Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    **Please Help!!!**

    Hey guys, so to follow up on some other threads I started before, my first Merc that I bought the day of release in my state would NOT stop rebooting itself. It would get thrown into a bootloop that would go all night before it would finally fire up in a decent enough state to stay running. After factory resetting the phone 3 times I finally had enough and took it in to Cricket for the "defective device" warranty, which cost 20 bucks. So I get a new phone out of it, get it home and set the whole thing up exactly the way the old one was, and boom, freeze, reboot, and 4 hour bootloop. So I've come to the conclusion (obviously) that it is NOT the phone but something I am doing to it to cause this. The modifications I made to both phones were exactly the same; CWM Custom Recovery, ReVokster ROM, and V6 Supercharger, with the Supercharger 100% charged. Could it be that the memory adjustments to the ROM and the Supercharger are conflicting and causing the memory to lockup? Is anybody else running the same combo of mods, and/or having the same issue? I have also ruled out the battery glitching out by plugging the phone in without the battery, sure enough it locked up and rebooted. I'm at a total loss, and would really like some help in getting this issue weeded out and completely resolved as this phone was my last hope in Cricket, or cellphones at all for that matter. Any and all help and feedback is EXTREMELY appreciated!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Its most likely the phones. Not what u did to dem

    Sent from my M886

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Well from reading around this forum it appears as though it's a lost cause, eh? All the links to reverting everything to stock are broken lol.

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 824, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    45



    I've had the Mercury since February, and I rooted and swapped in Oriax123's rom in March or April. Once I started playing with supercharger, and this is the only time I've had the issue, I would have a non-stop bootloop until I either had to reinstall the rom or wipe everything to get rid of Supercharger.

  6. #5
    haoleflip719
    Guest



    I'm not sure where you live, but they just had a huge recall a couple weeks ago on Mercury's here in Colorado because they released a whole bunch with bad software. We were told to take all of the Mercs we had off of the shelf to RMA. Maybe where you're getting them, they never RMA'd and kept theirs for resale...

    Source: I'm a Cricket employee.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC on .2233 ICS leak using Tapatalk 2
    Flashed to Cricket Wireless*Talk/Text/MMS/3G
    Last edited by haoleflip719; 07-01-2012 at 12:22 PM.

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Could be possible I guess...I live in AZ.. if that's the case then maybe I can do a warranty replacement online? And get one from HQ?

  8. #7
    haoleflip719
    Guest



    Quote Originally Posted by d34thbl00m View Post
    Could be possible I guess...I live in AZ.. if that's the case then maybe I can do a warranty replacement online? And get one from HQ?
    I would at least try to make a warranty claim. I would also take all ROMs off and make sure it is not rooted and back to stock before I gave them the phone back though. I'm not sure exactly, but i know tampering with most devices voids most warranties. Another thing I would try is a different ROM. If the ROM you are loading doesn't work on both phones you tried, but both phones work as intended with their stock OS, I'd say the problem lies in the ROM. It could be how you're loading it or something. Are you missing any steps maybe?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC on .2233 ICS leak using Tapatalk 2
    Flashed to Cricket Wireless*Talk/Text/MMS/3G

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    No I've done everything both times exactly to the T from the tutorials....I already did a warranty replacement, since this is the second phone I can assume it wasn't the phone itself the first time. I did try another ROM, the Iced or w/e and it does the same thing...the stock ROM did also have this issue; that's the reason I flashed a new ROM in the first place. Funny thing is the issue only happens once I have all my apps and games on it. Everything is going straight to SD card, however I don't believe it to be one of the apps since I have installed them in small groups over the course of several days to see if I can notice the change. I'm stumped and at this point sick of the phone and Cricket. Having the phone work like this is almost like not even having a phone since it's mostly unusable. I factory reset it again and am only using it with VERY few apps installed and for the most part it works ok but it's definitely not the $200 phone I paid for. If there is no resolve for me within the next two weeks I'm getting on my wife's Sprint plan.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Probably have v6 settings to high. Try it @ 5 or 6 (512)

    Sent from my HTC T-Bolt using Tapatalk 2

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    I tried it at several different settings, didn't make a difference. No longer using V6...with only about 20% of my apps installed its running perfectly, no reboots yet. Gonna add an app a day one by one and see if it really is an app causing it.

  12. #11
    Member kovis19's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    knoxville, tn
    Posts
    119



    I think...

    its the apps. something with carrier iq specifically. What you must do is use titnium backup to wipe all data from the apps before making a back up. This, in my experence, breaks your rom, so do it before you flash whatever rom you want. Once you have clean, data free backups follow your flashing steps for the rom of your choice. Use the carrier iq remover found in one these threads for the merc. restore your apps as you normally would. Lucky patcher, if you have it, will cause the bootloops even after following these steps. Install it seperately from its individual backup choosing app only, not the app with data option. That should have you covered. Hope i helps. After thought, also don't restore system data with titanium backup, it causes conflicts or something. also helps to wipe dalvik and fix permissions after you finish this up, just in case.

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 1,731, Level: 24
    Overall activity: 59.0%
    azmommaof4's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    238



    Quote Originally Posted by d34thbl00m
    I tried it at several different settings, didn't make a difference. No longer using V6...with only about 20% of my apps installed its running perfectly, no reboots yet. Gonna add an app a day one by one and see if it really is an app causing it.
    Am having a similar problem. But its usually when am running several apps.

  14. #13
    Banned
    Points: 2,650, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    na
    Posts
    529



    I AGREE with those above you keep putting the problem back on the phone . My Mercury is rooted CWM .(SLIGHTLY MODED BY ME VERSION). And im using a work in progress Rom with all the system ui . and Framework modifications. (Quite Girly and Personal)This being the reason i have not shared it.

    Back to your trouble. I Would say Format your SD CARD. Redownload the rom you wish to you. BOOT into recovery. go into backup and restore. Toggle data . go back and format all except sd card of course. Then flash the rom.. Once the room boots . do not let google restore NOTHING AUTOMATED. Do not use your TI BACKUPS. Install one app at a time and try to reproduce your issue. WHEN YOU find the app causing it . Remove that app and let developer know of the issue. Then you can restore your backup of course with the exception of that app.
    This method works for any android unix linux dos window mac machine. With slightly modified sequences and procedures to meet that OS.
    hope this helps Basic computer trouble shooting

    good luck erica Renee

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 2,699, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    d34thbl00m's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    165
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Thanks for the suggestions everyone. In any case, what would be a good phone from another provider to flash to cricket in case I decide to scrap it?

  16. #15
    Member
    Points: 1,461, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Dsanders77's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Georgetown, TX
    Posts
    191
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by d34thbl00m View Post
    Thanks for the suggestions everyone. In any case, what would be a good phone from another provider to flash to cricket in case I decide to scrap it?

    The Stock restore that is on this thread might be of help.

    http://www.cricketusers.com/cricket-...re-backup.html

    The file should be up in a few min. Just download it, put it into SD/Clockworkmod/backup then use the restore function in CWM. This is a fresh stock ROM, no mods no nothing.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner