Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

Welcome to Cricket Users!

Page 21 of 23 FirstFirst ... 11 19 20 21 22 23 LastLast
    Overall activity: 0%
    Customer Since
    Apr 2007
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury

A1: NO, they are not the same.
    A2: FastRoot gives you Root access. You need the custom recovery in order to have the ability to install FastRoot, therefore, you must have the custom recovery on your phone first. Please follow the directions in Oriax's thread here VERY carefully. Note the prerequisite he mentions of using the custom recovery by Salas BEFORE doing anything with FastRoot. This is how I did mine, and I'm a complete noob too.

**Please ask questions in that thread if you have them. Do not take unnecessary risks with your phone.
    Last edited by phunky; 05-12-2013 at 11:53 PM.

2. Remove this advertisement.

Customer Since
    Oct 2011

Quote Originally Posted by phunky View Post
    A1: NO, they are not the same.
    A2: FastRoot gives you Root access. You need the custom recovery in order to have the ability to install FastRoot, therefore, you must have the custom recovery on your phone first. Please follow the directions in Oriax's thread here VERY carefully. Note the prerequisite he mentions of using the custom recovery by Salas BEFORE doing anything with FastRoot. This is how I did mine, and I'm a complete noob too.

**Please ask questions in that thread if you have them. Do not take unnecessary risks with your phone.