Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 2,243, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    229



    may have fix for tethering block.

    may have fix for tethering block need a few people to try this.

    things you will need.

    PC with firefox.
    Huawei Mercury ROOTED (this is what I have to use)
    google wifi tether
    Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting



    addon User Agent Switcher for firefox
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...gent-switcher/




    ok now that you have all this, open the user agent switcher.
    Go to Firefox menu bar and go to addons -> User Agent Switcher -> options
    Then click New -> New User Agent
    Clear out everything for the new user agent
    Description Android
    Copy and paste this for your user agent field

    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.5; en-us; SCH-R910 Build/FROYO) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1

    you need the whole line in red.

    Now run your google wifi tether!
    The one thing you will find is that you will connect to a lot of mobile sites. (but most of them have the full site linked down at the bottom)


    Let me know how this works. You also may need to to set the TTL in windows. So far this has worked for me.



    Last edited by asuddendeath; 02-28-2012 at 02:37 AM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Member
    Points: 2,243, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    229



    Come on someone got to try this. Let me know what happens. Even without a root try it.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 365, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    18



    Didn't work in Firefox on windows 7. Worked on windows 8 beta and kUbuntu with Firefox.

    Sent by JARVIS: Just A Rather Very Intelligent System

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 2,243, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    229



    ok in that case go into regedit and change the ttl value.


    1. Open Registry Editor (regedit.exe).
    2. From the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE subtree, go to the following key:
      \SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameter s.


    in the right box at a new DWORD 32 bit value.
    name it DefaultTTL
    set the value as a decimal 65

    restart and retry. make sure when you run firefox that in tools you go to user default agent and run the setting you set up for your android.


    so your doing 2 things your making it look like a mobile browser and making it look like its coming from the phone with the server hop.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 411, Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Marengo, il
    Posts
    2



    ive tried the use agent and ttl trick with no sucess....this is the source code for how they block the tether: Cricket


    The JavaScript support is disabled on your browser. Please enable JavaScript and refresh this page.

    Learn more about Cricket's Policies:



    Terms and Conditions of Service




    Cricket's Fair Use Policy


    Explanations:
    Why am I here?
    It appears that you are attempting an action that is currently not allowed on your plan.
    What did I do?
    It appears that you may be using your phone as a modem or tethering hotspot.
    How do I resolve this?
    1. Unplug all devices connected to your phone.
    2. Power off your phone, and then turn it back on.
    3. If you are still seeing this message, please call 800-CRICKET
    © 2012 Cricket Communications, Inc.




  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 2,243, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    229



    I don't see any code

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,566, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    AzEBlueDragon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    Nov 2009
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    It worked for me, but i haven't used it for over a min. So idk. I never use Tethering

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 104, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    philadelphia market
    Posts
    2



    on a m860, mac, any browser. use https
    block averted. i suspect they use stateful packet inspection (spi) and an algorithm to determine what's in your packets and block accordingly. now if you use https you can get around that as the packets are encrypted and cricket cant snoop into what you are sending. also an ssl proxy will happly sidestep their blocking. i use it every day with wifi tether and barnicle

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    I used a VPN with the tether and got around 10mb before it got killed...still would like to understand how they just seem to "know"...
    Algorithm seems likely though

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 104, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    philadelphia market
    Posts
    2



    Quote Originally Posted by Cunning Linguist View Post
    I used a VPN with the tether and got around 10mb before it got killed...still would like to understand how they just seem to "know"...
    Algorithm seems likely though
    i'll have to try but i think an ssl proxy will defeat their block. i'm talking about using ways that circumvent government internet controls. using TOR would be a bit extreme but i use it on my phone for other than tethering data

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner