Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 138
  1. #91
    Member
    Points: 1,860, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    Sport's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kentucky Blue Grass
    Posts
    129
    Phone
    Mercury M886



    ....primarily because I DO use Linux and I want to understand WHY it isn't working with my Distro....I know I can make it work; but I want to make it work in my environment; all grins and giggles for me right now, testing different issues


    EDIT:

    @ S23BOG...good script; I'll find a way to port it to Mint if I can

    The Merc actually came up in Safe Mode once...that was a chiller!!!!
    Last edited by Sport; 03-10-2012 at 10:42 AM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #92
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    Oh OK, that's definitely worth doing, just didn't make sense when I first read it.

  4. #93
    Member
    Points: 1,860, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    Sport's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kentucky Blue Grass
    Posts
    129
    Phone
    Mercury M886



    Quote Originally Posted by Cunning Linguist View Post
    Oh OK, that's definitely worth doing, just didn't make sense when I first read it.
    All is good that is why we have "Experimenters" that turn into "Developers"

  5. #94
    Member
    Points: 839, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    64



    Quote Originally Posted by s23bog View Post
    The sudo passwd is your user's passwd. When typed it will NOT echo anything on the screen.

    Many of these minor 'issues' can be avoided by using the Ubuntu 10.04 LiveCD as specified. Hence my quip, 'when all else fails, follow the directions.'
    Yup tried.that as well it appeared like the script ran successfully only to find out on reboot the changes did not persist because my phone is stuck in a read only state and i have no idea how to get it out. I started a thread on it....

  6. #95
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by Sport View Post
    Tryed this under Linux Mint 12...a Ubuntu Distro.....





    no joy....


    OOPS!!! I didn't see this post earlier...




    will try "one more time"


    Results...





    Root isn't my top priority right now any way....I looked at your methods and they make sense...I just am too lazy to create a ubuntu live when I have 4 machines already running Linux...maybe later


    You missed the space between umount and /media/*

    sudo umount /media/*
    ./merc-root.sh

  7. #96
    Member
    Points: 1,860, Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    Sport's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kentucky Blue Grass
    Posts
    129
    Phone
    Mercury M886



    could be ..."One more Time" Thanx!!

  8. #97
    Banned
    Points: 2,650, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    na
    Posts
    529



    Just wanted to say thanks guys.. I Now have my phone rooted with CWM .

  9. #98
    Member
    Points: 884, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 3.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    newberg, or
    Posts
    73



    just got this phone a few weeks ago and finally got some time tonight and tommorrow to fool around with attempting to root it.

    from what ive came across the ONLY way im seeing this possible is via
    Ubuntu 10.04


    which i dont have and i am also on Win7 x64.

    could someone please help a noob.

    Last edited by damingraham; 03-11-2012 at 06:13 AM.

  10. #99
    Senior Member
    Points: 22,444, Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Android Titan's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 52
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    portland oregon
    Posts
    761
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    Quote Originally Posted by oriax123 View Post
    FastRoot for Mercury
    Level:EASY
    by Oriax123


    DO NOT SHARE MY DOWNLOADS TO ANYONE, YOU MAY LINK TO THIS THREAD ONLY.


    Only works if you Custom Recovery using Salas Guide here:


    CWM for Mercury



    Instructions



    1.Download the update.zip (1.5mb) here:


    http://db.tt/Pk4ggDPP





    2.Copy the "update.zip" to your scdard.


    3.In recovery, go to "mount and storage", then mount "/system"


    4.Now go back and go into "install zip from storage"


    5.Choose "choose zip from sdcard"

    6.Install the "update.zip"


    7.Reboot then Update Superuser & su (inside superuser.setting)

    [/SIZE]
    YOU ARE NOW ROOTED!!![/SIZE]

    Say thanks if it helped you(;


    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk


  11. #100
    Senior Member
    Points: 22,444, Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Android Titan's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 52
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    portland oregon
    Posts
    761
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    This is Hella easy to do he sent it to my phone From his and he got root lol so I give to this new root update

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk

  12. #101
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by damingraham View Post
    just got this phone a few weeks ago and finally got some time tonight and tommorrow to fool around with attempting to root it.

    from what ive came across the ONLY way im seeing this possible is via
    Ubuntu 10.04


    which i dont have and i am also on Win7 x64.

    could someone please help a noob.
    Follow the instructions, and create a LiveCD or LiveUSB image to boot from. The video was created by Chris the very first time he attempted this. Take a look.


  13. #102
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    The first time I ever booted to Linux lol.. EVAR. Great instructions.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  14. #103
    Member
    Points: 2,292, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    159



    Ok, I found UbuntU on the ftp link in the OP(original link is dead) but it's 10.04.4. The orig link is supposed to be 10.04.3. Will it still work??? And 10.04.3 doesn't exist on the ftp...

  15. #104
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by Eaglewtchr View Post
    Ok, I found UbuntU on the ftp link in the OP(original link is dead) but it's 10.04.4. The orig link is supposed to be 10.04.3. Will it still work??? And 10.04.3 doesn't exist on the ftp...
    I think that will be fine.

  16. #105
    Member
    Points: 2,292, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    159



    Quote Originally Posted by s23bog View Post
    I think that will be fine.
    Yep. It worked.. I'm now rooted.. YEAH!!!!!

 

 
Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner