Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Mercury Memory

  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 770, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    33



    Mercury Memory

    This may have been mentioned before but I wasnt able to find it.

    Wouldnt you think there would be a way to run a script or something that would allow the mercury to utilize the installed SD memory card as RAM? It would be cool to be able to set like 2 gig aside for the phone to use. Im just curious..Im not not a phone guru but heck you can do it with a PC,,RIGHT?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 2,674, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 0%
    slycknyck's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Customer Since
    03/2011
    Location
    Chuck City, WV
    Posts
    382
    Phone
    Chelsea S III



    I'm not sure, but ICS is siphoning my RAM like NOBODY'S business. FC's are becoming an issue.

  4. #3
    Banned
    Points: 2,650, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    na
    Posts
    529



    FLASH MEMORY Is much slower then Ram. Its also on a slower bus in the system... So this would only hamper the phones speed .
    as far as fc closing apps and managing memory.. ICS WILL USE NEARLY ALL OF YOUR AVAILABLE RAM.. if you try to manage this with a 3rd party app you will do nothing but fight the built in mem management.. You can however make sure when your done with a app that you back out of it until its gone. Also long press home key and toss the app away by swiping it . Check in app settings and make sure they are not pusshing or pulling notifications... This is true on most android os jelly bean is even much worse on apps running in background all the time... they give me a quad core cpu and then let apps eat away at it ... rogue apps are getting worse everyday ....

    keep your os clean and only have apps that you must have installed ... its a phone not desktop computer......

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 1,516, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    randp1's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Mercury



    This ics demo runs like sh** on mu phone, going back to gingerbread.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Yeah ICS memory sucks. I have 2gb of ram And and Sometimes I catch it at 1.2gb of use. A reboot seems to fix it though.

    Sent from my Verizon Samsung Galaxy S3 4G LTE

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner