Thanks for BlastGT1 for posting this:

    Here is the procedure for restoring the Huawei Ascend II back to stock. Proven working by a member who tried installing CWM for the original Ascend on his Ascend 2 and b0rked his phone, yet through the magic of the stock ROM, recovered fully, none the worse for wear! Credit to vadim for finding and posting the files.

    These instructions are taken directly from the PDF file bearing the instructions, which should also be in the file containing the stock ROM.

    WARNING! This will wipe all data previously on your phone!
    • Download the zip file with the stock ROM, and unzip it.
      LINK


    --END--


    The media fire for the Stock Rom is dead. Also found one for Media Fire, but that file was corrupt.

    Does anyone have this Stock Rom? Also would love the all default files if possible.

    Thanks


  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 282, Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    boise
    Posts
    3



    when i do this i get a purple screen and it just sits there........ help????

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 829, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    blankiss's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Posts
    86
    Phone
    huawei ascend



    i put the dload file with the updateapp inside and when the installation is starting , it stops and it says "update failed" i used 1zip to extract the dload folder

    ---------- Post added at 04:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:14 PM ----------

    i double checked every step and i did everything correct, any help?

  16. #15
    Account Changes Only Account Services's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8



    Alright guys. It's time to save our Cricket files.If you have the files listed in this thread, please send some information to webmaster AT cricketusers.com. Thank you

 

 
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cricket Huawei Ascend Stock ROM
    By avenue in forum Cricket Huawei Ascend (M860)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-28-2014, 03:36 PM
  2. I deleted my messaging app, how do i restore it?
    By Vallejosj505 in forum Cricket LG Optimus C
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-08-2012, 01:16 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 06:42 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 05:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner