Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 109
  1. #61
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    If you read earlier in the thread, david was saying that he was getting errors while trying "sudo su".

    I asked him to login as root on alt+ctrl+f2 (NOT the gui).

    You will also note, if you look back in the thread, he is not using a Live image, but he has a regular install (given away by his prompt).

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #62
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    Live or native install has no bearing on the result, you cannot login as root in Ubuntu, whether from tty1-6 or gdm/lightdm.

  4. #63
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    So what should he do, given that su is broken?

    Boot into runlevel 1?

  5. #64
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    I would use `sudo chown root.root <mercfs>/path/to/file` if running from a terminal (no need for su, sudo will attain the same result), or use `gksu nautilus` and modify owner/perms from `right-click > properties`.

    Regarding `sudo su`, I have no idea why it is not working for that particular user. I can run it without issue, drops me straight to root prompt. (Using 11.10)

    I miss Fedora already, quit tempting me to switch back...

  6. #65
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Doh!

    sudo bash

    That'd do the trick david. Try that, then proceed with the chown commands, or prepend each of them with sudo, either way.
    Last edited by s23bog; 01-02-2012 at 01:43 PM.

  7. #66
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    thanks guys i will give it a shot

    ---------- Post added at 12:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:25 AM ----------

    what do i change owner as, sys or bin or what

    ---------- Post added at 01:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:33 AM ----------

    does this look right, think its fixed now
    davidolas@ubuntu:/media/57f8f4bc-abf4-0000-675f-946fc0f9f25b$ sudo bash
    root@ubuntu:/media/57f8f4bc-abf4-0000-675f-946fc0f9f25b# chown root.root bin/su
    root@ubuntu:/media/57f8f4bc-abf4-0000-675f-946fc0f9f25b# chown root.root bin/busybox
    root@ubuntu:/media/57f8f4bc-abf4-0000-675f-946fc0f9f25b# chown root.root app/Superuser.apk
    root@ubuntu:/media/57f8f4bc-abf4-0000-675f-946fc0f9f25b#

  8. #67
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Looks good. Just do an ls -l ob those files to check them. But you should have root now. Don't forget to upgrade Superuser and busybox in the market.

  9. #68
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by s23bog View Post
    Looks good. Just do an ls -l ob those files to check them. But you should have root now. Don't forget to upgrade Superuser and busybox in the market.
    What letter is that at the end of "is -l " or is that a 1 . Cause still no root

  10. #69
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    LS -L

    lower case

  11. #70
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    oh my god thanks, that was really cool of you helping me s23bog , i now have root access, yes
    had a root checker already installed on phone ran it, superuser poped up , yes i have root, Thanks

  12. #71
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by davidolas View Post
    oh my god thanks, that was really cool of you helping me s23bog , i now have root access, yes
    had a root checker already installed on phone ran it, superuser poped up , yes i have root, Thanks
    Just to summarize what was done for others:

    Corrected ownership and permissions for /system/bin/su, /system/xbin/busybox, and /system/app/Superuser.apk

    They should look like this:

    -rwsr-sr-x 1 root root 22228 2008-02-29 03:33 bin/su
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1062992 2010-10-16 22:29 xbin/busybox
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 196521 2010-10-16 21:04 app/Superuser.apk


    If not, please execute the following commands from your system directory (using Linux - Ubuntu 10.04):

    sudo bash
    chmod 6755 bin/su
    chmod 755 xbin/busybox
    chmod 644 app/Superuser.apk

    chown root.root bin/su
    chown root.root xbin/busybox
    chown root.root app/Superuser.apk


    NOTE: busybox may be under bin/ instead of xbin. Either adjust the commands accordingly, or move it to xbin, using "mv bin/busybox xbin"
    Last edited by s23bog; 01-04-2012 at 05:29 PM.

  13. #72
    Member
    Points: 1,159, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    117



    Well I have root installed on my android too. Except it denies everytime. I did those chown commands. Still showing a denied access message every time i run setcpu. It'll deny root access even if I change the superuser preferences to accept only and not prompt.

    I'm curious what operating system did you guys use to push those files to the phone? I used Windows 7 for pushing the files and then the other half Ubuntu 10.04.

  14. #73
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Let me take a look at the files. After cd'ing to the /system partition (like we discussed before) (cd /media/*__ should do the trick) do:

    ls -l bin/su
    ls -l xbin/busybox
    ls -l app/Superuser.apk

    Again...you may have busybox in bin. Adjust accordingly.

    Reply with the results.

  15. #74
    Member
    Points: 1,159, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    117



    Quote Originally Posted by s23bog View Post
    Let me take a look at the files. After cd'ing to the /system partition (like we discussed before) (cd /media/*__ should do the trick) do:

    ls -l bin/su
    ls -l xbin/busybox
    ls -l app/Superuser.apk

    Again...you may have busybox in bin. Adjust accordingly.

    Reply with the results.
    Ok I will. Right now when I plug in my phone in download mode after I boot up Ubuntu it's showing a popup message "unable to mount" for each partition. Even after I do the first step. I'm not sure when it's doing this all of a sudden.

  16. #75
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by papasmurf520 View Post
    Ok I will. Right now when I plug in my phone in download mode after I boot up Ubuntu it's showing a popup message "unable to mount" for each partition. Even after I do the first step. I'm not sure when it's doing this all of a sudden.
    I have seen it do that a couple of times too. Don't worry about it. Just be patient. If it still doesn't mount after a little while, just unplug....wait a few....then plug back in.

 

 
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner