Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 73
  1. #46
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    I was thinking the same thin nubcake... LOL! I take it Lucky patch and Samba are separate apps?

    Sent from my Merc using Tapatalk

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #47
    Member
    Points: 2,656, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    NeoZiggy's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Thank you Nubcake, great work!

    Before and After screenshots
    before.pngafter.png

  4. #48
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    I'm really curious about how and why the phone crashes by just having those apps installed, not even trying to run them.

    Maybe someone could verify if they feel the urge, might just be me.

  5. #49
    Member
    Points: 2,656, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    NeoZiggy's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    I think I might have an explanation....

    One of those tools is trying to send the CIQ log's to "somewhere" and when it tries to read your log files it can't find them, throwing your phone in to a loop because the app was poorly written and was meant to violate your privacy before doing anything else. Did you check the app's permissions before installing? If it looks strange and doesn't explain.... don't install.

    This is just my opinion. I do not mean to discredit any developers out there.
    Last edited by NeoZiggy; 05-07-2012 at 07:02 PM.

  6. #50
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by NeoZiggy View Post
    I think I might have an explanation. One of those tools is trying to send the CIQ log's to "somewhere" and when it tries to read your log files it can't find them, throwing your phone in to a loop because the app was poorly written and was meant to violate your privacy before actually doing any good.
    Wrong. These apps are usable on non carrier iq devices or roms. You do know not all phones have Ciq?

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  7. #51
    Member
    Points: 2,656, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    NeoZiggy's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Yes, I am aware that there are phones without it. I don't know which ones, or for which carrier. I know in December carriers started removing it because it got media attention.

    However, removing CIQ as opposed to never having it could be different. My phone still shows it as installed but not running.

    This was just an idea. I'm not a dev.

  8. #52
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    I fully removed ciq from my phone.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  9. #53
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    Any chance this could be Dalvik Cache related?

  10. #54
    Member
    Points: 2,656, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    NeoZiggy's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Cunning, did you try an older or different version of the tool? I know we don't run ICS but I read some people were saying that certain versions don't work and they had luck with 1.3.5.3. Also, it seems the auto-rotate was causing crashes of the app. I didn't see anything about the phone going in to a boot loop though.

  11. #55
    Junior Member
    Points: 631, Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Trahned's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    13



    Quote Originally Posted by oriax123 View Post
    Im glad there is another rom dev about to sprout. If you need any help or advice let us know.


    Sent from Oriax123's iPhone using Tapatalk
    If one wanted to learn about rom developing where would one start? Fair warning complete noob at this still. All I've managed to do with my merc was use custom boot offered by Salas, root and custom rom by Oriax123 and custom bootanimation by xXNubCakeXx. But would love to learn more. I'm pretty computer savvy but new to the smart phone age.

    Had a nice cozey rock.

  12. #56
    Senior Member
    Points: 9,578, Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    xxnubcakexx's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    795
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    LINUX!!!! Pretty much ALL it is! =] DL ubuntu and get comfortable with it! Then start messing around! Even the phone! if u want to make it do something, GOOGLE it! Im sure its out there on the web! Might sound SUPER stupid! But dont ask too too much?!? look before asking when trying to do something! i google for hrs and hrs before i find and answer =[ i dont ask questions too too much, but when i do, its cause i couldnt find it anywhere on the net! That might kinda sound rude! But u learn that way!

    oh and READ READ READ!!!!!!

  13. #57
    Senior Member
    Points: 9,578, Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    xxnubcakexx's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    795
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Here Guys, my 4 hr web site i made =D ill touch it up some , but i dont feel good, imma go lay down!

    http://xxnubcakexx.cricketusers.com/




    u can find all my downloads and BETTER download links! no 3rd party links, no waiting to download, no throttle speed downloads!
    Better Layout and instructions of my downloads with flip page by page instead of a big WALL of text to fine patches and such

    i will add download links, and all that such later on!

    my contact info is up there, including my IMs and email! Email straight from the site and is sent straight to my phone instatly =D
    ENJOY

    ---------- Post added at 06:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:30 AM ----------

    forgot to let ppl alowwed to view it ><


  14. #58
    Member
    Points: 1,293, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    jawaan's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    gastonia, nc
    Posts
    181
    Phone
    zte score



    My phone has no carrier IQ
    B-) preciate the hard work you put in bro
    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk

  15. #59
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    Well I seem to have solved my boot loop issues.
    The problem came from installing apps on a fresh ROM with Titanium backup batch reinstall. Don't know that if because they were backed up on a phone using CIQ or what but when I installed manually, everything worked fine. The apps that I know had problems with this were
    Samba, Lucky Patcher, Xmarks and possibly a few others.

    I would install a new ROM after wiping and simply reinstall SAMBA and nothing else, no system files etc and reboot - it would loop. Go figure.

  16. #60
    Senior Member
    Points: 9,578, Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    xxnubcakexx's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    795
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    i fell in love with SAMBA already O_O . . . u dont have a clue how much im using this app lmfao

 

 
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner